We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chartfield Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalk Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Holiday stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We especially enjoyed the high quality of the accommodation, food and facilities. We found the staff particularly friendly and helpful.We would happily return here if we come back again to Kalk Bay...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    143
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
120
375
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautifull, great service, excelent breakfast options, even the Car guards was very professional, helpful, and friendly. Loved staying here, and decided to stay longer, they could even accommodate that. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had our first stay at Chartfield two years ago and have just returned home from our second stay. It is a delightful place. It's bright and welcoming with wonderful views. We had two short stays within two weeks this time and both the rooms we were allocated were lovely. The breakfasts are really something special and Florian and his staff are friendly and attentive. We hope to return in the not too distant future to this charming guest house.

The Thompsons - England

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place was recommended by a friend and it was amazing. The rooms are spacious, bright and clean. The staff is very attentive and helpful. A magnificent view, an excellent breakfast and charming people make this place simply wonderful.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed 3 nights - great value, perfect location, and above all excellent service. Our car battery was flat the day we were leaving, and Florian personally helped us out by restarting our car for us. We were so grateful. Thanks to him, Shireen and all the team at Chartfield.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Chartfield Guesthouse. The views are fabulous and you go to sleep and awake to the sound of the the sea. It has been tastefully refurbished with stripped floors, and renovated furniture. Our room was clean, airy and light with a large beautiful bathroom. Having breakfast on the sunny patio each morning was a delight. A comprehensive menu is offered with friendly and obliging staff willing to tweak a chosen item! The pool and garden area is peaceful and well-appointed. We didn't have a car so used the train - the station is only a few minutes walk from the guesthouse. As far as WiFi is concerned, we brought a tablet and a mobile phone both of which worked very well. Kalk Bay is a beautiful place and staying at the splendid Chartfield simply added to what was a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the Chartfield Guesthouse and were welcomed by all the things you need. Every thing was done with love and a lot of care. For our first stay in SA they were able to provide us with all necessary information and tips. The rooms are very cosy and our view on the harbour of Kalk Bay was wonderfull. Staff is very helpful and breakfasts a pleasure every morning. It is a triple AAA location and certainly one of our favourite place in SA together with the Tamodi Lodge in Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vincentBel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalk Bay
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colona Castle
Colona Castle
#1 of 1 in Lakeside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.7 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartfield Guest House

Property: Chartfield Guest House
Address: 30 Gatesville Road | Kalk Bay, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kalk Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalk Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chartfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chartfield Guesthouse evokes the spirit of a time when everything was done with a little more style and with a lot more attention to detail. It's a haven created to whisk you away from the cares of the world. Chartfield Guesthouse is nestled in this quaint seaside village of Kalk Bay. Our rooms are large and private, allow the cool ocean breeze to whisper through your open windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chartfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartfield Guest House Hotel Kalk Bay
Chartfield Guest House Kalk Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing