We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If your in Kalk Bay its a must...”

Live Bait in Harbour House
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If your in Kalk Bay its a must...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

There is something about this restaurant that just makes you feel great...the busy harbour at your back reaching up to the Majestic and the backdrop of the mountain, sweeping round 180 degrees framing your ocean view...its amazing and that is complimented by a great grilled paprika calamari which is an absolute must if visiting this restaurant...staff very friendly. I guess the seafood platters cater for the tourist but for my money share some good sauvignon blanc, oysters and the calamari and your done!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getcarter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    139
    46
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We dined here mid week and there was us and one other group. Service is friendly and helpful but they were bored and stood chatting for much of the evening. I had the prawn cocktail with Avocado followed by Mussels. The starter was very pretty but unfortunately the prawns were a little over cooked and chewy. I enjoyed the mussel dish until about 2 a.m. after which the night when steadily downhill, being on holiday it was very unpleasant to lose two days to a pretty nasty tummy upset.

One other person in our party did not feel well but everyone else seemed to have a good meal.

Sitting at the table whilst the waves bash against the window is a lovely experience, but whilst I might visit again, I would probably stick to a glass of wine or at the very least avoid the shellfish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Superb meal in rustic informal restaurant overlooking the sea.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Delicious fish meal in casual atmosphere overlooking the sea. Tables and chairs very basic but the informal feel about the restaurant and the stunning view make up for it. Service good

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Live Bait at Harbour House, Kalk Bay, Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had booked a table for 6.00 pm because this restaurant is always busy and we like to sit in the window overlooking the harbour.
Service always good, food delicious. We had a sushi salad to share for starters followed by
Calamari cooked with smoked paprika on rice. We thoroughly enjoyed our food, had nearly finished when the waitress came over and said the next sitting had arrived. This was 7.25pm.
No opportunity to even look at the menu for sweets, rather put a dampener on our evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude reception at Live Bait”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'd like to review the entire restaurant experience but unfortunately we didn't get very far past the door. We had made a phone booking half an hour before (we live nearby, only a 10 minute walk away), but when we arrived there we were ignored by all staff. Finally attracting someone's attention, we were informed that there was no such booking and that we must have made a mistake. The two staff we dealt with were rude and reluctant to deal with the issue, their body language telling us to go away and leave them alone. I was happy to get out of there. Never again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Live Bait in Harbour House also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Live Bait in Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing