We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a one-night break with good service, good food, good sleep.”
Review of Hambleton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hambleton Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hambleton
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Ideal for a one-night break with good service, good food, good sleep.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at Hambleton Hall on a dinner, bed and breakfast package.

Service: There was a problem with our booking (not the hotel's fault at all) and the way they handled it was exemplary. Would rather not go into details but clearly they put the customer first at all times.

Location: Our first time to Rutland Water and unfortunately we didn't have time to explore much but the grounds, reservoir and surrounding area looked lovely and is certainly very popular for walkers and cyclists on week-ends.

Arrival: A very quick and smooth check-in process and a lovely chap that helped with our bags.

Room: We were in the Cherry room, which has traditional (slightly chintzy) decor but not overwhelming and not unpleasant, although my preference is for more modern. The room is not particularly spacious but the bed is large and comfortable with very good linens. We slept very well. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious with twin basins a bath and a good shower over the bath. My only complaint is that the bathroom door - pretty with it's coloured glass as it is - is somewhat impractical as when one of you has the bathroom light on it floods the bedroom with light as well - not ideal.

Bar: We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar, which was pleasant with its open fire, but very small. There seemed to be another room for drinks as well, which was larger, but was full at the time we went down to dinner.

Dinner: We had the tasting menu with matched wines and felt that it was solid 1* Michelin quality throughout. All dishes were pleasant, portion sizes ideal for a tasting menu (very filling but not so much that you couldn't manage it all) and service was professional although nothing special. The savoury ice-cream theme is is too abundant, however, and becomes a bit boring or annoying depending on your point of view. I was amused by the 'meat fruit' (Heston rip-off) on one of the dishes, but it was a poor imitation, having had the original at 'Dinner' recently.

Breakfast: Excellent full English with everything you'd expect and great quality ingredients. Proper tea with strainer (I'm old fashioned with tea, love it!). Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyPurples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    60
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
79
349
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was fortunate enough to spend the night at this wonderful hotel for a wine tasting event and have to say the experience was exceptional. The hosts Tim and Stefa Harte were delightful and the team around them were first class. It's a rare pleasure to experience food and service at this level. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I ate there with my wife in August for her birthday and found both the service and food exceptlary. It was a tad expensive mind at £220 for 3 courses, pre-dinner cocktails (only downside of the experience) and post dinner brandy. I can't fault it. Worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIrishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel already gets great reviews, but if you splash out and book the Pavilion, it takes the experience to another level. Terrific two bedroom house in the grounds with high ceilings and open fire with stacks of logs. You can even take meals in the Pavilion if you want to be completely decadent. Had to tear ourselves away....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Went there for my 30th birthday weekend, and it was great. Great location, with beautiful trails to walk the dogs around Rutland water. Yes our 2 dogs were allowed and stayed in our room, which was lovely. The lake view room was lovely, cozy, great view, elegant bathroom, top end tv, free wifi etc..the staff were friendly and very accommodating, always offering to help. The room service for afternoon tea was great and well priced.

The restaurant was fantastic. What you would expect from Michelin starred premise. 3 courses and a cheese course was exceptional. Quiet, romantic, silver service etc..The wines obviously aren't going to be cheap but the sommelier will help you pick, and you can have them pick a wine for each course. Kay one of the waitresses was very informative regarding the cheese selection. Overall the meal for around £100 a head (£40 bottle wine) I thought was good value for the level of service and quality.

Breakfast was cooked to order and provided most things you wanted. Not a hot buffet so you cant eat large portions of the cooked items but enough to satisfy and there was unlimited drinks, cereals fruits breads etc...and the breads, definitely award winning in taste to match.

free in room tea and coffee would be nice, but what they bring you for a small fee to the room is better. Would recommend. Not cheap for over £300 per night excl the restaurant.....but well worth it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pughio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We hve been dining here as a family for 15 years and love it every time, my dads favourite place to go and mine too! Always have amazing dishes and something different, beautiful location and setting, really good around May time or at Christmas, as it adds to the exspeiance for lunch. Cannot fault the place, love it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Spent the new year at Hambleton,it was wonderful.Beautiful room with breathta king views,delightful and solicitous staff and outstanding food.We can't wait to go again.We took our Labrador and were recommended two excellent walks round Rutland Water which helped us walk off the calories

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hambleton
1.1 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
940 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambleton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambleton Hall

Property: Hambleton Hall
Address: Ketton Road, Hambleton LE15 8TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Hambleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hambleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hambleton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hambleton Hall is one of Britain’s finest country house hotels. The lakeside setting is spectacular and only some two and a half hours north of central London (England). The Michelin starred restaurant is a haven for gourmets, Aaron Patterson, head chef, specialises in top seasonal ingredients to create modern British cuisine, with an award winning wine list full of delicious bottles. Each bedroom has been individually designed and decorated to combine comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hambleton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hambleton Hall Hotel Hambleton
Hall Hotel Hambleton
Hambleton Hall Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing