We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in capetown area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chartfield Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalk Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best place in capetown area”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

An excellent place to stay. Room was great, service was great, not a bad drive to cape town. I would recommend it 100%. Kalk Bay is a quaint town with good restaurants to walk to. Train nearby connects to city. Also a very short drive to see the penguins and the Cape of Good Hope.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    149
    36
    5
    2
See reviews for
123
385
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

To me, the most attractive aspect of this guest house is its understated stylishness, so different from the chintz and Biggy Best that so many guest houses smother you in. Here, everything is plain wood and white cotton, with some well-chosen artworks by local artists (and that does not mean that they're amateurish: Kalk Bay is home to some first-rate artists). The rooms, then, are comfortable without being over-dressed. The single duvets are a bit awkward -- mine kept slipping off during the night -- but for the rest the bedding is of a high quality.
The breakfast is excellent: again not one of those gargantuan buffets that leave you wondering what happens to all the leftovers, just an interesting selection of a la carte dishes, served with really good bread, cheese and preserves.
Service was first-rate, warm without being obtrusive.
A slight draw-back is the R35 charge for wi-fi: Chartfield is not cheap (though not exorbitant either), and I shouldn't think it would break the bank to provide free wi-fi. Simillarly, given that there are no coffee-making facilities in the rooms, the (very good) coffee served at reception might be complimentary; there's something grudging about a R10 charge. (The hotel does offer a complimentary early-morning drink in the room, which is very welcome.)
All in all, a lovely guest house.

Room Tip: The 'standard' room I had was just fine, but if you want to make the most of the place's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Al Khartum, Sudan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Chartfield guesthouse for just one night in May, and I wish we had had more time! The guesthouse was beautiful with wonderful views of Kalk bay. Although it was starting to get to be the cold season, the Chartfield was very cozy. The breakfast was delicious, and it was wonderful to enjoy some warm tea on the patio. Highly recommend the Chartfield for anyone visiting the Cape Town area! Because it's a good half-way point between Cape Town and Cape of Good Hope, it's perfect for people who want to explore the whole region and spend some time in Simonstown and Cape of Good Hope.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 265Katie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Kalk Bay is a - cue cliché - "charming" fishing village on the False Bay coast of the Cape Peninsula, and a great place to stay over if you are heading toward the Cape Point and want to get an early start.

Crammed full of interesting original SA art galleries, authentic Africana historical curiosity shops, alternative SA made clothing boutiques, rare and new bookshops and Tribeca style bistros Kalk Bay offers those looking for a "local" Cape Town experience a fun day out. For the best vibe try Sunday mornings.
We had decided to attend the Kalk Bar Theatre - a lovely combination of excellent "intimate" theatre and a top-class 3 course dinner. Be warned however dinner starts at 19h00, and the show starts at 20h30 - this is not clearly communicated and we arrived too late for dinner and had to have ours after the show.

Coming from the Northern Suburbs of Cape Town we had decided to stay over night. Of the two guesthouses I could find on the internet Chartfield was the only one willing to let us stay only one night over a weekend. They were also more affordable at R690 for a standard off season rate, incl. breakfast.

The booking and prepayment was a breeze and the admin staff efficient and helpful. On arrival I was charmed by the clean yet whimsical and modern decor, that off set beautifully with the Victorian architecture. A cozy fireplace crackled in the lounge, where an inviting L shaped sofa embraced a cluster of interesting coffee table books about local art and architecture.
The thermal box of water bottles for guests seeking extra comfort was a lovely touch.
Our room (10) was adequate - a standard room with a "sort of view" included flat screen TV, large double bed - (albeit with the bizarre German quirk of two single duvets) and a clean and tidy en suite. Despite of all of this charm the room quickly lost its appeal when we realized the wall mounted heater didn't work. With only night staff on duty there was little that could be done, and so we spent a rather cold night (don't forget two single duvets), it being a chilly Autumn weekend. In addition the thoughtful addition of a hairdryer was rendered useless by no provision of an adapter with which to plug it in - an over sight I find in many guesthouses.
We woke to Cappuccino and coffee delivered gratis to the room - we had selected our coffee and delivery time on checking in the previous evening - another thoughtful touch.

Fresh fruit juices, excellent Illy coffee, a small cheese board, with ham, and fresh bread and preserves, a variety of pastries made for a classy continental feel at breakfast. That is not to say a slap up bacon and eggs is not available for those looking for a hot plated breakfast.

So despite a lack of attention to detail with regard to the cold - i.e. heater not working, hair dryer unusable and single duvets the overall the service, decor, cleanliness and value added touches made this a B&B experience something we will probably repeat when ever next in Kalk Bay.

Room Tip: It seems that as a result of our room being on the top floor our water pressure was weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahH622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have travelled quite a lot and never been so impressed by a guesthouse. This place so far exceeds what you would usually expect of a guesthouse I would go back tomorrow. The location is superb with views over the ocean that is only about 100 metres away. The rooms and common areas are very tastefully decorated with lots of white linen and bare wood and the whole place has an air of tranquility. Breakfasts are a real treat here too as you have a great selection to choose from and finally the staff were very very helpful and could,nt do enough for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrogateMal_dives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

What a lovely place! ‎

‎Travelled as a couple, stayed for 3 nights in April 2012. Didn’t want to leave. ‎
We stayed in room 1 (with sea view) for two nights, and room 2 for one night. Both rooms are very charming, each with its own benefits. It took some time to get used to single duvets, but it makes ‎sense if you are not travelling as a couple. Lovely Linda was very helpful, both upon hotel booking ‎and with all the tips, directions and recommendations. ‎

Things we liked:‎

‎-‎ Fresh coffee in bed, not a cold wake-up call.‎
‎-‎ Fantastically tasty, mostly organic and free range produce breakfast. ‎
‎-‎ Charming, rustic bedrooms with great views. ‎
‎-‎ Location: it was such a treat to be so close to the sea.‎
‎-‎ Shireen, one of the owners, is an excellent manager and it was lovely to meet her. ‎
‎-‎ The atmosphere:it felt a little bit like visiting your own summerhouse. ‎

We'll come and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Beautiful location, world class service, clean spacious rooms , excellent breakfasts with amazing views of Kalk Bay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalk Bay
15.2 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
12.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartfield Guest House

Property: Chartfield Guest House
Address: 30 Gatesville Road | Kalk Bay, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kalk Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalk Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chartfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chartfield Guesthouse evokes the spirit of a time when everything was done with a little more style and with a lot more attention to detail. It's a haven created to whisk you away from the cares of the world. Chartfield Guesthouse is nestled in this quaint seaside village of Kalk Bay. Our rooms are large and private, allow the cool ocean breeze to whisper through your open windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chartfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartfield Guest House Hotel Kalk Bay
Chartfield Guest House Kalk Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing