We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully Relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of FROSTBOURNE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
kitchenette
local beach Pett Level
shower
Country Park (1 mile away)
local lake
our garden
Garden/Frostbourne
local pub (20 min walk)
cattle by lake near beach
View of Frostbourne from top of our lane
Military Canal
garden
local beach
country park (1 Mile away)
Spring garden
garden sculpture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fairlight, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1geecee
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Relaxing”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a lovely holiday home Paul & Jane have provided, it had all the amenities we needed, it was comfortable, immaculately clean and there was an added bonus of a lovely welcome pack. The surrounds are wonderfully relaxing with views across the Hastings countryside whilst listening to the sound of birdsong. Frostbourne is perfectly situated to explore the East Sussex countryside and attractions. We couldn't have asked for better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review,we are glad you enjoyed your holiday and you will always be welcome back.
Paul & Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy v
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

John and Jane have created a wonderful place for visitors to feel at home in while visiting a new area. The accommodation is just lovely - very clean and so peaceful! They think of everything to make your stay just that little bit more special (eggs, milk and bubbles when you arrive, a file and brochures with many recommendations of places to eat and visit locally and in the surrounding areas). John was always very prompt responding to my messages. My fiance and I were so happy with Frostbourne and are hoping to return again. We highly recommend it! Thank you very much to John and Jane!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is in a peaceful area that is so beautiful.
Liked least: Can honestly say I loved everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Thank you Kristy for your kind review.We look forward to welcoming you both back to sunny Sussex.
Kind regards
Paul and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapphire1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in a peaceful location”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Fairbourne and would highly recommend it as an ideal base to explore this beautiful part of the country. The owners, Jane and Paul, were welcoming and friendly and the fresh flowers and welcome pack were much appreciated. The accommodation is very comfortable and well equipped and a haven of peace and quiet, while still being within easy reach of the village and beach. We would recommend both of the pubs in the village, where we ate in the evenings. We would also recommend the walk to Hastings through the country park, visiting Rye and Winchelsea, and the wonderful gardens at Great Dixter. We were also lucky to have good weather for our stay, and were very sorry to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
Many thanks Julia for a lovely review and we are so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us at Frostbourne. We are pleased you also liked Great Dixter our favourite local garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateH4519...
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We enjoyed a whole week at Frostbourne with visits including Battle, historic Hastings, Sissinghurst gardens, Bodiam Castle and Beachy Head as well as enjoying some lovely coastal walking. Frostbourne had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and we found the owners very helpful in making sure we had a good holiday.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Many thanks Kate. We are glad you both enjoyed your stay at Frostbourne.
Kind regards
Paul & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Friendly, calm, nice surroundings”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Friendly hosts, well equipped room with good bed and kitchen corner (pots and pans could be better but were usable) and a well heated bath and well-functioning shower. Place for car in the yard. Ten minutes to Hastings and to the beaches.
All in all, can absolutely recommend!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Dear Veronica
Thank you for your good review.
We am not sure what your criticism of the pots and pans is? The is a new non-stick frying pan and stainless steel saucepan etc..(Had you asked we could have given you more pans) Perhaps the word kitchenette lost something in translation to German?
We realise you you cooked in a lot and we do not pretend to offer full kitchen facilities.( most people seem to eat out quite a lot).
Thank you again for your recommendation. We are both glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie J
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Me and my partner came here for a Easter break, to get away from the business of life for two days. If you're like us and find hotels too crowded this is perfect for you. We were warmly welcomed and left with some much appreciated bread, eggs, wine etc. Everyone is so friendly, the local pub suggested in the welcome pub was lovely. Hastings is a truly beautiful place! We had such a peaceful stay and couldn't have been happier with our time away, in fact we did not want to leave. I'd highly recommend staying here to anyone and will no doubt be coming back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2016
Thank you so much Jessie. We are glad you and Alex had a great peaceful time at Frostbourne. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Paul & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk P
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal appartment for a short break”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owners, Paul and Jane are very friendly hosts. We found some much appreciated attentions in the appartment when we arrived: fresh flowers, pint of milk etc.
The appartment is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and tastefully decorated.
You stay in a quiet, green lane, close to the sea and some fine walking area.
The view from the balcony is iconic British: a period cottage, an oast house, a garden and the rolling hills of East Sussex.
You have ample tourist information and there is a good little library available in the living area.
A little gem with kind and warm-hearted people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the East Sussex countryside near the sea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing