We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B in a quiet and idyllic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Farm
Ranked #3 of 4 Iden B&B and Inns
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B in a quiet and idyllic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here having searched in the area but weren't lucky to find something and got the address from another B and B which was already fully booked.
Lucky us, we had a great time just one night but everything was great. Welcome tea, meeting some other guests. The dinner recommendation from our host was absolutely perfect, the Black Lion Inn, Appledore.
Good room, bed, shower and full English breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room facing the meadow with sheep and the road, shower and bath to be accessed via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnikaLu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
249 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night and was made to feel very welcome by the friendly hosts. The accommodation is in a very quiet area about 2 miles north of Rye with lovely views over the countryside. The bedroom was very clean and well furnished and the private shower room just across the landing was great too. An excellent tasty full English breakfast was served.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent one night at Cliff Farm during our 2weeks tour in the South-Easth of England, one year ago (07/2013)... I know I am late in this review, sorry :p
Anyway, one year has passed and today we remember our experience at Cliff Farm as one of the best of those two weeks, the two owners Pat and Jeff are so friendly, they took the time to chat with us even though they had a lot to do to look after the house and the farm, very kind people. The room was lovely and clean, the view of the countryside from the window helped us relaxing after a very busy day touring, and the farm was... exactly what we expected to find: a farm! with curious sheeps all around the house that woke us in the morning and kept company during breakfast, so funny! what to say about breakfast, a full english home made and fresh. Overall, a great experience! We suggest everyone to spend some time at Cliff Farm (we hope to go back some day!). Francesco and Antonella

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franci_e_AScalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

It was a late decision to go to Romney Marsh for 3 nights over the Easter weekend, and we had difficulty in finding somewhere to stay at short notice until we tried contacting Cliff Farm - luckily for us they had had a late cancellation. We were very pleased with what we found; a friendly welcome from the owners, Pat & Jeff Sullivin; a clean comfortable bedroom with good views over the marsh; ample breakfasts. Good walks nearby on Romney Marsh and along the Royal Military Canal; the interesting old town of Rye is not far away either.
The vast majority of other reviews on Trip Advisor are very favourable.We strongly recommend you ignore the bad one on 27/4/13 which was written 10 months after they had stayed at Cliff Farm.

Room Tip: The room at the south end of the house (probably the best room) has double aspect views south and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We worked out this was our sixth time staying at Cliff Farm - we can't stop coming back! First of all, it's a real home away from home, warm and friendly. Pat and Jeff are wonderful hosts. The rooms are all lovely, spacious, vintage style furnishings with modern amenities. It's also very good value, within easy reach of Rye and Camber Sands, and the views are stunning. Breakfast is always excellent - full English, beautifully cooked, cereals, juice and constant refills of tea/coffee and toast. There's something about Pat and Jeff that brings everyone out of themselves - on both mornings we were in the breakfast room chatting away with the other guests for over an hour. We'd highly recommend Cliff Farm, it's a really special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a gem of a place, the owners Pat and Jeff are great hoteliers, warm and inviting. The breakfast eggs yummie, extremely fresh. The accommodation clean and homely. We would recommend this bed and breakfast and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jems30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Me and my 4 year old son thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Cliff Farm. Pat and Jeff were very friendly and extremely helpful. After noting that Oliver didn't like orange juice on our arrival, Pat got apple juice in especially for breakfast. She was also happy to supply his habitual evening glass of milk when his dippy mum forgot to buy any. The accommodation, food, facilities, views, sheep, etc., were all as described on website....lovely. Oliver particularly enjoyed playing with the lego in the living room and feeding the sheep after breakfast (as well as our view of the windfarm). Pat also made some excellent recommendations including Bodiam Castle where we had a fantastic day at a medieval festival. I would definitely recommend to anyone with car wanting to stay near Rye and Camber Sands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iden hotels
0.0 mi away
Iden Coach House
Iden Coach House
#2 of 4 in Iden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bell at Iden
The Bell at Iden
#1 of 4 in Iden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Farm

Property: Cliff Farm
Address: Iden, Rye TN31 7QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Iden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Iden
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cliff Farm Iden, Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing