We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chartfield Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Check Inn(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Colona Castle(Lakeside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveler rating
595
167
40
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
167
40
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housesingle duvetsolympia cafeloft roomcape townhot water bottlesfalse bayoverlooking the baybreakfast was amazingwooden floorsenjoyed our staywonderful guesthouserestaurants and shopsmueslievery morningcape pointlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 811 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and couldn't be any happier! A very romantic place where they really pay attention to the details. It is only a 25 minute drive from everything in Cape Town center and is located on a hill in Kalk Bay, which is a beautiful place. Muizenberg beach, a prime surf spot, is right next door, Boulders Beach and the African penguins are a 20 minute drive away, and the Cape of Good hope is a 30 minute drive away. We loved that we could experience Cape Town and the other attractions and then come home to a quiet and peaceful area.

Parking is on-street, but they have a car guard who watches over the street. From the hotel, take the stairs down to the coast and a charming little street full of little shops, restaurants, and cafes. There is plenty to do within walking distance if you don't want to drive out of the area.

Our room was modernly decorated but still romantic and was very clean and comfortable. Our room, "Jenny" (or number 10) had a view of the ocean, the mountains, and the fishing boats that was lovely; we even saw whales swimming by one afternoon. There was a small heater in the room that you could plug in if necessary. A bottle of local wine and a large bottle of water were also provided in the room each day and could be purchased for a reasonable fee.

The staff was courteous and helpful when we had questions. The hotel has plenty of comfortable sitting areas (one inside with a fireplace and reading materials, some outside near the pool, and one on the patio with blankets in case it gets cold and binoculars to watch the whales).

Breakfast was excellent and there were plenty of choices for several nights stay. I highly recommend the eggs with truffle oil. Coffee was also excellent, made from an "illy" coffee machine. A free coffee service was also offered each morning where you sign up the night before for a specialty coffee to be delivered to your room at your specified time.

Overall, I loved this B&B and would recommend it to anyone looking to have a romantic getaway. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eighthwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charbayCapeTown, Owner at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

What a pleasure it is to receive such a great review. We here at Chartfield Guesthouse are happy that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next stay in Cape Town, Kalk Bay. Thank you for your positive words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in November. The place and staff were amazing and extremely accommodating. Florian and Shireen are two of the nicest people we have met anywhere and were so excited to have us as guests. I particularly loved the homemade breakfasts which the staff and owners took obvious pride in (even packing us a to-go bag for our early morning trip to cage dive with sharks). They and their staff made us feel like we were at home every day (just more relaxing). They helped us coordinate a bunch of tours throughout the region and have a wonderful tour guide that they contract with. The train is only a few steps away, and we loved spending our nights in Kalk Bay. It is a great town, with great restaurants and a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: The loft is amazing with magnificent views of Kalk Bay.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charbayCapeTown, Owner at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and your positive comments regarding Chartfield Guesthouse and its staff. We are really happy to hear that your experience here was one to remember and that you'll be back to visit and stay once again at Chartfield Guesthouse in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have chosen Chartfield Guest House from Internet, and we are very satisfied! House is very good, charming, nice decoration. Breakfast is great, and you can take it with a beautiful view of the sea. We could even see whales !!! You must rent a car, because it is not in the center of the city, and you will have opportunity of going everywhere in Cape Town, enjoying wonderful views. We stayed there for 3 days, then we went to the Garden Route, and before coming back home, we stayed ther again for 2 days - a got a discount for the returning. We recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We travelled to Cape Town in February 2012 to visit family with a 6 month old baby. The hotel staff were very accommodating and offered useful services such as babysitting and laundry. We quickly felt at home.

Our room was in the older part of the hotel with a great sea view and bags of character, original floorboards and a lovely huge kingsize bed with handcrafted cushions. The room felt more like a suite as the bathroom was off in a tiled alcove area. There was a relaxing communal area to read papers and books at reception and an airy sun room to eat in if the weather was inclement.

Breakfasts out on the terrace were amazing with fresh local produce and a good range of food it was hard to tire of; we also enjoyed early and late dips in the saline pool which was pleasantly non-clorinated. Sometimes the waitresses were a little slow in taking or bringing our orders but it was all done with a smile and laid back attitude so we just went with the flow. You could even order a pre-breakfast drink to wake up to via room service for no extra charge..now thats service!

All in all we couldn't have picked a better spot to base ourselves and really enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the owners and staff - you made our trip!

Room Tip: A mix of very modern penthouse style rooms at the front and older character rooms to the side, most have sea views - bear in mind older rooms don't always have air conditioning!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had such an amazing stay at Chartfield guesthouse. The room was large, clean and effortlessly stylish. The view of Kalk bay is beautiful, one morning we could see the dolphins come into the bay from the balcony outside our room. The staff at the guesthouse were so friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and it was lovely to be able to eat outside on the terrace and enjoy the view.
Since arriving back in London I have recommended this place to all my friends and family. Looking forward to going back here when I go to SA next.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews