We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place for a top meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chatto Creek Tavern
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Lesley is a marvellous lady with a great community spirit who deserves her recent award for top country hotel. The meals are the best around and it is great now to be able to enjoy these meals in the new dining room. Second time here and once again we were treated well. Great stop off while cycling the Otago Rail Trail

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Owner at Chatto Creek Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Look forward to your next visit , thank you for your kind review - Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Quick stop over
Wish we had planned to have lunch here but had eaten prior.

Interesting historic building with friendly staff. Disappointed we didn't try the white bait fritters.

Loved the furnishings, stories and cute donkeys outside.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Owner at Chatto Creek Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We will have the whitebait ready and waiting for your next visit - Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped on our bikes on the Otago Rail Trail between Alexandra and Omakau at this lovely little tavern in Chatto Creek. It's right on the trail and has plenty of space to park your bike. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, and the food was fantastic. Would recommend without any hesitation.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our group of four, arriving by bicycle from Clyde loved staying at Chatto Creek. Lesley was hospitable and warm with a witty and dry sense of humour! Her country pub staff were lovely to us tired cyclists, fast, friendly and efficient! The ambience was great and the dinner meal was spectacular. A lovely, quaint and rustic country hotel - complete with a singing fish! We want to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJCW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I spend a relaxing hour having lunch at the tavern before starting the climb up the hill on the rail trail. The surroundings are a tranquil setting and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The food is great value, very tasty and they serve very generous portions.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MutmogMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a wonderful family dinner thanks to Lesley Middlemass and her super friendly team, Our waitress was the best and a shame leaving customer service to teach at a High School. My 90 year old Dad and 13 year old daughter both ordered the Stewart Island blue cod and claimed it was just delicious. My brother in law had whitebait, nephew had a shank, Niece had the chicken, and I had a vege risotto. All the meals were massive, fresh and presented beautifully. We enjoyed our evening very much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme and Jenn... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was a welcome stop for lunch on our Otago rail trail trip. The gardens and grounds were lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. I thought the food prices were a bit high and limited options but the staff were willing to accommodate us with a sandwich. This was really appreciated by us. Had a nice cold beer and rest before continuing our journey. Great place to stop and look around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishdNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chatto Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatto Creek Tavern

Address: Sh85, Chatto Creek, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Chatto Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chatto Creek
Price Range: $82 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chatto Creek Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing