We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Sleep - NOT GOOD ONE”
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mesolongion
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We reached the hotel about 00:00 and there was a continues noise all throw the night...
So I could not get any rest.
Maybe it was the specific night, may be....
I managed to rest only for couple of hours

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takisjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Having booked 6 weeks in advance for a family of three i was dumb founded when i walked into the room supplied.Three single beds, in a room that looked like it belonged in an asylum from the 19th century.The view from the room consisted of a sun deprived courtyard with withered bushes and what seemed to be a garbage dumpster. Definetely not what was pictured on the web.Having arrived with low expectations i was shocked by what was on offer particularly at the price of 90 euros per day. I rapidly left and managed to find clean serviced appartment..Electra appartments just near the entrance to the city. All i can say if considering the hotel liberty is buyer beware..they do claim to have slightly better rooms however they sure as hell where not available when i was there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After living on our boat in the marina for a couple of years we returned to Messolonghi in August 2012 to see some old friends, we like Messolonghi the town has a vitality about it, the old part has real character and is 100% Greek. It is a University town so its full of students coffee shops, tavernas and bicycles a cafe society. The locals will tell you its famous for its fish, its women and its mosquitoes, beware the mosquitoes. We stayed in the Hotel Liberty, why? well its a short walk from the bus station and its cheaper than the Theloxina and farther away from the lagoon where the mosquitoes live and breed. We had an idea the Hotel would be a bit tired, from the outside it looks worn out, but worse it seems as if its been dropped in the wrong country by mistake, it would fit well in Birmingham (UK) around 1968 perhaps; so its out of its time and out of its environment, and there's no getting away from the fact it spoils Messolonghi.

Our expectations were low.

The reception was home to a very helpfull friendly young man who knew who we were, knew we were comming and showed us quickly to our room, on the second floor overlooking the Garden of Heros - what a view, in terms of what was available - fantastic. The new mayor of Messolonghi has busied himself cleaning the place up and it shows.

The room - was very tired, pretty well worn out BUT it was clean, the bed was in good condition and clean, the air con worked the television worked, the refrigerator worked, the bathroom was large everything worked and it was clean. AND best of all the windows had mosquitoe screens.

Not sure if there was a staffed kitchen, never saw anyone eating in the resturant or drinking in the bar - but this is Messolonghi, there are hundreds of tavernas and resturants within 2 minutes walk - we ate all our meals out, even so the room service menu was very reasonably priced.

The Hotel Liberty is worn out but clean and friendly, it is what it is. IF you plan to visit Messolonghi then a stay in the Liberty is not such a bad idea, they did surpass our expectations.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in line with the entrance to the Garden of Heros, you will only see parks and palm trees a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fethiye7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

W just passed by Messolonghi (or Missolonghi) on our way. We looked for a hotel to stay in and chose this one because it had relatively good reviews on the Internet. We were very disappointed, although we didn't have high expectations. The whole hotel seems like a time-warp into the 1970's. The furniture is very old. All the decor is very outdated.
We took a family suite, which historically must have been the presidential suite in this hotel. The airconditioning only cools the main room and not the "master bedroom". A lot of the electrical outlets don't work.
The stuff was helpful as friendly as much as possible, but breakfast was less than basic and we hardly ate anything.
By the way, there's not really much to see in town. The historical gardens are very poor and not well maintained. The old fishermen houses on stilts in the lagoon are interesting as an anecdote, but not something I would take a detour to see.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zongi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

i just return from mesologgi.the people there were all great!!the place were like a ferrytells.
the roads, the peole and the bicycles that all the people used were great.i do not want to tell about the liberty hotel.the only good was that were close to the buse that come from athens(however i see and tha the other hotels were closed ayvra,theoksenia,).the receptionist never tell us a goodmorning,,iwas telling them but nothing..no response.the rooms wasss sooo baddd........i could not sleep there...and dirty of course..old furnitures,old bathrooms,the door was almost ready to broken and we pay 50euro for 2 persons...........ohh goddd...in santorini which is the most famous island pay 40euro in a great hotel in the same period.
1.bad rooms
2.no hospitality
3.bad furnitures
4.bad building
5.just do not go there....
i hope to close this hotel because is bad adverisment of mesologgi.the choices are not many for hotel when you want to go there.for that reason as the area and the square are great so they have to look after and the hotels..choose an other hotel if you want to go there.from my experience is better to choose a smallest hotel (the people are more friendly) and hotels like liberty which have 100rooms and all are bad...they interesting just to take money.also, the photos in their site are very good but when i go there..ooohh my god i wanted to leave.alsoooo the moist important..............I FORGET TO TELL YOU...I HAVE PAY 50EURO AND I GO TO THE ROOM AND I COUL NOT FOUND THE TELECOTROL OF AIRCODITION....THEY HAVE IT IN THE RECEPTION.....AND WHEN I SAY THAT I HAVE PAY IS IN THE PRICE AS YOU HAVE TOLD ME...AAA OK THEY TOLD ME...COME TO GET IT...BUT WHERE SO ROOD...i have not see in other hotel..here in greece we say that there are Gyftoi(they worry about the electrician if we open many time,almost they asked me why and how i will use the aircodition)!
i just wanted to telax one night because i want to make a registration in a tei(school there), but was so bad...only a walk in the area could make my feeling!go to mesologgi were great but not in this hotel...!
i also, the price for one person to go from or to athens is 21.20euro which meant to go and to return to athens is 42.40euro.just informal!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kikidam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ωραία και απεριοριστη θεα από τα μπαλκονια
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-MarcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesolongion
17.9 mi away
Marpessa Smart Luxury Hotel
21.4 mi away
Nafs Hotel
Nafs Hotel
#1 of 9 in Naupactus
220 reviews
22 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#2 of 9 in Naupactus
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Socrates Organic Village
Socrates Organic Village
#1 of 1 in Mesolongion
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Address: 41 Iroon Politechniou, Mesolongion 302 00, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Aetolia-Acarnania Region > Mesolongion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mesolongion
Price Range: $40 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberty 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 3 stars , consists of 122 rooms , 6 family suites . Located at the entrance of the city , at Messolonghi opposite the historic site of the Garden of Heroes (they became the ' Expenses of Messolonghi ) , with easy and quick access to all key points ( center , historical monuments , beach entrance, exit) .The charm of this city , the vast history, tranquility and at the same time so many options , it will carry you . Do not forget to mention the spas with thousands of visitors every summer . We finally enjoy a fantastic bike ride at sunset by the sea or in the narrow streets of the city after to Messolongi reputed as one of the three largest bicycle city in Greece . The friendly atmosphere of the hotel and the comfortable rooms , fully-equipped rooms , restaurant and bar , ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberty Greece/Mesolongion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing