We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is all about Maggie”
Review of Mallard Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mallard Grange
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Mallard Grange is a four room B&B located just outside of Ripon down a lane just beyond Fountains Abbey. It is a lovely B&B and has all the necessary amenities. Because we wanted good Internet service, our room was on the upper floor which was reached by a very narrow and twisting staircase. In fairness, Maggie warned us about the staircase and offered to have her son take our heavy suitcases to the room. We titled this review "it is all about Maggie" because she is one of the most outgoing, friendly and enthusiastic B&B owners we have ever met. Since we have been in over 50 different B&Bs over the years we have traveled, I think that says a lot. Maggie could not do more for us. She recommended restaurants and pubs, where to park, what to see. She gave us vouchers to save money on different venues. Breakfast is served family style and you really got to know everyone that was staying at the B&B. In our case, there were two Canadian couples and some South Africans and we had a wonderful time getting to know one another over breakfast. At the end of breakfast, Maggie usually sat down and joined us for a chat. Our room was cleaned while we were having breakfast. It was a fun and leisurely part of each day we stayed. The B&B is a bit quirky but that gives it the personality that it has. If you want to have a real "experience", do not miss Mallard Grange. You will leave knowing the family. It was a very personalized adventure.

Room Tip: If you do not want to climb narrow stairs if you do not want to climb narrow and twisting stairs, as...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Well D - I really don't know what to say - thank you very much for your kind comments about different aspects of your stay here, although I must stress that it is very much a team effort here and Yorkshire does have a reputation for a warm welcome and genuine hospitality which we do our best to uphold. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our farmhouse B&B. You are quite right, it is quicky and individual - but with a house over 700 years old I suppose it has to be and anyway I rather like quicky and am delighted you did too. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Mallard Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 368 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently stayed at Mallard Grange for 3 nights. For the quality of the accommodation, the standard of the breakfasts, and the convenient location for Fountains Abbey, Ripon and many other attractions in the area I would give this 10 out of 10. But our landlady Maggie was so welcoming, friendly,knowledgeable, helpful and keen to ensure that her guests had an enjoyable stay, that I have to give it an 11. Thank you Maggie. We shall see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoetPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We are so pleased that you found our farmhouse B&B comfortable and conveniently located for your stay. We are in beautiful countryside near Fountains Abbey, but Ripon is less than 3 miles away and there is lots to do and see closeby. Delighted you want to come back and stay here again - the best accolade you could award us, thank you. Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Mallard Grange accommodates 4 couples. We were two of the couples over a 3 day period. We were looking to explore an area we didn’t know, having a particular interest in historic piles and all sorts of gardens. The B&B is just over the main road from Fountains Abbey and in easy reach of many other tourist spots. The landlady Maggie is very friendly and helpful. She gave us great advice on where to go, picked out and booked 3 great restaurants for us and also summoned a cab for us on the last evening. The rooms were large and well appointed, the grub first class and we will certainly return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OFVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

You certainly were a lively party of four and delightful house guests! Many thanks for such a positive review of your stay in our farmhouse B&B and we hope you have fond memories of your time in North Yorkshire to take away with you all. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On arrival, we were given a warm welcome by Maggie. Our room was lovely, with a large, comfortable bed, 2 arm chairs, wooden beams, and plenty of space. The en suite was also spacious and our tea tray included wine glasses, a bottle opener, a jar of cookies and bottled water.

Breakfast was super, with local produce, home made preserves and all beautifully cooked. We ate around a large table which allowed us to enjoy chatting with interesting guests from around the world.

Maggie was a fount of knowledge and went out of her way to make sure all the guests had everything they needed to make the most of visiting the surrounding area.

This is a great place to explore Ripon, Harrogate, York or the Yorkshire Dales and we have no hesitation recommending it as a relaxing place to stay. We met Maggie as strangers, but felt we were leaving a friend after 2 nights at Mallard Grange.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valLeicestershireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our farmhouse B&B and that you felt relaxed and comfortable here. Breakfast here is very often a time when guests meet and have a chat and we are pleased you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and chatting to other guests. Once again, many thanks for your very complimentary review and we hope you do come back and visit us again. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It took all of three seconds to feel at home, cats totally ignored us, maggie made us feel as though we had been friends for years. Our room was very comfortable, well appointed and quiet. Breakfast must be approaching legendary status , not a chance of feeling hungry all day. The team at Mallard Grange are clearly enthusiastic about treating guests as friends. Maggie was concerned that enthusiastic recommendations could raise expectations to an artificial level- this is a working farm and guests are very much in 'the home on the farm' - we only stayed for one night but could not rate maggie and her team highly enough. This is a family home not a corporate chain. The communal breakfast room is a great place (even for introverts as I am) to enjoy the company of a wide range of fellow travellers. We are already looking for a reason to stay again.

Room Tip: Talk to Maggie about your room preferences, we wanted a quiet room and got exactly that.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. Firstly I am very pleased you really enjoyed your brief stay and secondly that you really got what Mallard Grange is all about and appreciated what we offer here - we value genuine hospitality and friendliness, clean, spacious, comfortable accommodation and a high quality breakfast featuring locally sourced food. Many thanks again and hopefully you will find an excuse to come back again! Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Mallard Grange as a birthday treat - and staying here is a real treat. As we bumped along the unmade drive to the farmhouse we wondered if we had come to the right place. But we were immediately reassured as the owner, Maggie, greeted us and showed us around. The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable looking out over a little garden. As well as a king-sized bed there was a sofa and TV and use of a small fridge in the entrance hall - ideal to come back after a busy day to relax with a bottle of wine and a film on TV.
The breakfast is locally sourced, homemade, delicious and so huge that it will see you through to dinner. The guests sit together round a huge table so you get to know the other guests and swap recommendations of things to do and places to eat in the area.

The best thing about Mallard Grange is Maggie who is warm and friendly and puts everyone at ease. She introduces all the guests to each other (I don't know how she remembers all the names but she does) She is keen to share local information and funny anecdotes. She even put a birthday candle in my smoked haddock and sang Happy Birthday!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Juevdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Gosh, what a lovely and very complimentary review, thank you so much - it is very rewarding to know you had a great time whilst you were here on your special birthday break. When guests like you are so relaxed and friendly, it makes running the B&B very easy you know! Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our room (outbuilding) was light, spacious and clean with a nice en-suite with a large shower and big fluffy towels. I am a very light, fussy sleeper and I still can't believe I slept like a baby for 11 nights. You do get the feel of a farm-stay but without the noise or the smell. The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful with a different fruit salad every morning and a wide range of good quality serials. As a cooked breakfast you can get pretty much what you like. A nice bonus is the shared fridge and Maggy herself. She really does try to get it right for everyone, knows all there is to know about the area, is always friendly and cheerful. We found it the perfect location to explore the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Belgians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and complimentary review - it gives everyone here such a boost to know we are on the right track. It is really good to know you enjoyed the 11 nights you stayed at our Farmhouse B&B and you certainly managed to pack a lot into your visit to North Yorkshire.... although there is still a lot more to see! Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldfield
2.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
470 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
6.9 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,660 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard Grange

Address: | Near Fountains Abbey, Aldfield, Ripon HG4 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Aldfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldfield
Price Range: $126 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mallard Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambling 16th-century listed farmhouse in glorious countryside close to Fountains Abbey & Studley Royal World Heritage Site. Welcoming, relaxed, spacious and exceptionally comfortable. Four en suite double/twin guest rooms, two on the ground floor. Walk, tour or cycle in the stunning scenery of the Dales/Moors and be revived; visit historic houses, beautiful gardens, stop for tea and indulge in a Yorkshire Fat Rascal at Betty's and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mallard Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing