We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience - calm and secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple Orchard Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Lachen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good experience - calm and secluded”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Apple Orchard in May 2013. First thing we noticed is LOTS of stairs- first to reach the reception and then more uphill towards the rooms. If you are traveling with older folks- please beware of so much climbing back and forth as dining room is at reception level. Besides that, beautiful resort in the midst of beautiful Lachen. There is no TV or room heaters - they give you hot water bottles on request though- but no TV means you are forced to relax and spend time with the people you have gone to spend time with. Also we took rooms on the second floor- the balcony gives an awesome view of the panorama in mornings and evenings. Food is simple but good. If we go to Lachen again, will definitely stay again at Apple Orchard Resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadicexpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    53
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Date of stay: 26th & 27th December, 2013
Room type: Deluxe rooms
Location: Decent
Booking made: Through bank deposit with 50% advance

Ambience: Excellent with complete hill view of Lachen from the room, terrace & everywhere; comparitively a newer property
Facilities: Excellent (very upto date); however, with the power source, the heating capacity was grossly below requirement
Food: Excellent
Accessability: Decent; Aged people may not be able to climb up the road. Vehicles can't access the hotel completely. One has to walk up some 15 metres with a high gradient
Staff: Extremely helpful & courteous
Service turn around: Superb

It has a very nicely illuminated Bar with quality ambience & sufficient/variety stock of alcohol

Room Tip: In Lachen, this is THE HOTEL. All the rooms have excellent view & families will really enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumyabrata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Apple Orchard Resort is a surprising discovery in the middle of nowhere. Nestled in an apple orchard in Lachen, north Sikkim,it comes as a blessed relief to the weary city traveler at the end of a long bone shattering jeep/ sumo drive from Gangtok. The resort is well appointed and provides good food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123paul_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

After long and tiring journey from Gangtok we landed in Lachen. After bit of confusion we reached the hotel with help of local people. It was already dark and local people were helpful in guiding us to the hotel. We were given warm welcome and hot beverages on arrival since it was freezing cold. Check-in was smooth and we were directed to our room on hilltop. Room was very well maintained and we were given extra heater on request. Dinner was served early and we had North Indian food. Food was hot and very tasty. The view from room is breathtaking. You can just endlessly stare at the snow capped mountains from your rooms. Staff at the hotel was very courteous and helpful at all the times (even at 4 AM in the morning :-) in freezing cold). We were packed sandwiches and fruits for our early morning trip to Gurudongmar lake. After returning from Gurudongmar lake we had hearty Chinese lunch. If anyone is visiting Lachen this place is must stay. It was pleasant surprise for us to find this gem of place in middle of nowhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any traveller visiting Lachen.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view of snow capped mountains. For old people uphill climbing to the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The property is beautiful, with a stunning view of the snow capped mountains, the scenery is rugged and beautiful. However, for the price we paid, we expected electricity back up, we spent a cold shivering night since the electricity went off about 11pm and did not return even after 4am. when i called reception at 2, they brought up two hot water bottles and extra blankets which helped some.
The food is average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFSaeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We reached this resort when it was dark and had to walk from the parking place. We were very tired from the long day travel, it was raining and very cold and we reached the reception shivering. We were greeted with cherry brandy which instantly warmed us up. We were then taken up to our room for which we had to climb up again. The room was good, clean with an excellent view. Service is a bit slow, but looking at the climate and the location, this can be excused. Food is served as buffet and is not great but considering lachen, this is possibly the best that you can get. We had a two nights stay here which was a good, peaceful stay. Staff is good and tries to be helpful at all times. The location is excellent and the room offers great views of snow covered peaks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SangeetaSardesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We would highly recommend the property for being rustic yet with all the amenities and being self-sufficient in such a remote place. It is located at a height, giving the advantages of a splendid view of the mountains!!!
The staff are very helpful- they even offered to babysit our kids while we were out to Gurudongmar lake, and also they pack you with breakfast as early as 4 am!!!
The restuarant serves both Indo-Chinese and North-Indian- quite balanced & tasty!! Would rate them high on food.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have good view of the mountains!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lachen
12.6 mi away
Yarlam
Yarlam
#1 of 6 in Lachung
249 reviews
12.2 mi away
Etho Metho by RightClique
12.5 mi away
Delight Hotels Royal Lachung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Tenzing Retreat
Tenzing Retreat
#6 of 6 in Lachung
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hill Retreat
Hill Retreat
#4 of 9 in Lachen
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delight Hotels Royal Lachen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Orchard Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Orchard Resort

Property: Apple Orchard Resort
Address: North Sikkim, Lachen 737120, India
Location: India > Sikkim > North Sikkim > Lachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apple Orchard Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing