We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, mindblowing view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple Orchard Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Lachen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, mindblowing view!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is not very accessible, but one does feel, upon reaching the resort, all one has to do is take a good view of the scenery. Before that, there's a welcome drink of some excellent cherry brandy, which is much needed to warm one up from the inside out! The compound is very well kept, and is extremely clean. Electricity is a bit of an issue here, as a result of which the room heaters and geysers don't work well at times. But, when one is in the midst of such natural beauty, a bath is the last thing on one's mind. If the sky is clear, do brave the chill and venture out of your room to take a good look at all the pretty stars that you'd possibly not have seen before. I spotted a shooting star as well, made a wish that the rest of the trip goes fine, and my wish was answered as we landed up at the Yarlam resort the next day. More on that in my review there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aj_11184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    53
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We celebrated Diwali here ! The people at this resort are friendly and very nice. They welcome you with cherry brandy ( yummy ) and the rooms are lovely.

I found the food average and also the rooms were not warm enough. I do feel in this cold place - the rooms have to be designed to be warm. There were carpets and the resort provides hot water bags as well as heater and yet it was not enough. There was a draft from the underneath door. Perhaps end to end carpeting and thicker curtains would help.

The view from the rooms are good and the service is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vdy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

All the positive reviews for the place on this site makes me assume that what we went through was a bad day at the office for these folks. However, when you are pay through the nose for a place and don`t get basic services, it does leave a bad taste in the mouth, especially since this happened to be something that both my wife and me were really looking forward to during our North Sikkim trip.

To start with, when we arrived, we were really exhausted and hungry after the long journey and really looking forward to a good dinner. Imagine our dismay, when we were offered dinner with no second servings of the chicken (with just 4 bony pieces served during the first serving), with the head staff at the restaurant saying that they had run out of the dish. We decided to let this go by as a minor blip on the radar, and retired to our rooms for a good night`s sleep, since we had an early morning (4:00 AM) start for our Gurudongmar lake trip.

What really got us irritated was what transpired after that. The lights in our rooms started flickering due to a voltage fluctuation, and completely went out after a while. This, while the other lights on the property and other rooms were functioning perfectly. Repeated calls to the reception went unanswered. We had to blunder around in the darkness before we hit our beds, hoping the situation would improve the next morning, which did not happen. So, we had to contend with the light of my mobile phone to finish our daily ablutions. The head staff appeared after a while with a candle which he offered to us, by which time we had given up on apple orchard, mentally cursing our luck. What got me very upset was that we were not even offered another room despite the fact that, us and another couple were the only ones on the property.

Now, for the positives. What redeemed my impression slightly was what happened after coming back from the lake. I could not have lunch here because of an ailing stomach as a result of too many meals on the road(not due to the food at apple orchard). The staff was very prompt in preparing a concoction of ginger in hot water which helped to an extent. The hospitality here seemed genuine in contrast to the experience of the night before. The rooms were good too, with a nice view of the valley.

As I said, apple orchard might be a great place to stay in Lachen for many, but it did leave two travellers from Bangalore with a not so satisfied experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room B, which is where we had all our problems. Or enquire about the power situation before mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashokb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The best place and I just am in love with Apple orchard! What a beautiful property with excellent service and food is awesome-feels like home cooked! Also they serve a lot of variety which is brilliant indeed at that remote cornet of the country with practically no roads at 80% places leading to Lachen. The Manager Mr. Kumar was a great man, very informative and friendly! Devi who's the chef plus attendant plus helper...a 'man Friday' for that hotel- a great person with an ever smiling face!
Apple orchard has a beautiful location and most of its rooms are strategically built for some view of the awesome valley. we had two huge windows and a balcony that made our view n stay absolutely perfect!! We had a splendid experience and if its ever Lachen again-its got to be none other than Apple Orchard! [though we missed the apples in bloom ] That happens around Jan to March.

Room Tip: All rooms. ours was room no B in the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

One of the best hotels to stay in such a difficult terrain. Offers everything you need or look for at 10000 ft above sea level. Wooden floored rooms are warm , big and conformable. View from rooms is very good as if you are into snow clad mountains. Food is normal, but if compared with
the area and weather it is the best you get around. The resort is used mainly as a stop over on the way to Gurudongmar Lake, but it is worth staying in this hotel for a few days exploring surrounding. Owner of the resort and staff are very nice and they try to make your stay comfortable. Has a good revisit value attached.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirajMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Me, wife and 9 year old son visited Lachen during 21-23 May 12 and stayed at Apple Orchard. It cost us around 8k per night including all meals. The property was nice and rooms were spacious and neat. Good service. They gave us packed breakfast at 4 am when we started for Gurudongmar lake. The restaurant was small compared to the hotel capacity. No TV in the rooms. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitabh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We came here in June end last year. This place is really far from Gangtok, so it took us a lot of time for us to reach Lachen. After about six-seven hours, when it was raining heavily, we reached our destination. We were shivering! It was dark (it was late evening and the electricity was gone!) so we couldn't really see around properly. We were offered a cherry brandy, a heater was placed near us and and after a few minutes, the dinner was ready. It was lip-smacking! I and my husband were wondering how can in a small village like Lachen master-chef quality dishes be made? But it was true! When I reached my room, electricity was on again thanks to the generator! The room was amazingly clean... and the next morning was the most beautiful mornings of my life! When I opened my room windows, I saw snow mountains... The village is damn tiny... It was so silent! And the next four days... we had the best service of the world! We got a few books from the library.. the tree house at the top of the resort is beautiful! The cafe rocks! There's a jungle above the resort, where you can go for trekking. And none of the menus at the kitchen repeated in my 4 days stay. Don't miss coming to this resort... I will keep coming here again and again. The way to Lachen was beautiful. Just one sad part: Don't take asthama patient or really, really old family members along with you. They will find it a little difficult..that's the only thing you should be concerned about.

Room Tip: If you're with a group, don't matter this one. For a single family, ask for the room with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lachen
12.6 mi away
Yarlam
Yarlam
#1 of 6 in Lachung
249 reviews
12.2 mi away
Etho Metho by RightClique
12.5 mi away
Delight Hotels Royal Lachung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Tenzing Retreat
Tenzing Retreat
#6 of 6 in Lachung
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hill Retreat
Hill Retreat
#4 of 9 in Lachen
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delight Hotels Royal Lachen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Orchard Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Orchard Resort

Property: Apple Orchard Resort
Address: North Sikkim, Lachen 737120, India
Location: India > Sikkim > North Sikkim > Lachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apple Orchard Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing