We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professionally run diving center”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Weh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lumba Lumba Diving Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Professionally run diving center”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We spent five great days diving and relaxing at Lumba Lumba! The dive center was run very professionally. The gear was in good shape and was prepared for us before every dive, so we just had to jump on the boat. We left for the dives on time and were given a proper briefing of the sites and conditions before every dive. We came to Lumba Lumba as newly certified open water divers so it was important to me that they took our limited experience into consideration. They did a great job dividing the divers according to experience so we all got the most out of our dives. I believe they put max. four people per guide, sometimes my husband and I got a guide on our own. The guides are locals who speak English and know the dive sites like the back of their hand. They were excellent at reading the currents and made sure we dove safely every time. All the staff was very knowledgeable, helpful, and still as enthusiastic about the underwater life as we were as new divers. We thought that diving on Pulau Weh was absolutely worthwhile! There is a huge variety of fish and lots of corrals but not so many anemones. Unfortunately we didn’t get to see big rays or sharks but that was also partly to our experience level as the big fish generally hang out in the strong currents. We particularly loved the fields of giant gorgonian fan corrals!
Accommodation was great too. We stayed up on the hill and could watch the sunrise through the palm trees from our bed!
Unfortunately we thought the food and service at the restaurants at Gapang beach was average at best. It usually took a long time and sometimes we got the feeling they would rather be closed. Most of the time we ate at the warung up on the main street. They serve Indonesian food from a buffet (go for the chicken curry!) and in the evening you can have fried noodles too. It’s super cheap, fast and delicious!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt safe and well taken care off on our dives at all times. We would recommend diving with Lumba Lumba! Thank you to all the staff who made our stay an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saphira83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    64
    12
    4
    9
See reviews for
24
92
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuusula, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent 4 nights in Living color -rooms. They and small and very comfortable rooms for low budget. I totally can recommend them. Diving was good, we started with refreshing course and Sarah did excellent work with. After long break now diving she manage to create very calm environment and courage us with the first dive. With her diving was really enjoyable. And after that all dives went well as Lumba lumba is very well organized and they do look after you, no matter how much you have dive before, you will be grand with them. Location was amazing, beach is just beautiful and atmosphere relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mambochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Its probably the best place for diving on the island: they really well organized and have new good equipment
they use a lot of trainers - so how great is your dive very much depend on who is guiding you. I loved diving with local divers - Joel and Rubby. They really have good eyes for spotting fishes and are VERY caring and fun to dive with
rooms are great -big and clean
food around lumba lumba is ... not good. but cheap

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyFlirtWithReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

20 years' of diving and hospitality expertise, and an unfailing consideration for travellers looking for an old-fashioned and unspoilt Indonesian experience, has created a unique oasis for divers and non-divers alike at Gapang beach (NB: non-divers, bring a good book or two!) As a novice diver I enjoyed a huge amount of support and guidance, and every dive was memorable and unique - I saw an enormous variety of marine life here, including black-tipped sharks, eagle and devil rays, Moray eels, turtles, octopuses, lion and scorpion fish, giant trevally, barracuda and tuna; and if you're lucky you may spot the odd roaming whale shark. The bungalows are well designed and built, fully functional, and extremely comfortable, especially after a long day below the waves. Any issues with the room will be promptly dealt with. Local food options are, as previously noted, limited, and everything pretty much shuts down by 8 - but sitting under the stars chomping on BBQ fish by candlelight (blackouts are frequent) as the waves crashed along the serene and unspoilt shoreline was unforgettable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Splash out on a bungalow to make the most of your chillaxing time - 24-hour hot water, veranda and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

After a 12 hour bus ride and 4 hours worth of Tuk Tuks and water Taxis we arrived at Lumba Lumba. Fly in. The buses are terrifying as they drive like rally car drivers.

Situated on a beautiful little beach in Pulau Weh this high level diving operation is an incredible experience. You go for the diving as I found little much else to do...

I must admit that Pulau Weh compared to some other tropical islands in SE Asia is not necessarily tourist friendly in the sense that it is not very developed and at times seems a little rough.

Everybody at Lumba Lumba is an expert and the diving service levels are incredible. They have guide for each group and if for whatever reason you are less experienced they make sure you are comfortable at all times. Most of the visiting divers also seemed very experienced with very few logging under 100 dives.

In my first dive I saw 26 scorpion fish, football size cuttlefish, and countless other fish, eels, coral.

My second dive I saw 30+ including 4 different species of eels and rays.

This place is truly a pristine underwater environment.

The food is both cheap and tasty at the cafe next door as long as you like Nasi goreng and its variations.

A must see if you are ever in Sumatra.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInAsiaSince2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bang Saphan, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The team at Lumba Lumba are very efficient with email communications and offering information to assist your journey to the beautiful Pulau Weh. This is a dedicated dive resort so if your purpose here is to get wet then you're at the right place. Spent four nights here which was nowhere near long enough to sample all the dive sites on offer. Organisation and dive preparation was excellent, you can even request specific dive sites as I did. The only down side is that it can get very busy and feel a little crowded when there are many divers and large groups. That said, the dive team is very good at grouping divers with those of similar experience and ability so you get the most out of your underwater excursions.

Zero complaints about the family room which was great, a lot of space, nice balcony and a very natural and eco-friendly feel. Gapang itself has very little else to do but chill out or dive, there are only three restaurants and they all have the same menu! The kids had fun snorkelling on the house reef which is like a little aquarium right outside the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buksida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After reading the favourable reviews, but unable to contact the resort through TA I sent an e-mail which was promptly answered with all my questions addressed. Their effective communication was kept up even after the deposit was payed. We flew into Banda Aceh from KL, taxi to ferry terminal, 1hour ferry ride, 20 min taxi ride from ferry to resort. We stayed in a bungalow 30euro/night which had the options to open up the balcony to join two rooms together if travelling in a larger group. Bungalow was clean and in good nick (but in keeping with their environmental policy sheets and towels are not cleaned on a daily basis unless you ask for it). Their dive instructors and course were great, and equipment seemed new. And again any questions you have can be asked by e-mail beforehand. This is the only 'resort' on a very scenic white beach, with large shady overhanging trees so you have it all to yourself. It has a few resturants along the beach strip but non of them sell alchol. This is a place to dive, snorkel and rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venka_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Weh
23.5 mi away
The Pade Hotel
The Pade Hotel
#1 of 16 in Banda Aceh
140 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hermes Palace Hotel
Hermes Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Banda Aceh
186 reviews
5.5 mi away
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Iboih Inn
Iboih Inn
#2 of 6 in Pulau Weh
182 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA
4.7 mi away
Anoi Itam Resort
Anoi Itam Resort
#4 of 5 in Sabang
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumba Lumba Diving Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumba Lumba Diving Centre

Property: Lumba Lumba Diving Centre
Address: Gapang Beach, Pulau Weh, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Pulau Weh
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Weh
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a professional Dutch-Indonesian dive operation in a great dive shop. Open since 1998, Lumba Lumba Diving Centre has become a meeting point on Gapang Beach, a hub of activity from where the diving starts, a friendly and welcoming place where you can feel at home. Still being an insiders’ secret, and off the beaten track, Pulau Weh offers unspoiled and uncrowded divesites. Add our team’s dedication, experience and love for the ocean and you’ll get unforgettable dives, from spectacular full-adrenaline dives to long slow relaxed macro spotting dives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lumba Lumba Diving Hotel Pulau Weh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing