We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Craven Heifer Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Kelbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We called only 2 days before staying and were lucky enough to book the last remaining room. We stayed above the pub rather than in the lodge, but you could not fault any aspect of our stay from the room to the food and also the friendliness of the staff. Would def book again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

Please do not mistake this 'Craven Heifer' for any other.
Absolutely fantastic place to stay. The staff without exception are very friendly. Rooms are furnished to a high standard and are spotlessly clean. Food in the restaurant is beautiful and should not be missed. Thank you for a great night.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeauW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in The Lodge in a superior room. Lovely and spacious with beautiful outlook and view. Bathroom excellent, great facilities. Will definitely come back for longer next time. Although we hadn't booked a table for dinner they found us space in the lounge. Very helpful staff.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent one night in the lodge. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated (so was the bathroom). We slept soundly and would have liked to have been able to stay longer. We dined in the restaurant which was very busy, which is not at all surprising as all of our meals were delicious. Breakfast was of the same high standard. The staff were courteous, attentive and seemed to take great pride in their work. Our visit was a pleasure from the minute we arrived to the minute we left! This is one of the best 'all-round' places that we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Our rooms in the lodge (first floor) were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wonderful room, wonderful food, wonderful staff- overall a wonderful weekend spent here for our anniversary. Also, i use a wheelchair
to get around i had no difficulty at all room twelve is brilliant the best wet room i have ever seen-beautiful! Sometimes i find staff in restaurants/ hotels treat me differently and i often feel very self conscious, not here! Everyone i came into contact with me was really lovely, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Room twelve is lovely and is on the ground floor of the lodge. It is suitable for wheelchair users...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

After a lovely journey through beautiful countryside in glorious sunshine we arrived at the lovely Inn on the main road,turning into the spacious car park we saw the LODGE behind the Inn,what an impressive building,we found out the Lodge has 10 bedrooms of various sizes including the disability room we had on the ground floor at the back of the house,so quiet and so spacious with a fantastic wet room the size of most bedrooms.
Went into the pub to collect the key met by a lovely lad behind the bar,he took me to see the room via steps at the back of the hotel and very near the lodge,in the summer this would be full of tables and umbrellas,lovely patio areas.
The room was superb lots of space in a double wardrobe,large flat screen TV and desk with an assortment of drinks and biscuits.
The Lodge was only opened last year and is all shiney and new.
We had booked our meal at 5.30,the pub was busy around the bar and lots of people were eating,this is well supported by locals and so it should be as the food was absolutely fantastic,tasty,local produce and beautifully presented.
3 courses £17,which we had patee and brioche,I had haddock goujons which were on the childrens menu then we had a steak and kidney pie and a cheese,onion and leek pie both with chips mine with beans and veg for my friend.
We noticed it was national pie week so at least we were supporting the cause.
Everything was delicious,the girls and boys waiting on were charming,funny and so friendly.
We wanted to try the desserts so we asked if they could be brought to our room so we could have them a little later,no problem at all.
My friend had fresh fruit salad and I had eton mess slightly different as I asked for banana rather than raspberries etc with the most delicious toffee sauce Wow.
After a good nights sleep we went over for breakfast lots to choose from including our favourite,porridge and whatever else you wished for off the full english menu,really really excellent.
We went to Boundary Mill which is not far away but be warned you will buy even if you don't want anything,there is so much to see you can spend the whole day in there and everything is reduced so many bargains.
After a couple of hours we took off towards Keighley and found the heritage signs for Haworth,Bronte country,a great route with reservoirs along the stunning lanes,so pretty especially as the sun came out again for us.
We had a coffee at the Haworth Hall an old old hotel with a really stylish,ancient interior.
After a lovely run back to the hotel,we again went for our meal at 5.30,the place was heaving a great atmosphere as everyone is so friendly.
I had requested chicken kiev with rice(which wasn't on the menu) and my friend had fillet steak rossini with dauphinoise pots and veg we were delighted as both meals were splendid.
Again we asked for the same sweets to be brought to the room and took great delight eating them,once again delicious.
After another good nights sleep we went for breakfast,weekends away seem to consist of eating and sleeping and enjoying the fabulous countryside,which we enjoy obviously,as we go away quite often at this time of the year
Karen the housekeeper is lovely and we had good service and a good laugh over both breakfasts,the breakfast chef makes the most beautiful scrambled eggs,as well as everything else.
What more can I say,the hotel is more expensive than we usually pay but worth every penny.
A big thank you to all concerned,keep up the good work and we will see you in six weeks cos it is well worth another visit.
I envy the people who live nearby,to have such a fantastic restaurant and local to pop into must be a dream.
You can book direct with the hotel,we went through Booking.com but it was the same price.
Enjoy

Room Tip: The Lodge is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Got recommended by work colleagues and now stayed here a few times. The rooms are of a high standard, modern and well appointed. The food is very nice too and the staff are spot on. Would recommend to others be it work or pleasure.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Bing0Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelbrook
0.4 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
285 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,197 reviews
6.6 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
6.0 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
780 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Heifer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Heifer Inn

Address: Colne Road, Kelbrook BB18 6TF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Kelbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kelbrook
Price Range: $123 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craven Heifer Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the rural village of Kelbrook, The Craven Heifer Inn has been a popular hostelry for locals and visitors alike for over 150 years. Now, having undergone many alterations and uses, the pub has undergone a complete refurbishment. A mix of traditional features and contemporary style, our busy pub and restaurant focuses on lovingly created dishes using quality, locally sourced produce freshly prepared by our team of experienced chefs. The Inns 18 rooms take a sympathetic approach to the buildings traditional roots, incorporating a contemporary flair and all the trappings of modern luxury. Each room has full en-suite facilities furnished with luxurious cotton towels, bath robes and bed linens, freeview digital television, and free Wi-Fi for all our customers. Breakfast is included in all room bookings and a night porter is on duty at all times.Style, service and attention to detail. Staying at The Craven Heifer is an ideal choice for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Craven Heifer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing