We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Cod Cooked Better Than In Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chatto Creek Tavern
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Cod Cooked Better Than In Melbourne”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

On a recent visit home from Melbourne, to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversary we went to our favourite pub for a meal. We all ahd the blue cod cooked better than I have had in the top fish restaurants in Melbourne. The portions were generous with small, medium and large servings available. Lesley complemented the great food with great kiwi friendliness and helpfulness. Nothing was too much trouble. She even came up with a bottle of the Roaring Meg Sauvignon Blanc that I had enjoed a glass of during the meal.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Another memorable publican along the trail. Fantastic food and really great atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for Leslie.

It is always wonderful to know the locals eat at the place you have dinner at! We were a group of 7 and had a wide selection of the food on offer and it was all exceptional restaurant quality. There was a selection of choices so you could have a main meal for $15 up to $30. Desserts were huge and wonderful from about $6. Even if you don’t stay at the Tavern have dinner here. The local wine is expensive but they have a huge selection of more reasonably priced non local wine $15 for a bottle of bubbly. Breakfast was pretty good but there was nothing hot. Mind you we probably didn’t need any more food at all so the wide selection was more than adequate.

Our room, inside the hotel, was basic but warm and the bed comfortable. The bathroom is a walk down the hallway. The bunk room, out the back, was a bit more basic and required a short walk across a paved area (outside) to get to the bathroom.

I have given it a 4. The room was a three but the food, atmosphere and service was a 4/5.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieastrogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greytown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Lesley epitomises the friendliness and hospitality of a Central Otago publican. Great food, comfy bed and caring nature.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Vicki_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This place is an old historical pub which has been preserved but upgraded to now include a restaurant and also accomodation.
It is right beside the Central Otago Rail Trail and has an area to store bikes plus an outdoor dining/picnic area if you prefer.
It offers double rooms within the tavern itself plus a backpacker dormitory out the back.
We stayed in the backpacker dorm which at NZ$25 each was good value as the beds were comfy and it was nice and warm.
It also has a little lounge within it and tea & coffee facilities.
Continental breakfast at NZ$10 each is served in the morning which consists of cereal,toast etc and is more than enough.
Meals in the restaurant are huge and they serve all the normal kiwi favourites such as steak & chips,fish & chips plus many more.
Probably the making of this place though is the owner Lesley who will go out of her way to make your stay special with her generous hospitality and story telling.
So whether overnighting or just stopping for a meal give it a go as its a pretty good place.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatto Creek
10.0 mi away
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatto Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatto Creek Tavern

Property: Chatto Creek Tavern
Address: SH85, Chatto Creek, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Chatto Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chatto Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chatto Creek Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing