We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived and straight away fell in love with the setting. Lovely garden with table and chairs where you could enjoy a glass of your own wine on a nice evening. Room was a little small but very well appointed. No complaints at all. Breakfast was exceptional with good choice, pleasant service and great food. Our one mistake was eating across the road. It's handy but it was a let down. Not much atmosphere although recently rufurbished to a high standard and the food was average. We will be back, but we will be goibng out for dinner in the car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frillyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
592
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just spent two fabulous nights at the Old Coach House and looking forward to our next visit. Our room was beautiful, luxurious and spacious. The two ladies Aimee & Jackie along with their colleague David who were the people we had all our dealings with were so friendly and attentive, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would highly recommend this place and you can be sure of a very warm welcome from Aimee, Jackie and David.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our first visit to the Old Coach House, and likely not our last. Accommodation was high quality from the furnishings through to the bed linen. The shower was particularly good. Breakfast was top quality and plentiful, and served in a lovely separate breakfast room. The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful to a fault.

This beautiful part of the country sells itself, but there can be few better bases from which to enjoy it.

We stayed in the small luxury room 14/16 June.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobTheCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed at The Old Coach House on numerous occasions now.

This is the only place to stay whilst visiting the Ripon area.

The small team there run a seamless operation. On this occasion we stayed in the premier double room with beautiful oak beams in the ceiling of both the bedroom/bathroom. The large upstairs room, as always, was immaculately clean. Little extra touches for this room – fresh flowers, fresh fruit/bath robes. Usual facilities – tv/complimentary tea/coffee tray complete with fresh milk & biscuits/safe/fridge/toiletries. Breakfast is a delight and served in a separate building next door to the accommodation. Varied choice of cereals/fresh fruit/juices/croissants and the most gorgeous homemade banana loaf/toast and cooked breakfast. Amy is a delight in the morning, full of energy and extremely bright and cheerful. Of course, we will return, sooner rather than later and have recommended to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skater-babe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Could not fault this great B&B everything was of the highest quality and attention to detail second to none. It had ambience, atmosphere and charm in abundance, from the well planned bedroom with luxury touches, exotic fruit bowl and fresh coffee to the quiet courtyard and super breakfast.
We dined opposite at the Staveley Arms and could recommend the bar and restaurant, very convenient, good food and no driving!

Room Tip: This place is small and gets booked up very quickly, so book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are thinking about booking this accommodation, stop thinking and book it. From arrival to departure accommodation and service standards remain extremely high from luxurious 'Egyptian Cotton/Sateen' bedding to a wonderfully energised and attentive breakfast service, of which is award winning! This place really does speak for itself and this review could never do it justice; some things in life just have to be experienced. Finally, this is a short review for good reason; 1. to save you reading time to ensure a vacancy for your booking, and 2. as implied in the title, there is literally nothing to fault.

[Myself and my girlfriend attended this accommodation on the 9th of June 2013, staying in the Double Super Deluxe room for two nights - it is our intention to visit again in the near future].

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Somebody obviously gave a lot of thought to how a B&B should be run, from the comfortable and spaceous rooms which were light and airey with little extras like fresh coffee and a fridge with a small jug of milk to the quality of the bedding, towels, furniture and finishings. Plenty of storage, two chairs not the annoying one when there are two guests. The placement of power sockets and lighting all the little things that are so often amis when staying away from home.

This place is a gem, other reviewers have already mentioned the quality of the breakfast which I can only repeat was excellent.

The location is very convenient, easy to find and the little courtyard garden gives a lovely feeling of space and privacy.

The stars of the show are the staff, Amy is the perfect host making each and every guest feel valued.

David was very well informed on local events and facilities and gave a few good restaurant recommendations.

We may never need to visit the area again, but if we do we will definately try and stay here. We might even come back just to stay here it is such a lovely place.

Not many B&B's deserve an excellent rating but this one certainly does.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 which was a deluxe room so maybe a little larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,446 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: 2 Stable Cottages, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing