We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book online to save money - and then have a great day”

Lightwater Valley Theme Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Escape to Lightwater Valley and discover the excitement of a day bursting with thrills, chills and adventure for the whole family, whatever the weather! Mini adventures are for our youngest guests. Rides and activities include the UK's largest Angry Birds Activity Park, the Lightwater Express train ride, Eagle's Creek Farm complete with tractor rides and animals, and the Lightwater Falconry Centre with daily flying shows. (1-5 Years) Mega adventures are suitable for our junior thrill seekers. Rides include the splashtastic Falls of Terror, Wild River Rapids, and swashbuckling pirate fun in Skeleton Cove aboard speedy Skull Rock and the tummy tickling Flying Cutlass. (5-9Years /over 1m in height) Ultimate adventures are for anyone with the nerves to face up to the challenge! Feel the power and the grip of our Eagle's Claw, before climbing aboard Europe's longest roller coaster - The Ultimate and venturing into the world of Raptor Attack's abandoned mineshaft. (9 - Adults and over 1.2M in height) Lightwater Valley Theme Park, Ripon, North Yorkshire is open 01 April - 04 November 2017. Please note:at certain times of the year we are only open on weekend days, please check website for exact opening dates and times.
County Durham, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Book online to save money - and then have a great day”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We took three children aged between ten and thirteen and they absolutely loved it. They have also been to Thorpe Park in the south (where Diana famously took the two young princes years ago) but they reckoned Lightwater Valley was better! The queues were surprisingly small, given that it was half term, and the whole place was pleasingly clean. Food offerings are very basic but acceptable. The only ride that I think could be enormously improved is Raptor Attack (formerly known as 'The Rat') where the dinosaurs are seen so momentarily that there is hardly time to take them in. Also there are no really scary sound effects. Seniors go free, and the entry prices for others are good, given that once in the Park all rides are free - but the key thing is to book online if you can, saving a further 30%.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank North-easterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're delighted to read that your family had an enjoyable visit. It's our hope that you'll be able to get back to the theme park again soon.

Kind Regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    528
    273
    118
    121
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A great day out at a very good price!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We visited Lightwater Valley in May with 5 children, to celebrate my son's 10th birthday. We bought tickets using a mixture of Tesco vouchers and by booking online. My first comment is that it's great value for money for what you get compared to some theme parks. The staff are there when you arrive to assure you the queue won't take long, and there are dressed up characters to entertain the children. We went on bank holiday monday and hardly queued for any rides, amazing!!!! A good day out with a mixture of rides for different ages, a really good day out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a great day!

I hope you'll be able to make it back to the park again soon.

Kind Regards,


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Day out”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice fun park it was clean and the staff where friendly. My only thing was I have fridge magnets for every theme park I have done but could not get one for here. I would take my kids again as the price is spot on for what they have. We had lots of fun and not too busy so the kids got to do the rides over and over. That's for a nice day out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GrimsbyJCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a great day!

Excellent point about Fridge Magnets. I'll ask the question!

Kind Regards,


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ok themepark”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I have visited hundreds of theme parks around the world and this park was very average compared. Some of the rides are fun but I was slightly concerned when the wild mouse style coaster had weights in the back two seats and they weren't letting anyone sit in them! Plus the park is very concretey. Some of the rides also look a bit tired and could do with some improvements! We did enjoy ourselves though!!!

Helpful?
Thank Millii S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a good day.

We're always looking at improving our theme park, having spent millions in the last few years on new rides, upgrades and training. The best part is we are continuing to move forward with plans for our new Holiday Resort.

It's our belief we offer a world class attraction and a magical day out. Hopefully you'll be able to return soon and see all the great new things we are working on.

Kind Regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely day out.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

5 of us visited LWV on the last day in May. Ages ranged from 10 - 45 years. We booked online before going.
I loved the large open green spaces in the park and the park grounds were well kept and clean. Lots of grass and tables to sit and have a drink or picnic. Ladies toilets could of been cleaner.
We Loved the rides and the illumination show.
Queues were much smaller than we expected for a Saturday and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes to get on a ride. I expected the water rides to be bigger and better than they were and think the park would benefit from a splash area ( for those rare hot days we have in Yorkshire!)
Would definetly recommend booking on line or looking for discount vouchers before visiting as £28 per adult ( and for a 10 year old ) is a bit pricey. Overall we had a lovely family day out and would return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gibba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a really good day!

Thank you for the feedback with regards to new water rides.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lightwater Valley Theme Park also viewed

 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lightwater Valley Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing