We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and friendly staff”
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Agios Nikitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good hotel for 3 star acommodation; close to sea, restaurants.
Rooms cleaned daily, staff very helpful and hotel has good food. Swimming pool big and clean, but being in such nice place I would prefer to be in the beach. Would recommend to hire a car as buses do not go very often...In local tavernas there is plenty of greek specialities, not very expensive and you do not have to wait long for food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izabeastbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Santa Marina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are in our last night at the hotel and leaving early. For such a beautiful location and good-enough facilities (shower curtain aside) the real let down is the service.

1. Reception is often unattended with no means of finding someone. On arrival this was the case and we had to go searching through the hotel (and distinguish between guests and employees) to check in. This became a pattern throughout our stay and it seems the only way get any employee into the lobby is to stand at the desk and call the hotels number.

2. Service is rude. We fell ill on one of the nights and sought out management for further toiletries. We had to justify why we needed extra rolls and again management did not seem happy about our request. At one stage my girlfriend was holding the door open for another person only to be told by management that she should get out of the way. We are native speakers and nothing was lost in translation. Very rude.

3. Be careful about card reservations. Where some booking sites do allow the hotel to reserve the right to charge the card in full on booking, it is more commonly used simply as a security measure. Hotels which do charge cards in full in this way tend to make it much more obvious to consumers. It would be more conscionable to make this more obvious.

4. Beds are quite uncomfortable. Feeling individual springs in your back or chest is not ideal.

5. In our room the air conditioner is angled directly at your head when sleeping. This makes it tricky to sleep with at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pgvas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we booked this hotel we were worried because some bad reviews. It is no reason to worry, it's a great place to stay.
Do not expect to find luxury, this is a village in Greece not some big resort. It is cozy though, very clean, daily maintained. The swimming pool is large enough so you can catch your breath after a busy day, many sunbeds and a pool bar.
Te view is Spectacular, looming over the village and the bay of Agios Nikitas and surrounded by steep hills covered in pine and olive trees. Try to get a room with sea view, one with pool view will be OK too.
We had breakfast and dinner included. Not bad, not good, just more than enough in quantity, varied enough so you don't get bored. A piece of advice: try to leave some room for the greek specialties that you can find in the village tavernas.
At last but not at least, I want to thank again to all the people that made our stay as enjoyable as it could be. If I asked for a room changed it was done as soon as one was available. If we needed a ride to Pefkoulia beach, mr. Stefanos (the manager) was there to support us and even to drive us back when we wanted to return to hotel.
The only downside was the 300m. long and steep slope that you have to climb up/down everytime you go anywhere. Without a car you will come to hate that slope by the end end of your stay, but you will better not go in Lefkada without a car (or renting one) in the first place, since most beautiful places are easily reachable by car but difficult by foot. Public transportation is a disaster, like 2 buses per day in peak season, at impossible hours and very "flexible" schdule. It is like a conspiracy to keep the car renting business alive and well :)

That being said, it is a very nice holiday, I wish you all a great time !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very close to the beach with gorgeous blue water, and restorants and cafes near by. Whole island is amazing and this hotel is tipical island hotel with magnificent view on ionian sea. Food is pretty averige, but thats why you can eat in a lots of restourant that lefka offers you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent 5 wonderful days at Santa Marina on the beautiful island of Lefkada. The entire hotel was clean, including our room, with maid service everyday. The staff was great, polite, and helpful with anything we needed. The hotel is in a prime location, high on a mountain, overlooking the town and the beach, with breathtaking views. It also offered a great pool, which was fabulous for the kids. Many thanks to Stefanos (Manager) and the rest of the staff. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Well, we had a fantastic experience in the summer of 2011. You need to know why you are coming to Agios Nikitas. I am a serious beach bum, and I have nowhere seen better beaches than on Lefkada's west coast. Nidri has all the conveniences, but it is far from good beaches and you *will* be swamped by tens of thousands of others who want their conveniences. Agios Nikitas is a different world, sort of the last post before you hit the sparsely inhabited west coast and its amazing, amazing beaches. And Santa Marina is perched on top of the village, a little out of the 100 meters of "downtown". So you're kinda running away from it all, and then a little more. The geography of the place, we thought, was second to none.

We specifically asked for a room with a sea view, and we were extremely happy with what we got. Not every room will have a breathtaking view (they do have some package groups too), but you can always deal with the hotel directly when you're making the reservation and ask for whatever is important for you - I'm sure they'll be honest and you'll get what they promise. There is al fresco breakfast (which was included for us) and dinner. The dinner was extra, but it was at an extremely reasonable rate and a very good value for the occasional night that you don't feel like going out. The room was within expectations for Greece. This is not a luxury hotel - remember you're supposed to be here for the beaches - but everything was clean, tasteful, and functional, and the room service was impeccable. The staff were also very helpful and accommodating. We arrived very late after a long drive and they served us a nice cold beer by candlelight even though it was past their hours. It was just a standard Mythos but, by God, we *so* needed that beer and the staff understood it. The hotel is close to mediterranean forest, and the outside dining has great views of the sea, landscapes, forest, and the village. There is free wireless internet in the reception area.

I can believe that not everyone had as great of an experience as we did, but I really can't think of anything that went seriously wrong during our two weeks. I've been to Greece four times, of which twice to Lefkada, and this place wins hands down.

Once you're there... Take a quick boat ride around the cape to the Mylos beach. Go to Porto Katsiki and to Egremni (with its 300 steps to climb). Go for the lamb chops under the huge plane trees in Karya. Go for the fish at the Zolythros in Mykros Gialos. Taste the thyme honey in Dragano and Athani. See the sunset at Cape Lefkas. Go for a small boat tour of nearby islands (not the big "cruises" with millions of others). Go for a sunset dinner at a nearby cliff-top Panorama restaurant with a breathtaking view (10 minutes drive south). Eat a lot of Greek food. Also, don't forget to rent a car. The best stuff is totally not reachable without one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Joe_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

the most terrible hotel ever!!!! disgusting bathroom!! unpolite service! value or money? bad bad bad!!! i ve been in 7 greek islands, this was the most terrible staying.the mattress was painful. although the island was very beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank angiepallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikitas
4.8 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#14 of 76 in Lefkada
121 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.3 mi away
Hotel Odyssey
Hotel Odyssey
#3 of 5 in Agios Nikitas
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Politia Hotel
Politia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Agios Nikitas
70 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Konaki
Hotel Konaki
#4 of 7 in Lygia
125 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ionion Star Hotel
Ionion Star Hotel
#34 of 76 in Lefkada
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Address: Agios Nikitas 310 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Agios Nikitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Agios Nikitas
Price Range: $57 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Hotel Lefkada/Agios Nikitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing