We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Instantly Relaxing”
Review of Pomene Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pomene National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pomene Lodge
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After several nights camping on our way to the Mozambique coast, despite our arrival at dusk, the lights of Pomene and the sounds of waves of the Indian Ocean were very welcoming. Sharon our host, personally checked us in, showed us to our cabins, and explained that despite our delayed arrival, the chef was expecting us, our dinner would be served in approximately an hour and a half. Dinner was excellent; Specialties of the kitchen, whole crab or crab with curry sauce was thoroughly enjoyed by those who ordered this dish as was the fish of the day.

Up early the following morning, the sight of Pomene Bay with its turquoise waters and expanses of white sand stretching for kilometres to the headlands in the distance was instantly relaxing and truly beautiful. The tranquil inlet with resident flamingoes equally so.

The staff, from management to reception, wait and bar staff are friendly, courteous and helpful, the cottages comfortable and well equipped. Whether you are at Pomene to engage in sporting activities or to chill out and relax, the lodge is the perfect location.

Highly recommended.

Note:
A few things which need attention, but do not detract from this enchanting location;
A number of holes in the mosquito netting; one of my lodge mates was eaten alive the first night. Luckily (for me) the mosquitoes did not find the holes in my netting.

Restaurant: I asked if I could order a crab curry the following night, without the shell, and was very disappointed in the way the dish was cooked and the flavour no way resembled a curry. The cut-off times for ordering meals and kitchen hours. I feel that these are a little restrictive.

Breakfast buffet was rather limited and could be a little more expansive; Coffee was mediocre and instant coffee not acceptable; Portions served off the menu on the small side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Pomene is a very special place in a very unique setting. We are pleased to hear that your experience is exactly what we wish for all our guests. Maintenance is on-going at the lodge and mozzie nets are always a priority to ensure guest comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 56 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent 5 days at Pomene Lodge as part of a longer trip to South Africa and Mozambique.

Having read all the reviews I was really looking forward to Pomene and had quite high expectations. These were exceeded the moment that we arrived. The last part of the journey to the lodge is on a sand road through the reserve and is beautiful. We were both craning to see the sea first (childish) and when we eventually did it was stunning. The beach is heaven on earth and the estuary absolutely beautiful, particularly with the resident flamingos. We were met by Jorge who was lovely and showed us to our accommodation. The water chalet was beautiful. A massive bed with nice linen and a great big mossie net (I can't stand it when the net is too small and you wake up with it stuck to your face in the middle of the night!). The terrace was great with a nice swing seat and a lovely view over the estuary.

Conditions were not suitable for diving on our first day so we kept ourselves entertained with swimming in the gorgeous warm sea and the pool, and of course drinking some nice cold 2M. For the rest of our stay we were blessed with wonderful conditions and had some great dives. The highlight for me was my first Manta (multiple by the end of our stay) but we also had some other excellent sightings including turtles, shark, massive potato bass, loads of game fish, the list goes on. The coral near Pomene is in really great condition and teeming with life, goldfish bowl stuff. Diving with Sean was probably the most relaxed that I have ever experienced. He obviously loves his job (to be fair who wouldn't?) and is committed to giving his guests a great experience. The equipment was all in good condition and the guys were brilliant. I would go diving with Sean again at the drop of a hat.

We were at the lodge on a Dinner, B&B basis and the food was very good. We arrived just after a very busy easter period so supplies were apparently running low (the lodge is in the wilderness after all) but Ian (F&B Manager) looked after us brilliantly. On our last evening we went for sundowners at the old hotel and on the way Ian picked up that evenings dinner from the local fisherman which was great. Nothing was too much trouble.

Sharon and Rob have obviously put in a lot of work at the Lodge and are doing a brilliant job. Their hosting and that of their management team is second to none. I think that this is what makes Pomene Lodge so special, it is not just the location, the diving, the accommodation, the food (which are all great), it is the truly relaxed atmosphere and the feeling of being a really welcome and special guest of the people that run it.

Prior to Pomene we were in Tofo for a few days and the lodge provided a 4x4 pick up which went pretty smoothly. The journey was about 3.5 hours and the roads were pretty...um...fun! The vehicle was a bit basic/worn but no worse than any others that we saw on the roads throughout Moz. The driver also arrived with a packed lunch for us which was a nice touch. When we left we had a transfer back to Inhambane airport which took slightly longer and was even more bumpy as there had been quite heavy rain overnight. However, it was all good and we arrived at the airport in plenty of time for our flight.

One tip is to take enough cash in Mets to settle your bill as otherwise you may get a bit stung by the exchange rate.

Thanks to everyone for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallywally2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the wonderful ocean experience which Pomene offers. We will definitely pass this message on for the staff to read and we look forward to welcoming you back to out little piece of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have visited Pomene Lodge twice now with friends and have loved it every time! it is truly like being in paradise, I have never felt so relaxed and lazy at the same time as what I have been there!!

The sea is warm the estuary is beautiful the chalets are perfect and the staff are friendly. Pomene is always a place I will go back to with friends and/or family.

You do need a 4x4 to get there or you can arrange a transfer from Inhambane/ Barra Lodge

Room Tip: Depending one what you travelling there for, there are the beautiful water chalets which is perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for expressing your enjoyment whilst at Pomene.Its always good to hear from guests who have had a wonderful experience on their holiday and we do also believe Pomene is definitely one of those special places with its unique fauna and flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went for our Honeymoon and stayed in one of the water chalets. It was perfect. The location is beautifull and the staff services were excelent. We will definitly go back again but this time we will fly there because the only bad part of the trip was the long drive there from Johannusburg also the power runs on a generator that gets turned off certain times so at times there is no fans in the rooms and you have to buy cold water but I will definitly recomend Pomene Lodge for a holiday. White unspoiled open beaches and blue ocean water pure bliss!!! Thank you guys!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Pomene is an unspoiled beauty and we are thrilled to have met your expectations. We hope to have you fly up one day soon. We can even pick you up from the airport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was expected to be our best spot on our diving holiday to Mozambique.

From a diving perspective we were very disappointed. We had communicated with the dive staff about our intention of doing 2 to 3 dives a day and this was confirmed as being available.

Upn arrival we discovered it was a struggle to get one dive a day. We had to pay full accommodation in advance so had no choice but to stay.

Service was poor at the restaurants. Food was poor, mostly fried, nothing fresh, no salads.

Water supply was intermittent. Electricity was unreliable, even with scheduled daily generator times.

Lovely spot. But apart from that I would definitely avoid. We are not going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fallinandfilmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were devastated to hear that your stay with us at Pomene did not meet your expectation. Over the festive season we had numerous issues with water supply after a very dry summer and fuel supplies in the area were low to run the generator. In regards to the Diving, I can only apologise that you did not get as many dives in as you would have liked, weather conditions may have added to the problem. I can assure you that this will not occur again. We would love you to come back again to see these changes so please do make contact with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

As I've said - LOCATION! That is the best thing about Pomene. You are on a pinnacle with the sea on one side and the lagoon on the other. The beaches and sea life are amazing. We camped and loved every minute! Don't expect fancy ablutions - they are basic with intermittant hot showers. In my opinion this just makes you appreciate the comforts of home even more and it's a reality check as to how others live on a daily basis. We went in July which was perfect - no mosquitos and mild days relaxing in the sun without burning bright red! The locals were amazing - we left our valuables unattended on a daily basis and nothing was touched! They ladies bring fresh portugese bread, fruit and salad stuff around every morning which is a real bonus. Be prepared for sand, sand and more sand - our friends managed to get there with a 2x4 with diff lock but if you don't want to stress then I definately recommend a 4x4. The camp sites are literally on the beach so your tent does end up quite sandy by the end of it - you learn to embrace it though! A must see is the "Old Hotel" which is a day trip about 15 minutes away from camp. The views from there are amazing as well as a stunning little cove with lots of snorkelling. The rocks are extremely sharp so take a pair of rock shoes! There are also beatiful blow holes that you will see at this site when the tide is coming in. There is a resturant that you can go and eat at and obviously there's self-catering and catered accommodation available. I would highly reccommend Pomene Lodge as the place to be in Mozambique - it is truly AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: we camped so don't know much about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Indeed, we have a prime position within the reserve and in such a pristine part of Mozambique. Thank you for the lovely review, we have a lot of campers that frequent our lodge so it is always lovely to hear from those that camp and stay at the lodge itself. We hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Can't comment on the quality of the actual lodge and chalets, but the campsite, barracas, and campsite ablutions are fantastic. And whats more - campers have full access to all the lodge facilities. Lodge restaurant not too expensive, with fairly good quality seafood.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BwanaSpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your review with us. Pomene is a very special place for us and it is great to hear that our campers are satisfied with the facilities we provide. Hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pomene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomene Lodge

Address: Pomene Bay, Pomene National Reserve, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Pomene National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pomene National Reserve
Price Range: $20 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pomene Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing