We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful. Stunning. Perfect in every way.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Stunning. Perfect in every way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. I almost don't want to write too much in this review so as to keep all the little details a secret for you to discover! Friendly staff, superbly decorated and clean room, FRESH milk in the fridge in our room, freshly segmented fruit at breakfast and Temple Spa smellies in the bathroom. Felt more like a hotel than a B&B and priced absolutely perfectly, so we felt we had excellent value for money. Do not miss out. I'd love to find an excuse to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
583
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at The Old Coachouse and cannot praise it enough. It is spotlessly clean, comfortable and the attention to detail is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble for the very friendly staff and we can honestly say that this is the very best B & B we have stayed in over the last 30 years. We will certainly be returning and will be recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: Would suggest any room at this excellent establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willerby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spotlessly clean, beautiful rooms, first-class breakfast. Couldn't fault any of it. It's easy to see why The Old Coach House gets such fabulous reviews - it is a superb place to stay.

Wouldn't hesitate to return. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Have only stayed once (so far) but I'm sure all the rooms are of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thechappies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights on a Groupon deal and had a wonderful stay. We were in room 3 which was very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. All of the bedding and furnishings were of a very high quality. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was served up in the breakfast room each morning and was fabulous! There was a good choice of cereal, fruit and full cooked breakfast. There is a pub across the road, The Slaverly arms which has just reopened and does fantastic evening meals! The location is also very good as its only a few miles from Ripon. While we were there we visited Fountains Abbey, Brimham rocks and also Beningborough hall and gardens. There is so much to see and do in the area. We will certainly return there.
Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsoaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Coach House on the recommendation of my brother-in-law, who has very discerning taste. We weren't disappointed. Our room was lovely with a really comfortable bed and pillows and a lovely shower, with loads of hot water. Everything about the room was comfortable and our only minor frustration was being unable to get a wifi signal in the room, however as we did get a signal in the courtyard and breakfast room that didn't really matter much - we were on holiday! Breakfast was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed it, although it seemed that the fresh fruit and banana bread had run out by our second morning.
Everyone was very friendly and very welcoming - a lovely visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very clean, very comfortable. Lovely place to stay. Breakfast very good; cooked to order and lovely to have it so freshly cooked and not the horrible serve yourself stuff that many establishments have, including 4 and 5 star places, where its luke warm and often soggy.

Nice hosts and nice location.

Free WiFi but in the room we were in it was none existent, as was a phone signal. In no way does that denigrate the rating this place deserves.

Far better than sleeping in the back of a car in a lay by as I used to do in my youth when visiting Ripon! Just a few years (or so!) ago.

Room Tip: Go for the super deluxe. Its not massive but very comfortable. However, as I believe the standard is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very warm & friendly people. The rooms are of a very high standard, quality fixings & furniture, extremely clean. The bathroom was complete with luxury toiletries. Breakfast was faultless - nothing was too much trouble. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadMashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: 2 Stable Cottages, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing