We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful and friendly seaside experience”
Review of The Annex

The Annex
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A beautiful and friendly seaside experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I've experienced a number of lunches on The Annex's terrace that were all complemented with charismatic, attentive service, delicious dishes and a view that makes you never want to leave. For colder days one can sit by the fire in a cosy corner of the restaurant with a laptop. The entire staff always has a friendly eye out for your needs. Plus, the red lattes are to die for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CareyB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    78
    15
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great service and awesome view”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Of the several seating areas at The Annex restaurant, the terrace overlooking Kalk Bay Harbour is a favourite especially on a fine day such as when we were there last week. The view is awesome, the vibe is relaxed, and the smiling staff are attentive and efficient. ...... and their coffee must be the best in Cape Town, beautifully decorated with birds! Next time we'll go for breakfast as I am told it is THE BEST!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“average food, very poor service”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

had to wait 15 minutes before any of the staff noticed us; needed another 10 minutes for the drinks and when finally food arrived, we asked for a spoon that never came. food was not too bad, however the linguini with asparagus came with beans instead without a warning. would not recommend - much better places around.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tradergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“A gem of the deep south”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

For those of you Capetonians and visitors who don't normally venture beyond the leafy suburbs or the Atlantic Seaboard, you are missing out on a wonderful culinary experience. This gem of a restaurant offers breakfast , lunch and dinner in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere, with a view that always makes me grin. Whether it be the Eggs Benedict or my own personal favourite, the Crispy Pork Belly, the food is outstanding and the service is great. I suggest that you dust off your GPS and head south:-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollie_Bear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dinner”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Superb views and ambience, great service and a simple menu that has something for everyone. Our meal was fantastic and we can't wait to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Annex also viewed

 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing