We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In-house”
Review of Harbour House

Harbour House
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Harbour House Restaurant is located in the heart of an old working fishing harbour.Come and experience fine dining as the waves splash up against the windows while you enjoy the freshest seafood and line fish caught from our own boat.Window tables are a must so reservations are essential!
Reviewed May 18, 2014

It's not easy to find, I will admit, and parking in the area is problematic in general, but once you get there, its worth the adventure.

Unpretentious, in an old refurbished SAS&H building which also serves as offices for some or other government department are all part of the quaint ambiance. You have to ask around for the right place, or else you end up in the fish-and-chips take-away in the foyer (such as it is). But once upstairs, the white damask napery soon soothes the savage breast.

The line fish was divine and according to the reaction of nearby late-afternoon lunchers, so were the prawns, the crayfish and anything else that came straight from the harbour right next door.

The one disturbing issue was that the waiters, instead of concentrating on the guests that were present, kept moving tables around for parties that in the end never pitched. I wonder why.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TakenForARide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine_HHGroup, Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are thrilled that you had a good experience at our establishment. With regards to the waiters moving tables around - we cater for hundreds of tour groups weekly and as a result this often result is last minute bookings for groups due to tours being moved around depending on weather. We do our best to accommodate every form of visitor and we hope that this did not infringe on your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Harbour House Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,057 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

The general quality of the meals was poor but I cannot comment for the others.

My lamb cutlets which I ordered as rare were presented well done and even slightly burnt. The meringue on the desert was similar to sugar granules.

My colleges creme brûlée was runny and anemic.

Very disappointed and also upset to have paid so much for "THAT"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TATTS069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived @ 14h15 at the downstairs area and were just coldly told that they are full and cannot accommodate us. No waiting list option. So we decided to have a look upstairs, lots of space available but the manager told us they close at 15h00. So even though there were still 45 minutes before closing time, they did not want to accommodate us. The upstairs manager then again referred us to the downstairs area, he told the lady there to put us on the waiting list because a few tables were close to leaving. She reluctantly took my number and then told me that it might be hours before she will be able to seat us. Needless to say, we then decided to go to a restaurant that actually want to service customers.

1  Thank Elanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine_HHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Elanie B,

We apologise that this is the experience you had at our establishments, however, you were only turned down when you saw open tables as we have a double sitting, one at 12h00 and one at 14h30, you arrived just before the second seating, which was no doubt, fully booked. It is unfortunately essential to book when dining at any one of our establishments and our management were simply pointing out that there really was no space to accommodate you. We will address the front of house management team regarding the manner in which you were addressed and we hope to have you visit one of our establishments in the near future so that we can showcase our great food and wonderful staff.

Our Kindest regards
Harbour House Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our meal was fabulous. I opted for the tempura prawn tian on avocado. The view, service and food was top notch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msfeestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine_HHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear msfeestar,

Thank you for visiting Harbour House and for your very kind words, I will be sure to let the service staff and chefs know that you were very pleased with the service and food. We hope to see you at one of our establishments again in the near future.

Kind regards
Harbour House Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

4 of us on holiday in SA from Australia (2) and US (2) had lunch here on the recommendation of other (UK) friends - and we were not disappointed. Of the many meals we had during a 5 week visit this was the best. It was relatively expensive for SA but still good value for the excellent food (and presentation - not to mention the superb ocean-side setting)

Thank coalpointian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine_HHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear coalpointian,

Thank you for visiting Harbour House during your stay in South Africa. We are thrilled that you had such a great experience and will be sure to relay the message to all the staff. We hope to see you at one of our establishments again on your next visit.

Kind regards
Harbour House Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour House also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing