We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Brenda & Paul!!!”
Review of Iden Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iden Coach House
Ranked #2 of 4 Iden B&B and Inns
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Brenda & Paul!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the beautiful Garden room and absolutely loved every second, as did our dog Gherkin!!!
Brenda and Paul are so sweet and made us feel so welcome. They are very laid back and the fact that we could just come and go as we pleased made for a very relaxing stay!
The breakfast was absolutely lovely, very well cooked and delicious. With the choice of fruit and lovely fresh bread there wasn't a risk of going hungry!!

We will definitely return and would recommend the Iden Coach House to friends and family.

A little gem!!!

Thanks again, George, Suzi & Gherkin!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodlesgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernet-Les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful B&B. The owners, Paul and Brenda, made us feel very welcome and have done everything possible to make your stay comfortable. The two bedrooms are beautifully fitted out as are the en suite bathrooms. Everything you need for tea, coffee and so on is available and there is a good supply of toiletries. The Full English breakfast is very well cooked with not a trace of grease and is extremely generous with top quality ingredients. Plentiful tea, coffee, orange juice, cereals, prunes, melon, grapefruit, home made jam and marmalade and freshly baked brown and white loaves complete a very satisfying start to the day. The garden is beautiful and has a '1' gauge railway set up which Paul is pleased to show you around if asked! Iden is well situated for visits to Rye, the Marshes, Great Dixter, Sissinghurst and loads of other lovely places so it's a good centre for touring. If you stay there and like Itslian food try Simply Italian in Rye!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdgvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We tried the twin bedded room upstairs (bathroom downstairs)with views of Paul's beautiful railway enthusiasts garden.Second night (by choice) we moved downstairs to the charming garden room with double bed looking out again onto the garden through double doors. The hosts Paul and Brenda made us very welcome and encouraged us to make use of the facilities including fridge, garden tables and summerhouse.
What was really good was the layout of the rooms so that they are like private little suites with own personal door and ensuite bathrooms off of a personal entrance, seperate from the main part of the house which is rather neat.
Breakfast was a banquet with cooked english breakfast , cereals and fresh bread and fruit. Fantastic!

Room Tip: google their website for more great pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasseye111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Iden Coach House for four nights in the beautiful downstairs double room with direct access to the garden. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The ensuite bathroom, though small, was very nice and included a wonderful shower and shampoo etc. Breakfasts were a delight - beautifully cooked. Plus there was cereal and fruit on offer and lovely fresh bread for toast each day. And a large pot of tea for me and a large pot of coffee for my wife. Paul and Brenda - our hosts - were very, very welcoming and friendly. They, along with Biddy the schnauzer, joined us after breakfast each day for a chat about all manner of things where we had similar interests. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAVANT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My sister and I staid at the Iden Coach House guest house near Rye on tuesday 24th april. We had,had an interesting day visiting around kent. Our welcome at Iden couldn't have been better. Brenda was walking her little dog and was able to direct us straight to thier door. Paul also greeted us and showed us to our room. What a room a twin but not like any we'd seen before. Up some twisted stairs to the bedroom, with every conceivable item you could want in the very best taste and furnishing. The en-suite bathroom was downstairs, again everything and more that you would need. From our window you looked out over a lovely garden. Breakfast next morning was an unhurried affair, with not a little plastic container in sight. Brenda and Paul made sure we had everything we needed with our cooked breakfast, then left us to enjoy it. Later they came and took coffe with us and chatted so we didn't feel obliged to rush off. We certainly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for the very best.






















My sister and I staid at the Iden Coach House guest house near Rye on tuesday 24th april.






































w










on tuesday

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NORMA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We thought we would stay over somewhere in the Rye area whilst the current 2011 October "heatwave" continued and was recommended to try The Coach House in Iden by the Tourist Information office. We were unable to contact the proprieters by phone and so we turned up unannounced - not the normal way they receive guests. We were welcomed in by Brenda who was very charming and then shown to the lovely "garden room" which had french doors opening on to a beautiful expansive garden with garden seats and benches and a summer house for the use of guests. The garden overlooked fields with grazing sheep and goats (not for slaughter) and ,surprisingly, a model rail track for model steam trains with tunnels and viaducts weaved its way around the garden - Paul's number one hobby. Breakfast was beautifully cooked with fresh produce and newly baked bread collected from the village shop at 7.30 in the morning by Paul. Would recommend this place to friends and family without hesitation - excellent !

Room Tip: Ther is an upstairs twin room and the double room opens directly on to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeChrisRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

What a EXCELLANT Bed & Breakfast this is, our hosts where most helpful & very charming, Wonderful double room opening out to their Beautiful Garden - So glad we stayed for two nights and that being too short - we where sad to leave, You could not ask for a more pleasant & peaceful resting place - The village of Iden is delightful & only a short distance from Rye - Plenty of great places to visit & considerable choice of eating out - We recommend Iden Coach House to ALL - Manys Thanks Brenda & Paul ,
Mary & I are already looking forward to another stay

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acacetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iden
2.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.6 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iden Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iden Coach House

Property: Iden Coach House
Address: Iden Coach House Wittersham Road | Wittersham Road, Iden, Rye TN31 7XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Iden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Iden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small B & B with two bedrooms, both fully en-suite with full use of the garden. Brenda and Paul enjoy the time spent with their guests and get great satisfaction when they have been pleased with their stay. We were recently awarded 4 stars by the Visit Britain quality scheme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Iden Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iden Coach House Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing