We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing B&B we just loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed here for one night - and it was such a treat!
The B&B is in a lovely setting, opposite a great pub and even has a spectacular fountain in the courtyard.

The room was superb, beautifully decorated and comfy. There was even fresh milk for our tea! We had the biggest bed I have ever seen and lovely views out of the bathroom window to swans on the lake.

The breakfast was great, with the best poached eggs I've had in ages and a great selection of other foods too. I would recommend anyone in the area to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
There are newer reviews for The Old Coach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 857 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed for one night as a place to base a family get together from.

This is simply the nicest guest accomodation that we have ever stayed in. It was better than most hotels that we have stayed in around the world in every way.

When you take into account the charges for the accomodation you realise that this is the best value for money ever!

The service is friendly, efficient and courteous. The rooms feel as if they were decorated yesterday and you are the first person ever to use the bedding. The rooms all have diferent themes but they are well presented and not over the top.

The beds are so soft that you feel that you are going to be eaten alive and never get up in the morning. Large screen LCD TVs in every room with good drinks tray and a decent sized fridge. They even provide wine glasses and a corkscrew, no running around the village trying to buy screw top wine required here!

The bathrooms are immaculate with Moulton & Brown toiletries, something we normally only find in top hotels. The shower was powerful with endless hot water.

The breakfast was plentiful and of the highest quality. A really good finish to a really good stay.

This was by no means an expensive stay but absolutely great value for money. By far the best place to stay in the County, if not further afield.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mudcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Agree with all the other guests. This place is wonderful. Immaculate and super clean. Fresh milk available for tea. Selection of teas, coffees inc decaf. Wine glasses if you want to have a glass of wine or two in your room, also a fridge. Big widescreen tv on wall. Bed sooo cozy it was tempting to stay in it all the time and watch tv!! Molton Brown shower gels/shampoo/body cream. We had a room with a wet room bathroom. Very nice. Great shower. Lovely views out of the window, small lake. Breakfast room lovely. Lovely breakfast - fresh blueberries, fruits and a vanilla yoghourt then cooked breakfast. Choice of teas and freshly made coffee. Really can't fault it. Only bad point was eating at Staveley Arms across the road which is a shame as so handy. Barman (prob owner) very unenthusiastic and the place was dead on a Saturday night. Maybe food would be better at the carvery on a Sunday, don't know.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillyknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Stayed here for just one night but what a dleightful find.

The room was immculately clean, tastefully decorated, & wonderfully cosy.

A warm welcome from our host but after that just quiet onobtrusive efficiency from then on - spot on.

We chose one of the special rooms with a bath, and the bed was ginormous and so comfortable didn't want to get out. So nice in fact that we cut our night out in ripon short and went back to the room with a bottle of cava.

Propped up on enormous fluffy pillows, on crips white sheets watching match of the day on the wide screen at the foot of the bed- bliss.


Situated just a few miles from Ripon and Fountains Abbey and within walking distance of Lightwater Valley in a quiet and unspoilt village, nothing noteable in the village, but it was a pleaseant stroll around the duck pond and back to get an appetite for breakfast - which was faultless.



I could ceratinly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micnicharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Got to agree with other comments. Absolutely perfect. What a find. Ideal location, beautiful rooms, superb breakfast and good value.
Note: Would not recommend the Staveley Arms across the road, however there are plenty of palces to eat within the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

My Wife & I had three nights here last week, and it lives up to all expectations and advertising. It is a great base for exploring North Yorkshire, and a nice welcoming place to return to at the end of a long and potentially tiring day. The room we had was beautifully decorated and equipped, but the timing of the heating system is a bit hit and miss as it seems to be on whilst we are out and off when we come back in. The breakfasts are as big as you want them to be, and certainly delicious enough to set you up for a long day of exploring Yorkshire
We had two nights of eating at the Staveley Arms, which is right across the road from the Old Coach House. The food is absolutely excellent, but we went during the very cold weather and frankly it is not warm enough by any stretch of the imagination! I finished up eating my dinner wearing my Ski Jacket to keep warm, the reason appeared to be that new people have just taken over there, and they are still coming to grips with the foibles of the heating system. I hope that they get it sorted because their food is great.
On the one night we did not eat at The Staveley Arms we drove about 2/3 miles up the road to West Tanfield and had wonderful Scollops in The Bruce Arms. All in all a very good 3 days away.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukdavef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

A gem amongst B&Bs. Everything written before and more. Spacious rooms, superb decor, great breakfast. All around, an experience to be treasured. Capped off by excellent beer and superb food in the Staveley Arms just across the road from the B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GuvnorPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
470 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
834 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Address: North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range: $105 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing