We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, immaculate, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely, immaculate, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Pros:
- Location is great, right in the middle of the key points of interest in Yorkshire;
- The rooms and grounds are absolutely immaculate;
- Rooms are big, beautifully appointed, very quiet;
- Service is attentive, personal and very friendly;
- The little courtyard is a great place to chill out;

Cons - very minor:
- My last breakfast was a bit of a miss, unfortunately. My omelette was very overcooked;
- Creaky floorboards upstairs meant we heard every step the people above us took.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
584
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Ours was a fleeting, but perfect visit! Absolutely can't fault it in any way.

Amy, who has an unusually large amount of energy(!), was totally fabulous. The room was clean, warm and cosy. The breakfast was incredible. And the setting was beautiful.

We were just stopping over on a trip from London to Scotland, but would far rather have stayed at The Old Coach House for our entire week. Considering what we paid, it is amazing (and easily worth half as much again, though don't tell the owners that!).

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tmstvns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is the best B&B EVER! Amazing staff, accommodation exquisite, breakfast for Kings and perfectly cooked. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Have booked to go straight back and can't wait.

Dean & Pam

Room Tip: The best nights sleep we have ever had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

stayed here at the end of march for our 10th wedding anniversary, and it was a gorgeous place to stay. the service was fantastic, the rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean, the homemade breakfasts are amazing. Our little bit of luxury, we felt so spoilt . The service from Amy and Jackie was superb, i have already recommended to my friends and family, will will be visiting again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melody g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful visit to this lovely place.

The 5 Stars say it all.

There is nothing to fault .

Amy and Jackie will give you the biggest welcome, the rooms are amazingly comfortable and spotlessly clean with attention to detail being 100%.

The beds are enormous and fitted with beautiful high thread count sheets and lots of pillows.

The premier rooms include robes fresh fruit and flowers with home made cookies and tea coffee and hot chocolate and there is a fridge in all rooms with fresh milk.

The breakfast choice is wonderful and always cooked to perfection.

The setting in the courtyard is really pretty and you are central for lots of lovely places in the area including Ripon,Harrogate,Leyburn and Masham.

The village itself is really pretty and there are some lovely pubs in the area serving fantastic meals including the Staveley Arms which is directly opposite the Coach House so no need to drive and you can enjoy a lovely bottle of wine with your meal if you wish.

Will be back soon to be spoiled again, thank you both for your hospitality.

Sue & Alan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at end of March 2014 in Super Deluxe Double Room. Room was light and airy and very comfortable, plenty of storage, huge wet room with power shower. Very clean. Excellent choice of breakfast served in a pretty breakfast room. Girls were very friendly and helpful. Good central location for touring the area. We had a lovely meal at the Bull Inn at West Tanfield, excellent value for money and good sized portions very friendly pub. The weather could have been better but it was March after all! Would definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Old Coach house is a fantastic place to stay in North Yorkshire, a blend of old and new at the time. This small B&B is the perfect place to stay for a little bit of luxury. Beautiful, clean rooms with "beams" of character.
Great pub opposite The Old Coach house with open fires and homemade food.
The Old Coach House has the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel with homemade produce.
Very friendly and personal place to stay.
Hope to visit again soon.

Many Thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollings6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mallard Grange
Mallard Grange
#1 of 2 in Aldfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: 2 Stable Cottages, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing