We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping for”
Review of Brass Bell

Brass Bell
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Food, Fun, sea and sun are the essence of this venue which has views over the Kalk Bay harbour, Simonstown and all the way across the bay. Enjoy a meal and drinks with friends in a relaxed and laid back atmosphere.
}���S��
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth stopping for”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We only noticed the Brass Bell when the traffic lights turned red on the main road and we had to stop. It was a hot and sunny lunchtime so we thought it worth a try. Parking was right there and you go under the railway line to come out next to the sea, complete with salt water pools and great views of False Bay. We were looking for a light lunch, so a plate of dusted calamari one served with salad the other with chips - all good. A Klein Constantia Sauvignon Blanc was well chilled and an excellent partner for the calamari. The only downside for an otherwise very enjoyable lunch was the non-stop playing (?) of a saxophone in the underpass; sounded like a child having a first lesson - an incessant racket. We would have paid for him to stop, not to play!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrymlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    356
    131
    58
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still great!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Yes, it has it's flaws but if you go with a laid- back attitude, enjoy the mind-boggling location and enjoy freshly cooked fish and fries, draught Castle and a pretty good white wine by the glass, there is nowhere like it. We had great service, even though we moved from one area to the other to get a more comfortable seat. First time I went was over 20 years ago and I keep coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanmac303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
““Great views and seafood !””
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were told not to miss going to this restaurant on a recent visit to Kalk Bay and am very thankful that we did get there !!
The setting is amazing – being so close to the sea and being able to watch the waves breaking on the wall of the tidal pool whilst eating !!!
The atmosphere was great and the food excellent .
We enjoyed the seafood platter with a wonderful selection in it – very fresh and tasty and the same applies to the fish and chips and calamari which were all enjoyed in our party !
The chocolate cake we had for dessert must be the biggest helping we have seen for a long time !!
A great dining experience , well worth the visit , and recommended to anyone visiting Kalk Bay

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billdelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“21st Birthday Bash”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My daughter invited 20 close friends to join her for dinner and dancing to celebrate her 21st birthday.
It was a perfect venue for their age group. We reserved tables and on Friday 24th January they had a DJ and dancing (reasonable cover charge). We paid a deposit and budgeted for R150 per person more or less. It covered a meal, drinks and service charge and the entrance fee. The Waiter and Manager on duty that night looked after my daughter, keeping her informed throughout the night of the bill status. It worked out very well and they came in well below our budget.
I believe there was an incident when an outsider caused a disturbance and one of the boys got a bit over protective but again the staff took care of things.
A great time was had by all and we have no hesitation in recommending Brass Bell to our friends and family. One of my daughter’s friends said it was the best night of his life.

Brass Bell is a wonderful venue in the most beautiful setting, with the sea in the background, and having a safe environment for the youngsters to be entertained is so appreciated.

Well done and keep it up!!:-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Poor food and service.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I am not one to book in advance,preferring to arrive unannounced and on the spur of the moment.
Myself,son and his friend were in a short queue and I pointed out an open table next to a window in the otherwise busy establishment.
We were taken to this.
Quite some time later we asked who appeared to be a manager for some bar service,prior to ordering our meals.
I ordered salmon fish cakes with salad,and a so-called sweet chilli sauce,the others,grilled calamari with salad and a hamburger with cheese sauce.
There was no cheese sauce but a cheese and mushroom sauce.
My fish cakes were dry with 'essence' of salmon accompanied by a tired and limp salad.
The sauce was suspect.
The calamari was fried instead of grilled and presented with chips.
The hamburger adequate.
This is a popular restaurant no doubt with the locals more as a watering hole and a out of date tourist attraction.
The attraction is possibly the ocean waves crashing against the windows which are spectacular at night under lights, especially when stormy.
It would be a distinct advantage to the owners if they tarted up the interior ,food and service.
Management/owners taking action would ensure more positive Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WillyJozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brass Bell also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Brass Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing