We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a favourite”

Olympia Cafe and Deli
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: A favourite of locals and tourists, come and enjoy a meal or buy something from the bakery shop
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a favourite”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

a year since our last visit and pleased to report still the same good food, friendly service and great atmosphere. And you won't find a better cappucino coffee anywhere!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 15_hilltops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    212
    50
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ladismith, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great wedding venue”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We attended a wedding at Olympia recently. Very unusual venue. The wedding was in the actual bakery. Surrounded by bags of flour and baking ovens.
The food was absolutely incredible, I would like to go back and try some of their delicious food again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrePlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'd take another trip out to Kalk Bay just to eat at Olympia.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place came highly recommended by friends, so we decided to take a small lunch break on our way to see penguins at Boulders Beach. The staff was amiable and seated us (a group of 6) promptly outside on the patio. Between the perfect weather and the view of the blue ocean right across the street, it felt like a piece of heaven.

The menu offered a range of imaginative dishes--something for everyone, from light salads to fresh seafood dishes and heftier meals--and definitely delivered. I ordered the penne arrabiata and my husband decided to try the beet root salad; we were both very satisfied. Most of all, we were delighted by the bread. I don't know where they get their bread, but it had the perfect crust with a chewy interior. We would have been happy just eating bread with the olive oil and balsamic!

If you're in the area, EAT HERE!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vechta, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite spot”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I love Olympia it's more like a local gem. Great food, simple menu. It's great for breakfast lunch and dinner. Always fresh, fairly simple menu. Just a great spot. One of my favorite spots on the planet!! But get there early!! Before 6 if you wanna get a table for dinner. No reservations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not the place for an intimate dining experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Olympia is a bit of an institution in Kalk Bay, and is so popular with locals and visitors alike that they don't take reservations: they don't need to, since they're full every night anyway, especially in the early evening. (We were there on a Tuesday evening, and waited about twenty minutes for a table). Whether you'll like this depends on how you feel about your personal space: there is very little of that here, especially while you're huddling at the door waiting to be seated. But if you don't mind a bit of a crush, it's all quite cheerful and friendly. Once seated, space is not necessarily more generous, but at least you're siting. Don't expect immediate service: the place is packed, and the few waiters are hard-worked. For the same reason, don't expect to be served hand and foot: service is cheerful rather than hyper-attentive or super-efficient. The food is good: a shortish menu on a blackboard lists the day's specials, including at least two vegetarian options. I had an excellent salad and a good slab of yellowtail, appetisingly presented. My companions had the lamb shank (very generous portion, very tender) and the spinach and polenta, which looked better than it sounds, and apparently tasted even better.
My one gripe was that it's actually quite difficult to sustain a conversation over the meal. The noise level is very high -- which would have been understandable,even pleasant, if it had been merely the hubbub of human voices. But for some bizarre reason the management ups the levels and the strain by piping in loud music, so that everybody ends up shouting. It was, frankly, a relief, to regain open air after the meal: not quite what one wants to feel after an expensive night out. So perhaps go later in the evening (I believe the kitchen closes at 9.30) or during the day. But for a romantic night out or even for a good conversation, go elsewhere,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympia Cafe and Deli also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Olympia Cafe and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing