We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best English Country House Hotel”
Review of Hambleton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hambleton Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hambleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Over the last few years we have stayed at HH, normally to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have also returned with friends because this is the most wonderful place to relax. The food is quite simply superb, accompanied by the amazing wine selection (particularly the tasting option) all presented with warmth and enthusiasm. The rooms are all beautiful and individually designed by Mrs Hart. We have stayed at hotels charging considerably more and have always been disappointed. During the summer months you can also enjoy the discrete outdoor pool, overlooking Rutland Water and wonderful service for refreshments.
HH is the pinnacle of English Country House Hotels and long may it prosper!

Room Tip: All amazing, down to personal taste, so ask and you will be told about the room most suited to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 605 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have over the years spent a number of New Years eve at Hambleton Hall and have never been let down.
It has a classic, English country house appeal that has been carefully nurtured over 30 years by Tim Hart and his long established team. The service levels are generally impeccable, always carried out in a quiet, efficient manner.
The rooms , both public and bedrooms are tastefully decorated, maintained in superb condition and spotlessly clean.They are traditional, but up to date, with warm colour schemes and many thoughtful additions. In the public rooms the fires are constantly roaring away and the bar is a perfect haven to snuggle down in on a dreak day!
The highlight of any stay is the restaurant and the beautifully presented and very appetising food of the chef Aaron Patterson.
It is not a cheap hotel but is excellent value for the accommodation, food and service levels you receive in the traditional English style but without any stuffiness. Ideal for a special occasion.
One of our top 3 hotels in the UK to stay at.

Room Tip: Lake views in summer; in winter dark nights do not give full benefit of the wonderful vistas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdavidb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Sit in the library, fine port after dinner, you will feel like royalty. Fantastic rooms, wonderful dining room, all the mostly undiscovered country in Rutland to embrace. Little known and a gem of a UK
holiday spot - don't let too many people find it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Lovely location, great friendly service, comfortable room, brilliant scenery and walking, but unfortunately let down by average food. We choose Hambleton Hall based on the Michelin star but the tasting menu we had was merely good.....not the wow we have come to expect from such an awarded kitchen.

In addition the early courses of the dinner service were rushed and we were gulping down our special matched wine before the next course arrived. Food was dissappointing. The wine was well matched but the speed of service made it a frustrating experience.

Breakfast was nothing special either. Based on the other comments we can only guess we got the kitchen on a bad night. It happens to everyone but we hope that our experience was not the norm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avrilmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is our third time here for lunch - the previous two times were excellent but somehow even better this time. Downton abbey service, exquisite food, beautiful building and stunning views. It does not get any better and thank you to my husband and friends for joining me to make it very special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWildCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The food at Hambleton Hall last night was superb. We have been visiting for many years but I think that the cooking last night was some of the the best ever. The mushroom soup with consommé was just out of the world and the rest of the tasting menu was excellent.

There were three of us and we stayed in the croquet pavilion which is spacious and airy.

One of the beauties of Hambleton is it's setting on Rutland Water. This morning we walked a slightly short variety of the Hambleton Loop, about six miles. We never tire of this walk, it is just so beautiful.

This is a hotel where you are really made to feel special and the food is amazing.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank SJPape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

There's one thing wrong with a stay at Hambleton Hall, an extremely comfortable and welcoming country house hotel overlooking Rutland Water, and it is this: eventually you have to leave!

Country house hotels can vary enormously, but Hambleton Hall ticks all the right boxes. A warm welcome, attentive staff, gloriously comfortable bedrooms and public rooms furnished with fine antiques. And a fantastic reputation as a fine dining destination too. No wonder guests return again and again.

OK, it is not cheap. But you get an awful lot of hotel for your money. And if want to spend a few days feeling like a country gent, this is the place to do it. In fact, some visitors may feel that the only thing missing from Hambledon Hall is an in-house Labrador for taking on long walks around the beautifully scenic reservoir that is Rutland Water.

A slightly different stroll will take you the Hambleton Bakery, which makes fresh bread for the hotel three times a day. They had to set it up, because the home-baked bread at the hotel was so popular. Now the people of Rutland - England's smallest county - flock to the bakery every day to stock up their larders.

If you are looking for a comfortable hideaway hotel where you will be well look after, Hambleton Hall ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view across the gardens to Rutland Water. Peace personified!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinmeadtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hambleton
1.1 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
328 reviews
8 mi away
The George Of Stamford
4.6 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambleton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambleton Hall

Address: Ketton Road, Hambleton LE15 8TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Hambleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hambleton
Price Range: $274 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hambleton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hambleton Hall is one of Britain’s finest country house hotels. The lakeside setting is spectacular and only some two and a half hours north of central London (England). The Michelin starred restaurant is a haven for gourmets, Aaron Patterson, head chef, specialises in top seasonal ingredients to create modern British cuisine, with an award winning wine list full of delicious bottles. Each bedroom has been individually designed and decorated to combine comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hambleton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hambleton Hall Hotel Hambleton
Hall Hotel Hambleton
Hambleton Hall Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing