We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

With very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff, The Old Coach House is a must for anyone wanting a peaceful break in beautiful surroundings. The accommodation is wonderful with great attention to detail and the breakfasts are superb with a service is second to none. The location is ideal with Ripon, Harrogate and York within easy reach and the surrounding area is ideal for cycling and walking. Nothing is too much trouble for the excellent staff and after recommending this Hidden Gem to friends and family we will return soon to recharge our batteries. Thanks to Amy, Jackie and Dave for perfect stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated, some are larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    27
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
615
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were so impressed by the exceptional level of cleanliness and overall attention to comfort in the rooms for the price requested. The staff were excellent, so warm and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent with superb service.
We were informed that there are ongoing building projects which should enhance the visitor stay by offering a residents lounge area. I think this would be most welcome as the bedrooms are somewhat on the small side therefore a dedicated lounge area would offer more opportunity for social interaction given the establishment is rather remote.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just wanted to say what a brilliant little gem this place is, the rooms are very clean and well designed, the breakfast is very good with a good choice, the staff are absolutely charming and are willing to help with any needs you may have, the whole place is of a very high standard and can not fault it at all. we will definately return.
My only critisism is not of the Old Coach House but of the Stavely Arms Pub across the road, it is a shame it is not made to feel and look more welcoming ,as a Pub it could well do with some hanging baskets or tubs to make it look more like a local pub than like a house it looks so bland and bleak, but Ripon has got some fab places to eat and drink, can recommend the One Eyed Rat pub but watch out for the fruit wines delicious but what a kick they have.. will come back again,
LynetteH

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely place (very tastefully done) very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was fantastic. Will be coming back and will recommend to family and friends. The Staveley Arms pub across the road serves fantastic food, we had an evening meal and a Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just spent four nights at this superb B&B and can't praise it enough. The building is delightful and the rooms are tastefully decorated and immaculately kept. The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was perfect every day. Having a fridge and corkscrew in the room enabled us to take full advantage of the courtyard with its pretty fountain on a couple of evenings. The location was ideal for exploring the moors and dales.

It would be a struggle to find a better B&B at any price and I'm sure it will not be our last visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

They've done it again - given us a very relaxed couple of days in top class accommodation and surroundings. This is our second visit to The Old Coach House - the last was a year ago - and we hope to come again. The attention to detail is second to none the cleanliness, facillities, friendliness of the staff and fabulous breakfast cannot be matched! It was also very nice that the lovely Amy remembered us and complimented us on how we'd left our room - that was nice to hear - we appreciate the hard work she had put in to make our room comfortable the least we could do was show her that respect! A truely wonderful experience we felt very spoiled.

Room Tip: For even more space choose a super delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibaldstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a delight to find a superb B & B that made you feel so welcome!! The breakfasts were well presented and you had a good choice. The accommodation was of a very high standard, very clean, well maintained at all times and with excellent amenities. All the staff were so friendly, attentive and helpful. It was a lovely stay, we will certainly be returning here soon and will recommend to our famiily and friends.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
459 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,260 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
809 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mallard Grange
Mallard Grange
#1 of 2 in Aldfield
362 reviews
4.6 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: 2 Stable Cottages, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing