We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy quirky welcoming accomodation very close to...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge - comfortable and snazzy design. Super-warm insulation. Rural chic design. Modern kitchen. Screenable fireplace and ladder.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lounge - comfortable and snazzy design. Super-warm insulation.
Rural chic design. Modern kitchen. Screenable fireplace and ladder.
View from 2nd bedroom to lounge.
Artsy, clean bathroom with shower over bath.
Private garden. No noise. Lovely landscaping and eco-design.
7 acres of organic orchards, fields and beautiful spaces
Lovely walks on the 7 acres of The Gates.
Tame chickens and sheep to feed.
Guests picking wild mushrooms at The Gates.
7 acres beside Mapua seaside village near Abel Tasman and Nelson.
Organic mandarins, lemons, grapefruit, sweet oranges, apples, nashi, hazel nuts.
Free-range chickens at The Gates Accommodation! (We do have REAL free-range chooks...).
Cycle the Great Taste Trail - Corru Gate guests about to explore wineries, artisans, countryside.
Playground - treehut, trampoline, slide, places to explore.
Mapua seaside village 3 km away. Cafes, artisans, boutique brewery - and wharf jumping!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ruby Bay, Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Myffie J
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfy quirky welcoming accomodation very close to Mapua.”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved our stay. Quiet, private, well presented and clean accommodation in a rural setting. Well equipped kitchen. Felt homely, not like a hotel room. Had heart. Friendly hosts who are eager to make your stay a very positive experience. Go for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcoming and homely
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review! It was a pleasure to host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W
Wellington
1 review
“Escape to the country”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Roger and Adele are lovely people, so thoughtful and welcoming. The personal touches like the welcome note and having the bikes all set up ready for us were much appreciated, thanks!

We really enjoyed the characterfulness of Corru Gate, the fun of the farm, and the facilities. The location was ideal for us, nice and quiet and well off the road, close enough to Mapua to get there easily for dinner, supplies etc and for the whole family to cycle back and forth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generous provision of bikes at no extra cost
Liked least: Immmmmm
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thanks for staying Martin and Vicky. Our first 4 star review (all our others have been 5 star) but that's Ok - it is still a high rating! I am glad that you appreciated the bike fleet and the peacefulness of Corru Gate. Yes, we do get lots of comments about the lovely blend of country remoteness and Mapua seaside village closeness. Cheers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil U
Sydney, NS
2 reviews
“Fantastic accomodations and hosts, great for kids!”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Wonderful accommodations and property - 3 year old son loved the trampoline, feeding the sheep/chickens and picking fresh lemons and plums. We were able to tour the country side on bikes rented from Corru Gate and towed our 2 kids in a bike trailer - great way to visit the surrounding wineries, towns and cafes. Would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2016
Thanks Phil! You really made the most of your stay with your trips to the beaches and wineries and around the country routes using the tour guides we made. We're glad that you enjoyed the animals and fruit from our 7 acres too. And we feel humbled by your comments about Corru Gate being a wonderful find.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeredithN...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot and so much to do”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed a week at Corru Gate and would have liked to have stayed longer. Great little comfortable cottage with everything you need. Our son George (4) had a great time feeding the sheep and chickens, collecting eggs, playing in the treehouse and in the small playground (inc trampoline) and helping to pick beautiful plums, oranges and lemons. We were so close to beaches and the Able Tasman, and wineries, restaurants and shops were only a stones throw away. At the end of each day we could enjoy a wind down sitting on the sunny veranda to eat dinner or have a wine or two. Definitely a location where you get the best of all worlds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great little cottage and so handy to beaches
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2016
Wow! Thanks for the lovely review. It was great that you got to enjoy the property and the local beaches, artisans, wineries, countryside as well. As you say, the best of both worlds. Thanks, too, for leaving Corru Gate in such excellent condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing