We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an idyllic setting for a wedding!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swallowtail Hill Farm
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“What an idyllic setting for a wedding!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Swallowtail Hill Farm was the most gorgeous location for my nephew's wedding. If you want to personalise and arrange your own celebration in a relaxed rural environment, then this is the place.

Some lucky guests were able to camp that night. The facilities looked excellent, and what a bonus to be able to wander down the field after the reception and dancing.

Sarah and Chris were around in the background, attentive and available where necessary to sort out any glitches.

A memorable day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bridie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend with our two children aged 7 and 9, arriving to a warm welcome from Sarah who provided us with a detailed tour of our facilities and plentiful supplies for the following morning. The children loved building their camp fire, eating their bolognaise in the open, and toasting marshmallows on the fire. It was freezing cold by the time we went to bed, but armed with hot water bottles and blankets provided by the farm, we thought we should be warm enough. We hadn't realised quite how toasty the amazing duvets were, so we needn't have worried, so we spent a lovely warm night under canvas. The next morning the shower was a treat - lovely and warm, and even the compost loo was a pleasure to use! Breakfast of farm fresh eggs fried over the camp fire, was delicious (so we had twice the number of eggs the next day!), and then it was off to feed the animals. This was 40 minutes of bliss for the kids who met Fuggles the rabbit, Smiler and Hilary the pigs, Sid and Nancy the goats and numerous hens and geese! We then spent the whole day on the farm, enjoying the beautiful wildflower meadow and playing badminton over the fence. Sarah thoughtfully provided the kids with a nature trail activity pack and pond dipping nets so we could go off and catch newts, water skaters and water boatmen. They loved it! After a brief spell of rain, it was back off up to the animals for feeding time again. Sarah and Christopher cover every eventuality and everything is thought of in terms of making sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our weekend. We didn't see the surrounding area at all as the kids just wanted to spend time on the farm, so we have to return to be able to enjoy Rye, Camber Sands, Bodiam Castle and even more. I can't fault Swallowtail Farm at all and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandgabysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a great time in spite of the weather. Sarah and Chris are excellent and friendly hosts. The camping facilities were excellent. This was our first camping trip as a family and the kids loved it (aged 7 and 3). My wife had never camped before and was less than enamoured with the thought of ‘roughing it’. Her verdict?...“a great fun adventure with the kids and yes, I would do it again”. We watched the children feeding the animals, took a tour through the wild flower meadows, discovered wild orchids, caught newts in the nearby pond, toasted crumpets on an open fire and let the children wander out of sight without having to worry about them. It was fantastic! Can’t recommend it highly enough. This will max out your parenting points! Not having to set everything up and take everything down at the end of your stay is worth every penny!

There is also a lot to do in the local area. We arrived early and took a steam train from Tenterden to Bodium Castle and back. The campsite was less than 30 mins from Tenterden.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bell Tents. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Flint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Having had a fantastic stay in one of the tents at Swallowtail Hill, we went back and stayed in the Meadow Keeper's Cottage. Despite the torrential rain, my husband and I had a wonderful time. The cottage was very warm and cosy, thanks to a highly efficient logburning stove, and had everything we needed to relax and get away from it all. There was something rather magical about snuggling down with a good book whilst the rain lashed the windows and the wind howled a gale outside.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a visit to one of the new cottages - either the Meadow Keeper's or the Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joceejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had a fab time here, a lovely spot in the middle of fields overlooking a pond with your own boat. Great fire kit for cooking and sitting around as the night draws in, very comfy bed and the shower was fun. Sarah and Christopher are very generous with their wood, supplying a good load and let you forage for more, although you can buy more up at the farm shop. We wish we'd stayed another night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciferp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Two weeks ago I spent a glorious weekend at Meadow Keeper's Cottage with my husband and two sons.
We were very lucky with the weather and had sunshine everyday, so we were able to cook meals on the campfire and sit out very late watching the stars.
The Cottage itself is beautifully designed and well laid out. It is cosy and has everything you need. The little cooker is brilliant - it even has a grill, the wood-burning stove is so efficient, we barely needed our duvets, and the beds are very comfortable. It is situated 2 fields away from the two tipis and three from the farm house, so it feels very private and you don't hear or see any other people. The shower is brilliant! It was so nice to be camping, but still have a comfy bed and a hot shower every day.
We spent our days exploring Rye, walking in the surrounding countryside, rowing around the pond and helping Christopher collect and press apples to make cider. Both our children loved helping Sarah feed the animals every morning and evening. It was really nice to spend so much time outdoors and surrounded by nature.
They really have thought of everything, from the arrival box of goodies (including fresh eggs from their own hens) right through to the natural shampoo and conditioner in the shower. It is a very well organised, high-end form of camping, but you still feel that you are out in the wild. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natsyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Loved everything about our stay, everything is there set up for you from pots & pans to your first meal. My son normally wants me to be a horse when I carry him on my back & today he asked me to be a pig like Hilary & Smiler as he loved feeding the animals.
Ace tour around the farm with Chris, learned a lot and saw some amazing plants & biodiversity. Definitely plan on coming back :-)

Room Tip: All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KleeCli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckley
1.3 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Woodgate Farm
Woodgate Farm
#2 of 3 in Beckley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knelle Dower Studio B&B
Knelle Dower Studio B&B
#1 of 1 in Northiam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
7.7 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
2.3 mi away
Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallowtail Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallowtail Hill Farm

Property: Swallowtail Hill Farm
Address: Swallowtail Hill Farm Hobbs Lane, Beckley TN31 6TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallowtail Hill is close to the ancient fortified hill-top seaport of Rye in a picturesque corner of East Sussex. The farm is managed entirely for bio-diversity and conservation. Stylish eco camping is available in two cosy wood cabins and two quirky cottages-on-wheels. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing