We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-Easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pre-Easter break”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It may have been snowy and cold outside but we very much enjoyed our countryside location and the warmth of our room - especially the power shower! There was a great breakfast choice - special mention for the local Yorkshire cheeses and meat selection that filled us up for the day.
The Bull Inn in West Tanfield gave us a lovely evening meal.

Very attentive staff and relaxed atmosphere in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
591
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
305 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this excellent Bed and Breakfast.
I would have liked to rank this as excellent but there were a couple of things that spoilt it.
We were on a Groupon deal and it was very good value for money. We had a Deluxe room.
Moors 3 which was very nicely decorated and furnished and very clean. The bed was very comfy but the room was a bit on the small side and there was too much furniture for a room of that size and it did feel a bit cramped. there was tea and coffee making facilities with decent coffee and a small fridge in the cupboard/wardrobe.
The bathroom was very nice too but no bath which we would have prefered. We were there in very cold snowy weather and unfortunately the heating was not working properly in our room. Despite putting the thermostat at a high setting the room never got above 15-17 degrees. We also couldn't get internet in our room either which was a pain.
The hosts Amy and Dave did an excellent job of looking after us, they were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast cooked fresh and to order was superb. I had the full English and it really set you up for the day. My partner had omelettes and they were the best she has had anywhere.
I would definately stay here again and despite the lack of heat and internet in our room, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I would share many of the views expressed in previous reviews having returned from our 3 night stay today. The room was immaculately clean; the staff (Amy & Dave) were exceptional in their service and helpfulness; the breakfast was made to order and was excellent. It was exceptionally cold but the room was well heated.
However, the major letdown for us and my reason for 4 stars was the size of the room - our Groupon offer stated a Double Delux or Super Delux and the room we had was a small double. We kept banging ourselves on the edge of the bed as the space was so limited and we were continually in each others way, having to step aside to allow each other to pass. Room size is important to us and we often pay extra for a larger room, however we were not made aware prior to our visit that we would be placed in a small room or I would have booked for another date. I questioned this on our arrival but was told all the other rooms were taken.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently. The accomodation was fantastic, beautifully comfortable bed, warm room and hot shower. The breakfast was also excellent, home made bread, locally sourced sausages and bacon and hot plates. The staff were all extremely friendly and we would recommend this to everyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bscruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited on a Groupon deal and have to say it's probably one of the best.

Whilst it is a B&B, the accommodation is a separate block with a Breakfast room in another separate building.
There is ample parking, the staff are extremely welcoming and efficient. The accommodation is spotless, well laid out, comfortable and warm. The en-suite has a powerful shower and instant hot water. The room has a mini fridge and the staff top up the fresh milk jug during the daily room servicing.

The range and quality of food available at breakfast is spot on and served with a smile.

The attention to detail and focus on customer service here is an exemplar which other establishments could do well to adopt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badsworth West Yorks
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We were late booking for our two night stay due to unforseen circumstances so
thought we not be able to use the groupon voucher. However they managed to upgrade us to the premier room for the first night (no charge) & then change rooms . Breakfast first class and lovely staff. Very helpful - an all round first class stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break at this lovely B & B, We arrived in the worst possible weather conditions but once inside we fully appreciated the lovely room we were shown too. The staff were welcoming and gave us excellent advice about surrounding area. The Coach house is set in a beautiful courtyard and there are good eating establishments close by. The breakfast was the best ever, I can't imagine anyone not being able to find something to suit their taste.
A lovely 2 night stay, will recomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
442 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,208 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
778 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: 2 Stable Cottages, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing