We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prawns & Piri Piri to die for”
Review of Harbour House

Harbour House
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Harbour House Restaurant is located in the heart of an old working fishing harbour.Come and experience fine dining as the waves splash up against the windows while you enjoy the freshest seafood and line fish caught from our own boat.Window tables are a must so reservations are essential!
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Prawns & Piri Piri to die for”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fantastic grilled prawns and piri piri sauce led to a standing ovation from a very fussy lady. Returning soon.
Service great and super friendly staff.
Highly recommend this place

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McGill_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    917
    425
    122
    69
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, nice views”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The restaurant is right on the harbour. You should look reserve a table beside the window, preferably in the corner (if you are just two people), that way you can look out on the bay.

The waiter was friendly and attentive. He brought the wrong side (chips) with one of our mains but very quickly told us to keep the chips and that he would bring the rice we ordered. In general good service.

The seafood was generally good (as you would expect from a seafood restaurant), the sauces that went with the dishes were surprisingly very good, finally the desert was delicious (we shared a panna cotta).

The food was pricey but good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhEarcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced, poor service, nice view.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My overall impression is poor due to the following: Parking space is a gravel pitch; entrance to the restaurant is via a steep flight of stairs, not suitable for the elderly(i cant take my mom with for dinner); we arrived in the restaurant and no one was there to show us to our reserved table, when we were seated, we waited 10 mins to be served, waiter etiquette needs to be reviewed - sir and ma'am is not part his vocabulary, waiter attention is to be desired - our requirements during our feast took us some waiter tracking skills, kiddies menu is not available, the price of the food is reasonable, but the feeling of value for money is missing in its entirety.

Good impressions: The sea views are great; the time is takes to order, prepare and serve the food is excellent, the decor and ambiance is relaxing yet upmarket.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clint A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasane
1 review
“A feast for the senses”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On a recent trip to Cape Town we decided to have lunch. The wind was howling and the sea tempestuous.. When we got to Kalk bay I said I really wanted to eat somewhere where I could experience the ocean and have fresh fish. Harbour house is situated right on the beach and met the requirement fully. Even without a booking the busy yet friendly staff found me a seat so that I could feel and experience the waves crashing against the rocks and up against the windows. The food was excellent. Beautifully presented and delicious. This place is a must on your next visit to Caoe Town

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishWilliams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table here whilst out in the morning, we were having a drink on the upstairs terrace and enjoying the views.
We arrived a little early but were shown to our table, the place was buzzing. We ordered starters of fish soup, and prawn and avocado salad, both of these were very nice. This was followed by Salad Nicoise for me and the tuna was really good, my other half had Mozambique prawns which he said were really nice.
This is a gem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour House also viewed

 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing