We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic visit”
Review of Hambleton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hambleton Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hambleton
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Another fantastic visit”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have lost count how many times we have visited Hambleton Hall.
Last week we decided to push the boat out and stay the night as well as dine in the restaurant.
You are treated like royalty, nothing is too much trouble, the staff are there to please you to support what has to be some of the best food in the country matched with fabulous wines and surroundings. The new menus really do work well.
Did we really have to check out!!!
We will definatley be back soon.
Many thanks to all at Hambleton Hall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    60
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
80
357
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband & I had lunch here to celebrate his birthday. We had the 6 course taster menu, which was fantastic. The quality, taste & presentation of the food was outstanding, & the service excellent. The staff are polite, obliging & friendly. The inside is nicely decorated & the grounds well-kept with lovely views across the lake. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arty36_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have dined at many up market places but this has to be one of the best. We were greeted the moment we walked through the door and our coats were taken from us. We were never kept waiting for anything the staff were so attentive nothing was to much trouble. The food was amazing in quality and presentation. The lunch for less menu was outstanding value for money. We even had Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the tray of chocolates we had with our coffee. If you are reading this review you must give "Hambleton Hall a try You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I'm 58 and have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the World.
I've just had probably the nicest food that I've ever eaten. A truly incredible tour de force of gastronomy. Beautiful to look at and even better combinations of subtle flavours. How can sauces be this good !
The waiting staff were attentive but not intrusive. Very close attention to detail to compliment the perfect food and wine.
I asked the head sommelier for a glass of wine to compliment the meal and his choice was excellent.
My tip is that even if you know your wines, you should ask and take his advice. He must trully work as a team with the Chef in order to achieve such harmony.
I have nothing but praise for this jewel. A long drive from the West Country for me but well worth a very long journey !

Room Tip: Go for a good walk before and after as you will want to eat too much !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmet190770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

happened upon this lovely place by accident, en route to Stamford. The bar area was very busy but the manager managed to find us a table very quickly. The sharing platters were super but could have been better explained by the young lady who served us. Nevertheless, we had no complaints at all and would definitely recommend. We liked the fact that the walkers with their muddy boots either left them at the door or took them off and put them under their respective tables - thus keeping the interior clean and tidy. What a pity other hosteleries don't follow this example. Drop in after your walk around Rutland Water - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed at Hambleton Hall on several occasions over the last few years.

During the last three visits we have occupied the cottage in the grounds known as the Crocquet Pavilion.

This suits us very well as our party of five includes my 5 year old granddaughter, oh and of course the dog making 6!

We stayed last weekend and were extremely impressed once again with the quality of the food, the service with the highest level of hygiene and cleanliness in the rooms and bathrooms.

It is not an inexpensive experience staying at Hambleton Hall but taking into account the enjoyment level of being tucked away in such a lovely place which one cannot fault, it is most definitiely worth it.

The two bedroom cottage is completely equipped with a separate kitchen and lounge with a lovely log fire and the log basket is kept toped up so you never run out of fuel!

We made the short walk to the hotel for dinner and breakfast both days although we could have dined in the cottage had we so wished.

The hotel is so welcoming and the motto above the front door is very apt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 57CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had always hoped that we might one day enjoy this lovely hotel and last week we had a 'lunch for less'. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and with our coats taken we were escorted into the drawing room where a roaring log fire greeted us, we sat in a rather luxurious sofa and enjoyed canapes and a glass of wine before being sat in a window seat overlooking the garden. The food was very well presented, well prepared and exceedingly good. Our chocolates and coffee were served in the drawing room while we sat in armchairs before the fire. Nothing was too much trouble with the staff being attentive but not intrusive. After a wander round the garden which was lovely in all its autumnal colours we departed having as the saying goes, lived the dream! Thanks to the Chef's for signing our menu!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MallinTilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hambleton
1.1 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
876 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambleton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambleton Hall

Property: Hambleton Hall
Address: Ketton Road, Hambleton LE15 8TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Hambleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hambleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hambleton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hambleton Hall is one of Britain’s finest country house hotels. The lakeside setting is spectacular and only some two and a half hours north of central London (England). The Michelin starred restaurant is a haven for gourmets, Aaron Patterson, head chef, specialises in top seasonal ingredients to create modern British cuisine, with an award winning wine list full of delicious bottles. Each bedroom has been individually designed and decorated to combine comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hambleton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hambleton Hall Hotel Hambleton
Hall Hotel Hambleton
Hambleton Hall Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing