We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Live Bait in Harbour House
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

this is a restaurant I keep returning to and which never disappoints. It's position is unsurpassed, on this visit the waves crashed constantly on the reef below throwing deluges of spray against the windows. The decor is simple and the food delicious and fresh and unspoiled by too much interference. The service was brilliant. Altogether an authentic and excellent fresh seafood restaurant with views of the see and mountain that are breathtaking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steffen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    143
    48
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menerbes, France
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Superb Experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

You don't go to Live Bait just for the food - which is good in any case. It's the view and the vibe. Situated in the middle of the busy fishing harbour and surrounded by some of the best characters you'll ever meet, a meal at Live Bait is fun and wil keep you coming back for me. The staff are most helpful and the food - a great fish 'n chips!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We started with oysters and they were so fresh and delicious we had to order more. For our mains we shared several seafood platters with a large crayfish (local lobster), smoked paprika calamari, mussels, shrimps, and a filet of kingklip fish, served with salad and chips. Desserts could be skipped and were not up to par with the other food we ate. Service is excellent. The atmosphere is beautiful, right above the rocky shore, and the white interior is clean and comfortable. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merlinslap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a large sushi platter to share. Food was outstanding. We seem to order sushi a lot when out and this was possibly the best we've ever had. Fish was very fresh and the overall quality was brilliant.

Price was reasonable and service very good. Had a great meal and would be back without hesitation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoRoflers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely venue and food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently had a meal at Live Bait in Kalkbay and really enjoyed it: the venue is white, bright and fresh, very tasty food, absolutely beautiful views and surprisingly well priced. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dharmabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Live Bait in Harbour House also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Muizenberg, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Live Bait in Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing