We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous 1940s experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Land army
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Land army
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Land army
Tea time
Pipe rack
Glastonbury tor
Modern cooker
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Baltonsborough, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrsflight
west sussex
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous 1940s experience”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my husband wanted a "time travel" holiday and came across this stunning accommodation. We stayed for 2 nights and it was just perfect, as close to a 1940s experience as I think you will find! We loved sitting by the fire and listening to the songs of the 1940s on the record player. Beds are comfy. There are still some mod cons so you won't feel too lost! Very fun Anderson shelter in the garden (you can even make tea in there). Warm and cosy once you have got the fire going (very cold if you don't have it on, but it all just added to the 1940s feel!). Very good bath with loads of hot water. Lots to find and see and some very cool vintage items on display. Dogs are also welcome which is great. Really recommend if your looking for a holiday with a difference or want to feel transported back in time! We will be back in the summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2015
Many thanks.
do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hirosuzuk...
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Time trip experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It was really great place to stay.
We time tripped to 1940 and really enjoyed the atmosphere.
Our son and daughter were really pleased and completely forgot about Internet and games and we all enjoyed playing vintage Monopoly games till late night.
Place is also very quiet and peaceful.
Local farm shop produce tasty ham and meat and staff are really friendly.
Also complement beer and drink and eggs were very welcome.
We really enjoyed staying there and we never forget this wonderful experiences.
We are sure we will comes back again next year.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie H
Westerham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A vintage-feel holiday let with a sense of humour”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My 14 year old daughter and I stayed here on a short break and couldn't have been happier. For all of us who like looking back and who have mad collecting tendencies, this cottage is huge fun and well-equipped. It's beautifully quiet there - but if you want some music then look through the old record collection. THE one to play on the old radiogram is Louis Armstrong's St James Infirmary :) Village Post Office & store is good with a very friendly atmosphere. Nearby Glastonbury town is a mad mixture. The gift shops (and even the charity shops) are way overpriced but it's fun to look in the windows. We found a nice veggie lunch there and enjoyed the Abby ruins & grounds enormously - with the added bonus of a sculpture trail in the (huge) old orchard. Great little cottage but would be snug for a family of four if children were older.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing