We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Spledor”
Review of Hambleton Hall

Hambleton Hall
Reserve with OpenTable
Hambleton Hall is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hambleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $96
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hambleton Hall is one of Britain's finest country house hotels. The lakeside setting is spectacular and only some two and a half hours north of central London (England). The Michelin starred restaurant is a haven for gourmets, Aaron Patterson, head chef, specialises in top seasonal ingredients to create modern British cuisine, with an award winning wine list full of delicious bottles. Each bedroom has been individually designed and decorated to combine comfort and style.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Luxury and Spledor”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The accommodation and reception areas are grand and tastefully period decorated. Food, wine and service second to none

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug pullen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    33
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great meal - a real treat”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We took our vegetarian friend here for his 40th birthday. We had eaten here once before and loved it. We did the set lunch option on a Saturday. There was no veggie option on the menu but I emailed them before and they said they would give a choice once we were there. We had a superb meal. We have eaten at 1* 2* and 3* Michelin star restaurants. This restaurant hits very near the 2* and even 3* level. Our friends had a great time and thought that the meal was very memorable. The service was attentive but not stuffy and the surroundings are relaxing but grand. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a treat. The lunch menu is very reasonable and the cheapest bottle of wine is around £20 so again reasonable for a place like this. Go go go!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Engalndholidaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect birthday lunch!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A family birthday celebration that includes a 14 month old little boy would challenge any restaurant but you would think that Hambleton did it every day. Just perfect in every way. Little Max was treated like a king, the food was out of this world and the birthday girl, my wife, had a wonderful and memorable day. I cannot recommend Hambleton more highly; the care they take, the attention to detail and the sublime menu make it a joy to visit. Don't hesitate!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moissac, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Staff training please.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We made a 1 hour journey to this place. ,When we arrived we were told only bookings for lunch , we had not booked .The young french receptionist was very pleasant and we wandered around the public rooms to get the feel of the place. We then returned to the front desk to ask for a brochure .The older lady who then came to answer our inquires was brusque and I thought off hand. We have stayed over the years at some of the best establishments in the world and I don't think I have ever been dismissed so openly. We came away laughing, as I gather she did not own the place and certainly in need of a charm school.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inspector_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfection from start to finish..”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My Wife and I were treated to Dinner last night at Hambleton Hall by some very good friends!..from the moment we arrived at 8 till when we left at almost midnight, we were treated like royalty..the bar staff were polite and helpful, the sommelier sympathetic to our ignorance and the restautant staff engaging and informative. The food was simply fantastic, (we ate off the a la carte menu) and the wine a well priced, but lovely red. The Hall itself and it's surroundings, just added to a special night..You can't help but recommend Hambleton Hall and the wife has taken the accommodation prices home !!. We hope to return very soon..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dizzydisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hambleton Hall also viewed

 
Hambleton, Leicestershire
 

Been to Hambleton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing