We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mallard Grange

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mallard Grange
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

As we arrived Maggie came out of the farm house to welcome us warmly by name. She took us straight to our room in the converted barn. We had a lovely room with a fantastic shower in the ensuite, tea and coffee making facilities and shared a fridge with the room next door. Maggie invited us to go over to the farmhouse as soon as we had settled in where she served us tea and homemade biscuits and provided information about places to visit and suggestions about where we might go to find dinner.
The breakfast was a traditional full breakfast using local Yorkshire produce, served around a large table which seated eight people. Maggie introduced everyone by name and ensured that the conversation flowed once breakfast had been served to everyone.
Overall, a fantastic B and B and if we ever return to the Ripon area we will definiltely stay at Mallard Grange again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
249
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

By chance we found this fabulous B&B on a rainy afternoon. Could not have had a more welcoming reception, tea and homemade biscuits. We were only going to stay 1 night but turned into 3. Ideally located in rural setting but close to lovely Ripon and good restaurants. Breakfast delicious. Lovely touches in our room of Bathrobe, wineglasses and bottle opener.
Maggie a delight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was our 9th stay at Mallard Grange in the past 5 years – says it all really!

As always, the welcome by Maggie, Charles and everyone else at the farm was genuinely warm, the accommodation exceptional and the breakfasts out of this world.

This working farm, opposite fabulous Fountains Abbey, is ideally located for exploring the beauty, charm and awe of the Yorkshire Dales and Moors and an abundance of wonderful country houses, churches and historic sites in this incomparable part of the country. Harrogate is only 20 minutes away and York 45 minutes.

On top of all that there are plenty of good restaurants within a short drive of the farm, where you’ll be served excellent food and drink.

What more could you ask for?

We always return home completely relaxed, somewhat heavier and looking forward to our next trip. We’ll certainly be back again, and again, and again... Can’t wait.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric and Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is the best B&B we have ever stopped at - great welcome, fantastic breakfast and beautiful area.

Room Tip: We stopped in the outside barn conversion - lovely big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monikirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Perfection in a rural B&B: Mallard Grange was a wonderful discovery on our recent 3 week trip touring England and Wales. We wanted merely an overnight near Fountains Abbey but found ourselves immediately in love with this gem of a B&B (and working sheep farm). Lively and helpful Maggie offered tea and conversation and then recommended an excellent nearby pub for dinner. We loved the feeling of history to the farm - parts dating back to 1300-1600s. Our large and peaceful room was in a separate old stone building with very comfortable beds, chairs, spacious modern bath, and windows looking into the countryside. The tea setup, books about the Dales, good reading lights, delicious breakfast, were all thoughtful touches with a guest's comfort and enjoyment in mind. We wished we had been able to stay longer and already have plans to return to explore more of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked into Mallard Grange as a base for the Harrogate Flower Show and to test it out as a potential base for future visits to Yorkshire. It's pretty well situated for access to lots of places to visit, and we will definitely be back. On this visit we loved it so much that we extended our holiday by another day to stay another night.

Communication throughout the booking process was really excellent, and we were given some really useful information in advance by Maggie, who greeted us warmly with a tray of tea and freshly made shortbread when we got there - perfect after a long drive.

The farmhouse itself has lots of character and the rooms are very large and well furnished. The bed gave us one of the best night's sleep we'd had in a long while. Breakfast was served around a huge table, with practically all the options you could hope for and locally sourced produce and homemade jams really added nice touches. Nothing was too much trouble and we were offered hearty portions and as many top ups as we wanted. It was also a really sociable space because breakfast is timed so everyone eats together at the same time, that creates a really lovely atmosphere.

Overall this is a fantastic b&b, and a great example of how it should be done. Maggie really is a major element making this place what it is, and makes people feel really welcome and comfortable. She's also a fantastic source of local information too and recommended a restaurant we were very happy with. If you stay here it would be a bit of a shame to miss Fountains Abbey where you can spend an hour or a day, depending on what you have available. I have used Farm Stay a few times before and would rate this right at the top end of my experiences with them, a super b&b. Good value for money too.

I can't ever imagine having a bad experience here or anyone not liking it, it just wouldn't happen!

Room Tip: Speak to Maggie when booking, she'll talk through what you want and make sure you get the most a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I am making a photo book online a present from my daughter about our trip to the U.K. I am now in Yorkshire and was trying to find the name of the pub that we ate our 35th wedding annversary dinner, when I thought of the wonderful Maggie who recommended the pub for our dinner, which was delicious. We had such a great stay at Mallard Grange, that even though our stay was early September 2011 thought I must write a review. As others have stated Maggie welcomed us warmly, and showed us to our very tastefully decorated room with lovely bathroom. Tea and bisciuts were served in the reception room,where we enjoyed Maggie's company and that of other recently arrived guests. The breakfasts were superb, we enjoyed the converstions with Larry G and his wife, a fountain of knowledge with regards to UK history. Maggie helped us with the days itinerary and provided local area maps. We stayed for three wonderful nights and do not hesitate to recommend Mallard Grange as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldfield
2.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
6.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard Grange

Property: Mallard Grange
Address: | Near Fountains Abbey, Aldfield, Ripon HG4 3BE , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Aldfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mallard Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambling 16th-century listed farmhouse in glorious countryside close to Fountains Abbey & Studley Royal World Heritage Site. Welcoming, relaxed, spacious and exceptionally comfortable. Four en suite double/twin guest rooms, two on the ground floor. Walk, tour or cycle in the stunning scenery of the Dales/Moors and be revived; visit historic houses, beautiful gardens, stop for tea and indulge in a Yorkshire Fat Rascal at Betty's and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mallard Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing