We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good. even with mice and little service.”
Review of Iboih Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iboih Inn
Reviewed March 12, 2013

first time arrived at iboih, me and my friend was so excited with beautiful surroundings. then we surprised that we have to walk into the forest for about 5-10 min to get to Iboih Inn, but we don't mind.
as we arrive the check in was smooth and i tried avocado juice it was good.
at the first night we slept very well, the toilet and conditioner works well. at the second night, the conditioner gets warmer we don't know why but we were to exhausted to go to the reception. warm water went off without any reason, but we dont mind.
at the second morning we awake by the sound of little mice walking and eats our instant noodle we just laughing at it. breakfast was great, everything served in mini, but it was delish, especially the pancake. super. the last night we requested the reception office to serve us an early breakfast because we have to leave early. but at the breakfast time, no one has awake and we just off bringing the room key.
over all the view was breathtaking, remote, peacefull, and good good food.

Room Tip: BRING YOUR OWN FLASHLIGHT it's so important because its often black out in remote area like this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TantriAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 191 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a lovely few days at this inn. The cabins are very basic (we stayed in the cheapest ones) but clean and surrounded by lovely jungle. The included breakfasts were very well done - a mix of up to eight different choices in a buffet. Great to just sit in the cafe and watch the water. We pre-ordered our dinners and enjoyed the food. I would recommend paying the A$3 to get a boat ride into the town as the walk in is quite long and dangerous at night without a torch.

Room Tip: cheapest rooms are quite a climb up stairs and don't have aircon, but the temperature dropped a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked water front bungalow through email, and got confirmation in one day. No deposit was required so we weren't sure would there be a bungalow once we arrive there. Once we reached iboih beach we asked our taxi driver to call iboih in as instructed. Soon a motor boat came to pick us up from iboih beach and we arrived right in front of iboih inn to its own pier.

All the staff were super friendly right from the beginning, especially the owner lady and her husband. During our stay they really made us feel special.

We stayed at waterfront AC bungalow. It was very clean and had everything that we needed. Beautiful view from the porch, hammock,AC,hot shower + private western toilet, mosquito net.

Food in the restaurant was good and was always ready for us. (we ordered in advance every day lunch and dinner because all the restaurants at weh are really really slow) the best part was probably the lovely breakfast buffet witch consisted of Indonesian and western foods and great local coffee!

I went diving one day and my girlfriend didn't had anything to do so the owner and her husband took her to market with them for the whole day for free! I think this is the perfect example of the hospitality and the attitude of iboih inn.

If we ever return to pulau weh we will definitely stay at iboih inn!

Pros:
- friendly staff
- they accept credit card (MasterCard, Visa)
- excellent location
- peacefull (no partying backpackers)
- very good breakfast
- free Wifi in the restaurant
- has its own pier
- very good web page

Cons:
- the price is bit steep for local standard ( the good thing in this that the customers are little bit older)
- sometimes there is a power outage (these things happen when you stay at a tropical jungle island, if you can't take them better stay at home)
- they don't sell alcohol ( big deal, if you need it so bad bring your own or buy from the guesthouse next door, or do like we did be with out it respect the local culture)

Room Tip: One of the waterfront bungalows is not really a waterfront bungalow, if the give it to you kindly as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kirtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked weeks ahead - was told a boat would pick us up -texted and called - no response. Walked to Inn-On arrival no one knew who we were? Owner was away snd said we were expected- yes no ine had heard of us. Owner quoted us 180... Staff showed us a room after 30 mins of chatting smong themselves- then quited us 400!?
Emailed owner- they sent us to a dirty bungslow with broken fan and broken mattress and she ssid new price 210... Huh?!
So sfter having lunch and exchsnging several emails we left ... Very sad.

Felt owner had misled us in emails with price-

Be careful- spoke to locals and was told property was great 2 years ago but had gone down hill.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nolanbolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iboih_Inn, Manager at Iboih Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We are afraid that this guest had seen the wrong rooms NOT in Iboih Inn or not telling the truth since it happened before.8 months ago we’ve renew our spring beds mattrass to 25-30cm type, all our fan are new 6 month olds and working. There are many bungalows with very2 similar builds right next to our place but the inside is different. We provide, towel, shampoo, soap, toilet paper, mineral water dispenser (hot and normal). We never let guest enter any room without making sure the room are thoroughly clean and prepared first. We are the only Inn at the moment who provide buffet breakfast at Iboih, also hot shower for the air conditioning rooms & free boat service from village jetty to our jetty during check in & out.

We do not now if its true & which so called “locals” (since we are also 100% acehnese) the guest talk to who gossip our place is going down. But we have improved a lot compared to two years ago, thanks to inputs for improvement from our loyal repeating customers we continue to progress.

FYI, all our room rates are clearly stated & updated in the website www.iboihinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We came (my wife and I) we stayed, unfortunately not long enough and fell in love with this place. What they lacked in amenities they more than made up with personal care, friendliness. A beautiful place to snorkel (all snorkeling equipment are first rate) good food, reasonably prices. Very attentive manager with perfect command of English (she studied engineering in Boston).
In short, we are looking forward to return to Iboih Inn for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Of all accomodation at Iboih, Iboih Inn has one of the best locations. Wonderful swimming and snorkelling off their own jetty. If you inform the staff on arrival they pick you up by boat at Iboih beach, thus avoiding to walk all the way on the rocky path through the woods. The staff, especially the owner is very friendly and cooperative. They cook great food. Very fresh. If needed snorkelling gear can be rented at minor costs. The bungalows are basic but reasonably priced. I would recommand not to stay in the rooms across the road. Its a climb, the rooms are cramped and noisy (you share a bungalow). We changed at the first opportunity. The other bungalows are somewhat more expensive, but all individual bungalows have good seaviews and excellent access to the jetty and the restaurant. There is free WIFI in the restaurant and at the bungalows near the restaurant. No alcohol is served but the fruitjuices are great and they don't mind if you get a beer elsewhere (which undoubtedly will be expensive) and drink it at the restaurant. I will definitively return to Iboih In when I get back to Pulau Weh.

Room Tip: better take bungalows downhill as the rooms uphill across the road are cramped and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bets76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stay there for 4 nights.

Pros:
Nice sea view for the waterfront rooms (most expensive)
A better resort among the worst at iboih area

Cons:
Mosquitoes - be sure to burn mosquito coil spray repellent all over yourself or be prepared to be bitten all over.

Bed bugs - nothing much we can do here. Stayed at the best AC room. Ended up whole body with itchy bed bug bites. Leaving ugly scars after.

Lizard droppings - can be found everywhere. Even on bed sheets and pillow.

Power trip - frequent power trip during thunder storm

Rainy season - due to the metal roof, it feels like the roof is falling when sleeping when there is thunderstorm when the rain and broken branches hits the roof.

Poor drainage system in toilet - water flows to room due to improper level ling of drainage hole in toilet.

Toilet paper - remember to bring your own. I'm left with only half a roll of toilet paper left behind by previous guest.

Wifi - inconsistent wifi coverage. No wifi during morning and sometimes at night

Food - small portion and took at best half and hour to cook. Food at olala bungalow was much better with same price and waiting time

Breakfast - breakfast time till 10, but 915 staff already start clearing the food.

Price - expensive. 350k to 400k (peak surcharge) during rainy season? Compared to mainland Banda aceh @ hotel Medan was only 260k for a much cleaner AC room with hot shower

Room Tip: Try pulau weh dive resort or lumba lumba dive resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magixshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iboih_Inn, Manager at Iboih Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks you for the couples who have taken the time to review to make us continuously better improve our place and service.
Maybe some “city” people will complain about everything rather than try to work and talk things out. We appologise if the incident when we refuse to provide them free boat transfer to the dive shop because it’s only a 5 minutes walk (fyi they are not carrying any gears at all either, just do not want to walk) then make them put sour face & nit pick on problems through out the stay.

Such as toilet paper: other guest knows to ask for more, breakfast: if everybody already finished eating and start doing outside activities why can’t we clean up, bugs and mosquitoes: other guests come prepared or ask for mosquitoe repellant and there’s also mosquito nets in rooms & there’s no bed bugs either – they mostly not hang out at our place- maybe she got the bites somewhere else, food portion: it depends on your appetite- so far no complaint from other guest and so forth..

Our place is in tropical forest by the sea, we suggest city guests who rarely/never go to the woods should expect and prepare themselves to the kind of nature environment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Weh
6 mi away
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
0.6 mi away
Treetop Guesthouse and Bungalows
6.1 mi away
Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olala Cafe Bungalows and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Pele's Place
Pele's Place
#7 of 8 in Iboih
10 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kenangan Guest House
Kenangan Guest House
#3 of 6 in Sabang
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iboih Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iboih Inn

Address: Teupi Layeu, Iboih | Sabang, Pulau Weh, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Pulau Weh
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Weh
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breath-taking view and a quite retreat offers safe-clean homey stay and coral reef diving experience at your front doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Iboih Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing