We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only one night unfortunately”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelbrook
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only one night unfortunately”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great welcome, good location for touring the Dales, comfy and clean, good price.
Loved the sausages, super breakfast.
Attentive and courteous staff, eve when I ordered 5 minutes before end of service.
Highly recommended
Thanks
We'll be back
Mal and Connie from North Wales

Room Tip: Just ask for a room, they'll look after you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are thrilled you had a super stay! Love the room tip and we hope you will come back and join us.

Regards
Jen and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    82
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
43
117
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Found The Old Stone Trough by mistake as had planned to visit another hotel nearby but it was fully booked. So in desperation looked on Trip Advisor and clicked on hotels in the area....The Old Stone Trough was the nearest. We arrived to an extremely warm welcome and when I asked if they had a room that was accessible for disabled I was given the key to check the room before I agreed to stay. When I said the room was ok, I was told I could bring my stuff in and then sign in. The staff were extremely friendly. The menu was varied and the specials board also offered a good choice. The food was excellent and arrived very quickly. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was really good with a lot of choice. Overall a great hotel, value for money.

We will definitely go back.

Thank you Trip Advisor as we would have never found The Old Stone Trough without you!!

Room Tip: If you get the club class room, you may need to wedge the tissue box in between the headboard and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P1555ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so happy that the first hotel was fully booked and you found us! And we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. And love the room tip ;) hehe. Look forward to your return.

Regards
Jen and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, U.K.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here as we were attending my nephews 1st Birthday party at the nearby Cargo Cafe.

I asked for a disabled accessible room, but although it was on the ground floor, it was not disabled accessible. There were no grab rails etc in the bathroom & space was rather neat.

That aside it is a lovely place to stay. It's nice, clean & the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Regarding the disabled room and needs we are always learning, and will take on board the points mentioned and we hope that you consider joining us again for your nephews 2nd birthday.

Regards
Jen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a room at the Old Stone Trough initially because it was close to Cafe Cargo in Foulridge where we were having a big party and family get-together to celebrate our son's first birthday. There were going to be quite a few people travelling from quite far away and I needed to suggest somewhere for everyone to stay. The Old Stone Trough is just down the road from Cafe Cargo and it looked nice on the internet so we chose there. I am so glad we did!

The atmosphere was very warm, friendly and welcoming and the manager Jennie is a real asset to the business. We stayed in one of the executive rooms as we needed a room large enough to accommodate a travel cot. The room was well presented, clean and with a very comfy bed. There were french doors leading out of the room, and although not much use open on a snowy Saturday in March, they did provide quite the vista and I imagine they would be great in July or August. The bathroom was bright and clean and had an extremely powerful shower.

The breakfast was also great. You could tell the food was locally sourced and of a high quality and you have a real selection. Full English, cereal, fruit or croissants the selection was excellent.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and have already made plans to visit again. It really is an excellent choice for people wanting to visit the Yorkshire Dales or the Ribble Valley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent a night at The Old Stone Trough while we were attending a function nearby. Restaurant and bar area were very cosy with a blazing fire to keep everyone warm on a cold night. Our room, though a bit dated was very clean and comfortable. The menu has a good choice and what we ate was very nice. There are even smoking jackets provided for those who have to venture outdoors to feed their habit. A thoughtful touch. Breakfast was adequate. Would advise if you are booking over the phone to ask for a confirmation email. When we arrived we were told there was no record of our booking but there was a room available. This was in a different block from the rest of our party, who were given refurbished rooms. Details taken when I booked were just my surname and a contact telephone number. Wasn't convinced at the time that my booking was definitely secured. This is still a nice place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We attended a family wedding reception back in October and also a 50th birthday party in November last year and stayed for the weekend for both events. The evenings were very well organised and the bride and groom's every wish taken care of. The drinks at the bar were reasonably priced too. On both occasions we booked executive rooms which were spacious and luxurious, whereas the double club rooms are small. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice and plenty of it. The staff were very pleasant and attentive and made sure all the guests' requirements were met. We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to come back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex, these are spacious and luxurious and well worth paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margareth700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Mr N and I arrived on a cold Feb night and from the moment we stepped foot in the place there was Jennifer the GM. Swift checkin and off to a lovely warm room. We were there for a local wedding, so a quite wash & change and we went into the bar complete with a welcoming roaring fire. Jennifer was now behind the bar, next she waitressing and overseeing her staff, if fact everywhere i looked she was there, i had to comment if in fact she was one half of twins! The bar area was spotless with a nice ambience. On our return jennifer was just as upbeat (I'm going to return just to find out what pills she's on) . Breakfast was lovely, only criticism is better quality sauages needed. Couldnt fault anything else and the price was reasonable. Would def return and recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie39bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelbrook
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.0 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stone Trough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stone Trough Hotel

Property: Old Stone Trough Hotel
Address: Colne Road, Kelbrook BB18 6XY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Kelbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Stone Trough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Old Stone Trough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing