We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Got to agree with other comments. Absolutely perfect. What a find. Ideal location, beautiful rooms, superb breakfast and good value.
Note: Would not recommend the Staveley Arms across the road, however there are plenty of palces to eat within the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
592
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

My Wife & I had three nights here last week, and it lives up to all expectations and advertising. It is a great base for exploring North Yorkshire, and a nice welcoming place to return to at the end of a long and potentially tiring day. The room we had was beautifully decorated and equipped, but the timing of the heating system is a bit hit and miss as it seems to be on whilst we are out and off when we come back in. The breakfasts are as big as you want them to be, and certainly delicious enough to set you up for a long day of exploring Yorkshire
We had two nights of eating at the Staveley Arms, which is right across the road from the Old Coach House. The food is absolutely excellent, but we went during the very cold weather and frankly it is not warm enough by any stretch of the imagination! I finished up eating my dinner wearing my Ski Jacket to keep warm, the reason appeared to be that new people have just taken over there, and they are still coming to grips with the foibles of the heating system. I hope that they get it sorted because their food is great.
On the one night we did not eat at The Staveley Arms we drove about 2/3 miles up the road to West Tanfield and had wonderful Scollops in The Bruce Arms. All in all a very good 3 days away.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukdavef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

A gem amongst B&Bs. Everything written before and more. Spacious rooms, superb decor, great breakfast. All around, an experience to be treasured. Capped off by excellent beer and superb food in the Staveley Arms just across the road from the B&B.

  • Liked — Overall quality expected at a 5 star B&B
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GuvnorPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

The rooms are indeed as described by others very well laid out, spotless and comfortable. However, two aspects of our stay need to be brought to the attention of those who are disabled - the disabled room ( as so described) whilst it is downstairs and does have a walk in shower there are no handles, raised toilet seat or frame around the loo to aid use. In fact it is a bog standard (no pun intended!) WC only with a heated towel rail to the right ( yes I burnt myself!) so those with mobility issues will struggle to use this facility so please be warned.
Secondly there is no guest lounge or area to use and the only chairs provided in the room were low round backed cane chairs not suitable for those of us who need support and comfort to sit for long periods. Therefore, the B & B whilst of the highest standards for the ordinary traveller did fall very short when it came to catering for a disabled guest

  • Liked — The Breakfast wasexcellent and the room spotless
  • Disliked — Lacked a guest lounge and inferior disabled facilities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DebbyLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

We have just returned from a short break in the Yorkshire Dales, staying at The Old Coach House and what a perfect location we chose. The rooms, situated in an old coach house, have been extremely tastefully decorated, quiet and spotless, well equipped with plasma TV, teamaking facilities, safe, fridge, hair dryer, very comfortable king size beds with beautiful white cotton bedding, with an ensuite bathroom. A delicious breakfast is served in the stables which have been converted to make a bright and airy breakfast room. This is by far the best B & B we have ever stayed in, in fact it is like a miniature boutique hotel where you will receive a warm, friendly welcome.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsPappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

We have just returned from The Old Coach House today after spending three lovely nights there for the second part of our honeymoon. The accomodation definately deserves its 5-star rating - everything is finished to a high standard.

We were met by Jackie the owner on arrival and the check-in was so easy. She made sure we were sorted with the area and recommended places to eat etc etc.

The breakfasts were lovely but as previously mentioned are rather large, so after the first day we declined the cooked breakfast as the toast alone was doorstop sized bread!

Really lovely place to stay - well placed for Harrogate, Ripon, York, as well as the lovely little villages of Hawes, Masham & Leyburn.

Top notch!!

  • Liked — The HUGE bed!
  • Disliked — The rather heavy duvet - far too hot with it and cool without it!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

The old coach house is not a B&B. It is so much more. My wife and I have just spent two fab nights in one of the superior deluxe rooms (and we can assure you it is exactly that) The room was very tastefully decorated with high quality fixtures and fittings. The bed was the biggest and most comfortable I have ever slept in and the bathroom contained a large bath that you can actually float in!!. A 32in plasma screen tv with free view, a safe, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge pre-stocked with a couple of bottles of mineral water, quality linen, towels and toiletries all go to make this far superior to many 4and 5 star hotels. The setting is delightful, a lovely courtyard with a fountain also has a large wooden patio tables and chairs. This is an ideal place to spend a few days when having a break in Yorkshire. Breakfast is served in the appropriately named breakfast room, a separate building across the courtyard, and when I say served I mean cooked to order using fresh local produce and plenty of it. The breakfast is LARGE be warned this is no ordinary meal. Finally the staff, these kind people are amongst the most pleasant and helpful people I have come across running an enterprise such as this. Recommendations as to where to eat in the evening, what to do and see locally and where to get the bits and pieces we all tend to forget when going away. I would love to tell you not to go here, but only so we could keep it to ourselves. This is probably the best B&B I will ever go to. My son recommended it to us and we wholeheartedly recommend it to you.

  • Liked — quality
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: 2 Stable Cottages, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing