We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mallard Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mallard Grange
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our room (outbuilding) was light, spacious and clean with a nice en-suite with a large shower and big fluffy towels. I am a very light, fussy sleeper and I still can't believe I slept like a baby for 11 nights. You do get the feel of a farm-stay but without the noise or the smell. The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful with a different fruit salad every morning and a wide range of good quality serials. As a cooked breakfast you can get pretty much what you like. A nice bonus is the shared fridge and Maggy herself. She really does try to get it right for everyone, knows all there is to know about the area, is always friendly and cheerful. We found it the perfect location to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Belgians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and complimentary review - it gives everyone here such a boost to know we are on the right track. It is really good to know you enjoyed the 11 nights you stayed at our Farmhouse B&B and you certainly managed to pack a lot into your visit to North Yorkshire.... although there is still a lot more to see! Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
254
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Mallard Grange in 2012 and enjoyed it so much that we made a return visit this year. We were again in the outbuildings - our room was very spacious and even had a full sized settee. It was lovely to relax there after a busy day sightseeing. The facilities were excellent and included a shared fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries, home made biscuits and complementary mineral water.
When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Maggie our hostess and met the other four guests over tea and biscuits.
Once again breakfast was outstanding with varied choices, all freshly cooked to order. What more could you want? Would definitely recommend this B&B and hope to stay here again when we next pass through Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your second visit to our Farmhouse B&B. Thank you so much for such a positive review, it is most appreciated as we do try our best to ensure all our guests feel welcome and have a comfortable stay. Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

All that a good hostelry should be with good attention to detail (bottled water, corkscrew, fridge, toiletries, i-dock, plenty of towels) warm reception and good size rooms (settee as well as beds) in the outbuildings.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your first visit to our Farmhouse B&B - our taste of Yorkshire breakfasts certainly seem to have been a very favourable impression! We are very pleased you felt relaxed and comfortable and hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future. Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great place to stay - very relaxing. Hospitality great. Nothing too much trouble! Maggie was very accommodating and the room was ideal - especially for a person of six foot six!!! Very clean and neat with home comforts too. Breakfast delicious with varied choices daily.Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of your recent stay here at our Farmhouse B&B. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and delighted that you would like to come back one day. As you discovered, North Yorkshire is a beautiful county with so much to see and do, we hope you will find the time to return in the future. Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place to stay--very relaxing and maggie makes you so welcome with a nice pot of yorkshire tea on arrival. Rooms are comfortable and spacious with views of the farm and surrounding countryside. Breakfast was delicious especially the home made preserves. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our farmhouse B&B and thank you for your lovely review. Every good wish Maggie and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the B&B for three nights in early July taking in an evening at Ripon races as part of our break. Our party consisted of my elderly parents and the ground floor room was ideal for them.The chaos Dad's wheelchair created was all taken in our host's stride and Maggie couldn't have been more helpful.
Everything during our stay was first rate, warm welcome, fantastic hosts, great food, good quality toiletries provided, good eating out recommendations.
Strongly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary and positive review. We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay here and have good memories to take away with you. If you fancy a flutter at Ripon Races again, you know where to find us. Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We'd like to endorse other reviewers. This is a great B&B offering great rooms, fab breakfast and a friendly and helpful hostess. We booked three rooms as we were at a wedding nearby. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: There are downstairs rooms in the converted outbuildings with good accessibility or 1st floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreeneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay here when you attended a family wedding nearby - I am sure the glorious weather helped lot! However, it is really encouraging to everyone here to get such wonderful feedback, thank you. Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldfield
2.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard Grange

Property: Mallard Grange
Address: | Near Fountains Abbey, Aldfield, Ripon HG4 3BE , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Aldfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mallard Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambling 16th-century listed farmhouse in glorious countryside close to Fountains Abbey & Studley Royal World Heritage Site. Welcoming, relaxed, spacious and exceptionally comfortable. Four en suite double/twin guest rooms, two on the ground floor. Walk, tour or cycle in the stunning scenery of the Dales/Moors and be revived; visit historic houses, beautiful gardens, stop for tea and indulge in a Yorkshire Fat Rascal at Betty's and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mallard Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing