We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!”
Review of Pomene Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pomene National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pomene Lodge
Reviewed August 14, 2012

As I've said - LOCATION! That is the best thing about Pomene. You are on a pinnacle with the sea on one side and the lagoon on the other. The beaches and sea life are amazing. We camped and loved every minute! Don't expect fancy ablutions - they are basic with intermittant hot showers. In my opinion this just makes you appreciate the comforts of home even more and it's a reality check as to how others live on a daily basis. We went in July which was perfect - no mosquitos and mild days relaxing in the sun without burning bright red! The locals were amazing - we left our valuables unattended on a daily basis and nothing was touched! They ladies bring fresh portugese bread, fruit and salad stuff around every morning which is a real bonus. Be prepared for sand, sand and more sand - our friends managed to get there with a 2x4 with diff lock but if you don't want to stress then I definately recommend a 4x4. The camp sites are literally on the beach so your tent does end up quite sandy by the end of it - you learn to embrace it though! A must see is the "Old Hotel" which is a day trip about 15 minutes away from camp. The views from there are amazing as well as a stunning little cove with lots of snorkelling. The rocks are extremely sharp so take a pair of rock shoes! There are also beatiful blow holes that you will see at this site when the tide is coming in. There is a resturant that you can go and eat at and obviously there's self-catering and catered accommodation available. I would highly reccommend Pomene Lodge as the place to be in Mozambique - it is truly AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: we camped so don't know much about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Indeed, we have a prime position within the reserve and in such a pristine part of Mozambique. Thank you for the lovely review, we have a lot of campers that frequent our lodge so it is always lovely to hear from those that camp and stay at the lodge itself. We hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Can't comment on the quality of the actual lodge and chalets, but the campsite, barracas, and campsite ablutions are fantastic. And whats more - campers have full access to all the lodge facilities. Lodge restaurant not too expensive, with fairly good quality seafood.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BwanaSpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your review with us. Pomene is a very special place for us and it is great to hear that our campers are satisfied with the facilities we provide. Hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We recently had a week at Pomene Lodge and after 13 years of living in Mozambique (Tofo) I must say, it is the most beautiful place in all of Mozambique. Pomene Lodge was lovely too and absolutely ideal for family holidays... We will definately return!

Room Tip: The water chalets are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Pomene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

I am so glad to hear that Mozambican's are visiting us too...and we cant wait to have you visit us again. Pomene is a very special place for us so its lovely to hear that we have met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

worth to go!! the road to reach the place suffer of fluds during the high tide. it is advisable to have the tides schedule in advance!!!! we stayed in a big bungalow: big kitchen, completely equipped with good tools to cook. 2 bedrooms with private services each. very comfortable; bed has good materasses, sheets, blankets, pillow, mosquito nets are new. the place, Pomene, is a real pearl, it is really worthed to go.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank escaparate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Pomene lodge is the most special place I have ever been. We camped in order to be as close to the beach as possible (about 1 meter off the beach). The campsites were great. The electricity was not great but we were having such a lovely time we kept forgetting to inform reception. We had the seafood platter one night... outstanding. Lovely time snorkeling (lagoon, otherside of the bay, near the old hotel), walking on the shore (beach, lagoon, old hotel), swimming (rim flow at the lodge, sea, lagoon)... basically chilling and relaxing in the most beautiful and untouched part of the world.

Room Tip: Camp in #P4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had a good time at Pomene Lodge but we could only deplore the fact that electricity was shut down everyday at 10pm and that they did not give us any flashlight. This meant that the bar and everything closed before 10pm everyday and we had no light in our chalet after 10pm... Otherwise food was ok and the place is beautiful. We had a nice water chalet.

The swimming pool was really dirty and we never saw anyone from the management, they had left for the weekend apparently...

Room Tip: Water chalets are very nice. The rate includes breakfast and dinner for these chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvieE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Pomene must have been great once but now, I am sorry to say it is run down, and no where near as nice as it could be.
We stayed for a few nights and were the only people in one of the water lodges, these room are spectacular and waking up to the sound of water lapping underneath you makes an exciting start to any day; but that is were the fun ends.
A review before this said that only one of the boats were working, when we arrived there were none and that was 6 months later. One of the main reasons to stay at the lodge was to go diving we couldn't it is the first place where when we tried to speak to the dive master he couldn't offer any thing and was totally unenthusiastic, We had only booked 2 weeks before and were never told that none of the boats were working; they even removed the couch from in front of the TV while we were there ( during the rugby world cup the only reason to watch TV).

The restaurant is very basic, and not great food.

the mozie nets in the rooms do have a few holes (that shouldn't be there), but the main problem is that the come to the floor but there are holes in the floor between the boards and mozies can easily come in through them.

this is one of the few lodges we stayed in while on a 3.5 week honeymoon that didn't congratulate us.

the Local staff are very nice and good but the South Africans seem to be questioning why they are there, why are the local staff expected to ware uniform when the whites can walk around in old odd rugby tops?

Room Tip: make sure you have a good book, or the dive boats are working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomene National Reserve
0 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
71 reviews
0 mi away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
56 reviews
0 mi away
Massinga Beach Lodge
Massinga Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Massinga
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dona Soraya Lodge
Dona Soraya Lodge
#15 of 25 in Vilanculos
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pomene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomene Lodge

Address: Pomene Bay, Pomene National Reserve, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Pomene National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pomene National Reserve
Price Range: $20 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pomene Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing