We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it!!!”
Review of Boonshill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boonshill Farm
Ranked #4 of 4 Iden B&B and Inns
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We love it!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely stunning setting, incredibly beautiful house which has been restored & decorated to an exceptional standard : Lisette clearly has a very good eye & fantastic taste! The rooms are spacious, luxurious & relaxing, very comfy bed, wonderful peace & quiet.
Lisette was very welcoming & made us feel at home, the perfect hostess. Breakfast was very yummy : the perfect English cooked breakfast especially the eggs from the farm's hens. The household pets are friendly & the gardens beautiful ... We cannot fault Boonshillfarm, certainly one of the loveliest places we have stayed : basically we want to move in!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockinrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we got to Rye, it was cold and windy and we weren't sure about our decision to stay a few miles outside, at Iden. We just wanted to settle in with a cup of tea. However, when we made the short journey to Lisette's absolutely beautiful home (just like stepping into the set of Pride and Prejudice), we were so glad we chose it. Lisette is the ex creative director of the gorgeous Petersham Nurseries at Richmond, and her designer's eye for detail shows everywhere, from the roll-top bath in what must be the biggest bathroom in East Sussex, to the soft white bedding and scented diffuser in our room. She is also a generous host and a great cook. We stayed with our son, and are looking forward to an excuse to go back by ourselves. Imagine if Elizabeth Bennet's home had walk-in showers: like that.

Room Tip: We had the double room, with a little bed for our son, and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our neighbours in Argentina strongly recommended Boonshill Farm B&B and it proved to be the nicest place we stayed at on our holiday round the U.K. The 17th century house is full of character and charm. The gardens are superb and the far reaching views unique. Our bedrooms and bathrooms were large and extremly comfortable. Lisette is a wonderful hostess and the breakfast was healthy and plentiful. We indulged in fruit compote with berries from the garden and yoghurt, cereals, fruits and the most delicious cooked breakfast.

The area is also well worth a visit with plenty of walks and places to see!

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool but could not untick the boxes. Who needs them when you have cambersands f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Quiet location and big, clean bedroom. We thought it would benefit from complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and brighter bedside lights as the current ones are too dim for reading. The medium sized bath towels were air dried and stiff and it would have been nice for each of us to have a second towel. There is no wifi available. We were asked if we wanted cooked breakfast when we arrived; it didn't occur to us that there wouldn't be a menu the next morning. We came down to find Lisette was already frying our breakfast and I had to ask her to stop as I am unable to eat fried food. Fortunately Lisette said it was no problem to grill tomatoes and cook scrambled eggs but the portion was small - just 3 cherry tomatoes. I thought our stay was overpriced. However the house is beautifully decorated, you can tell Lisette has an eye for interior design.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband, myself and our mothers had just landed in England on our much anticipated 1 month tour and I personally think we started with the BEST. We all agree (and other B&B's were superb) that this place has it all - all the elements that combine to just make it the perfect place to stay and relax and enjoy the amazing tranquil countryside.
Lisette, and Parsley and Honey (dogs!) greeted us warmly as we opened the gate and drove up the gravel drive. We were entranced with this place from our first steps out the car door. The gardens on this farm acreage are beautiful - varying types of displays to tempt the senses; herb gardens, a more formal planted garden in the back but leading to lovely paddock views, a "meadow like" garden around the pond with a shed where the doves live and a lovely wild flower garden surrounding a sundial in the front garden. The house itself was full of character and obviously refurbished to retain its history but with the newer comforts required for modern living!
Our rooms were stunningly decorated in a simple, elegant fashion but also just so comfortable! (The twin room deserves a special mention here with both beds being the most cushiony - "like sleeping on a cloud" comfortable!) Both rooms were enormous with an array of comfortable arm chairs and selections of decorator and country interiors books for reading. The bathroom in the King room was particularly noteworthy with a massive marble or stone like entrance of at least two metres - that's what I call a walk in shower!
The breakfasts on both mornings of our stay were fantastic, dining on an old table in front of what seemed like a inglenook fireplace that, as another reviewer has already stated, could fit a bull and perhaps a pig and a couple of additional chickens inside! The sideboard contained a variety of fresh and infused or soaked fruits, yoghurt's and cereals and then we ordered bacon and eggs and whatever you could possible want really. All cooked wonderfully.

Lisette can do no wrong in our books - lovely and unassuming, going about her farm business and looking after guests easily and efficiently. We will definitely return - even all the way from Australia! xxx

Cheers - NIK, Lloyd, Carol and Elaine

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent but if you prefer a softer bed try the room that has the single beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikpumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

What a piece of paradise! Beautiful house and garden too with incredible views all round. So tranquil with a very friendly hostess who made us all feel welcome, we wanted to move in forever. The sandy beach is just down the road if you don’t fancy visiting the many castles, National Trust properties or even splendid gardens. We did a bit of everything and will have to go back as there is so much more.

Both bedrooms are spacious with gorgeous en-suits. We all slept wonderfully and woke to the smell of our scrumptious breakfast cooking! Even our vegetarian daughter had plenty of pickings, usually such a difficult girl to please so this made life so much easier.
We have been recommending this B&B to all of our friends and felt that we should voice our thoughts to many more by this review. Do go!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. Lisette, who was a delightful host, was once an interior designer which shows through in the wonderfully eclectic style of her house. Our bedroom and bathroom were vast, and beautifully renovated. The linen and soft pillows were luxurious. The bathroom combined ultra-modern fittings with a roll-top bath, a real treat. Sitting in the two comfortable bedroom chairs and looking over the beautiful gardens to the sheep beyond was a joy. Breakfast was excellent, using locally sourced products, and the final touch was huge monogrammed French linen napkins, which we have been trying to source ever since! We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iden
2.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#7 of 38 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.4 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Iden Coach House
Iden Coach House
#2 of 4 in Iden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hayden's
Hayden's
#5 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonshill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonshill Farm

Property: Boonshill Farm
Address: Boonsfield Farm Grove Lane, Iden, Rye TN31 7QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Iden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Iden
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TN31 7QA ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boonshill Farm Iden, Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing