We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay just as wonderful as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our second stay just as wonderful as the first!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was our second time staying at Bocas del Mar as part of our Fishing vacation with the unbeatable team at Come Fish Panama.This hotel is top rate, and leaves you wanting nothing more. It is peaceful, and set up perfectly among beautiful landscaping and surrounded by water all around. The staff is always offering help, and asking if you need anything anytime they see you. In both years we've vacationed here, everyone from owner, to managers, to wait staff, to cleaning staff go above and beyond to ensure their customers comfort, and happiness. The food at the restraunt was wonderful, and my husband and I will look forward to seeing the special people at Bocas del Mar again next year, and enjoying all they have to offer when we fish again with Come Fish Panama.

Room Tip: Both times we stayed we had different rooms and they all are wonderful. Windows all face the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcbnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your gracious review!

The Bocas del Mar team really enjoyed having you back this year and we looking forward to welcoming you next year already!

We all appreciate your support and lovely words. We always try our best to bring the freshest local products to our kitchen and hopefully next time you can try the vegetables that we are growing in our new kitchen garden!

Best wishes,

The Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
124
274
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Really a slice of paradise. Rooms are beautiful clean and well appointed, grounds are gorgeous , staff very friendly and helpful. views are spectacular. we had a great time here. we took the snorkel excursion, which was well worth it, and had a great time. the other beaches around aren't as pretty, but we had fun anyway, and enjoyed swimming and seeing monkeys. There is not much to do in the area other than take a water taxi to local beaches, and you are pretty isolated..so you're basically eating at their restaurant--that's all there is. But the food was good, and varied, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Really felt like we had discovered a gem, and we really loved our time there. Alberto and Laura were very good to us. Would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: if you have kids with you, the family room is great. separate bunk bed room for the kids, king size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Gracias & Gracias! Your review is wonderful, and we do really appreciate the time that you took to write it for us & other TripAdvisor users.

We always try to keep the gardens and grounds spotless, and we have a nice team of gardeners taking care of it. Likewise, the housekeeping team would like to thank you for your gracious comments about the cleanliness of the room. It is our priority to offer our guests a comfortable stay and it all starts with having your room fresh and well-presented every day.

As we are the gateway to the Gulf of Chiriquí, we do recommend to all our guests to go out and explore the beautiful nearby islands. We are close to mangroves that you can explore too by kayak, getting involved with nature and spotting pretty birds or walking through the nearest island of Boca Brava to see the howler monkeys and explore their beaches.

At the same time we would like to thank you for your kind words about the restaurant and the food. We have an extensive range of fresh products, starting with the fish dishes, specials of the day, pasta and seafood, and of course tender and tasty steaks with best Panamanian beef!

All the Bocas del Mar team are pleased that you had a good stay with us and, from our little piece of Paradise, we send you our best wishes.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks in Panama, and our stay at Bocas del Mar definitely was a highlight. What a beautiful place and friendly staff. We had an apartment a bit higher on the hill which I can recommend as you have great views there. It's only a short walk to the restaurant even from there, and you have a second pool which is more private and from where you can enjoy those great views. We travelled with our 2 young kids age 3 and 5 who had a blast as well. The Belgian owners are very friendly and helpful, so is the Spanish couple who is managing the place. The Panamanian staff is also very nice and all speak English. The food in the restaurant is very good, we enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners every day. There are not really any towns in the neighbourhood to visit, but you have the 'Golfo de Chiriqui' national park in front of you in the ocean to visit. We joined the hotel's 'island discovery' tour which is a must-do (either with the hotel or with a local taxi boat). It's maybe not so cheap to stay here, but I would recommend anyone to go for it even only for a night or 2. You will love it too, I'm sure.

Room Tip: I would go for a room higher up on the hill, unless you really can't walk much. It's only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsBassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Such a nice review! Everyone appreciates your comments. We work hard to meet all our guest expectations and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family.

Going out with our boat is one of the main attractions in our region. In our Discovery trip we offer you the possibility of getting involved with nature and to visit the fabulous white sandy beach islands on the Pacific Ocean plus soon from mid July onwards whale watching in uncrowded waters when the season starts). It’s also fun for the kids to go out by boat, spot colorful fish, and spend the day being active.

Many thanks for your kind words,

Hope to see you soon,

The Bocas del Mar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

If you are into great views, peace, great room with little to actually DO, this is a great place. No place to really walk around much and no actual beach or swimming except a lovely pool. The rooms are excellent with very quiet AC and good beds. The owner is super. The down sides are that the restaurant staff are really spacey, and don't remember your orders very well. You need to take a boat to go to lovely beaches with swimming. The food is good and reasonably priced with excellent fresh fish. I totally recommend the mojitos. There aren't really any other restaurants to go to anywhere close by. We stopped I the town before and took beer and snacks....a good plan. We had room 1 right by the pool and liked being only steps from swimming as it was hot and the pool was refreshing. Take extra books, almost all TV channels are in Spanish.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JTinSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us a spectacular 5 star review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and our exciting Discovery trip.

We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the cocktails in our restaurant bar. Mojito, Pina Colada, Coco Loco etc. are made with fresh tropical fruits and we even grow our own mint plants and lemons trees, so we would like to thank you for your comments.

We have satellite TV in both Spanish and English in all our rooms, with lots of sport, movies and news channels. Some channels even allow you to change between English & Spanish commentaries & soundtracks.

Fish at the restaurant is an unforgettable experience - fresh and well presented with a special and different garnish every day. We are very glad that you enjoyed dining with us.

Muchas gracias from Panama!

Kind regards from all our Bocas del Mar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Bocas del Mar for five nights in late March/early April 2014. This was our first time staying at a boutique hotel and we LOVED it. It had all the beauty and service of a large resort, but the exclusivity of being on a property with only 11 rooms simply cannot be beaten.

We arrived late and were courteously greeted by the hotel manager, Lara. Check in was simple and quick. The rooms here are FABULOUS. Large and spacious bedroom and bathrooms with plenty of amenities. We stayed in room 1 which we loved. We had a stunning view of the bay and were within a few second walk to the pool and restaurant/bar.

The staff here is very friendly and very professional. The open air restaurant/bar is perfectly positioned to give you a beautiful view of the water and surrounding islands. The food and service was reminiscent of the 5 star restaurants we have at home in Southern California. We tried every single appetizer on the menu and all were superb. The specialty drinks were made with great care and were absolutely delightful (the mojito and pina colada are a must have). The prices were very reasonable. All the entrees were prepared beautifully and cooked to perfection (be sure to try the fish of the day as it is caught locally as well as the beef).

If you are looking for tranquility, it doesn't get any better than Bocas del Mar. It felt like you were a million miles away from anything. It's a bit of an adventure to get here, so be sure you arrange for proper transportation. I guarantee you that it is worth the trip to get to this secluded and peaceful piece of heaven.

One of our favorite parts was sunset and sunrise. Not only are they gorgeous, but you hear the hundreds (maybe thousands?) of howler monkeys from an island across the bay, along with hundreds (again, maybe thousands?) of awesome birds. Both my husband and I were surprised at the lack of bugs. For such a tropical and untouched part of the world, the bugs were not an issue whatsoever.

We had to leave very early on our last day to catch our flight (way earlier than breakfast), and the staff was very kind and had breakfast prepared and sent to our room the evening before. We kept it in our fridge in the room.

Please do yourself a favor and stay here. You will not be disappointed!

To Bocas del Mar - please thank Christian for all his hospitality! Your entire staff were warm and hospitable, but Christian went above and beyond!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Many thanks!! Sunrise and sunset are amazing from our guest rooms, restaurant and swimming pools. The atmosphere is unique. We appreciate you taking the time to write about it.

As you said, this is a secluded hotel and we offer a perfect place to relax and disconnect from noisy cities and get involved with nature, see the birds, hear the howler monkeys... we are grateful for your comments.

The restaurant food is selected and created with the goal of satisfying all our guest requirements. The fish and seafood come straight from the Pacific Ocean fishermen who live in the nearby villages and provide fresh and tasty experiences experiences. We highly recommend trying the Chef’s daily special. We also think that a dining experience is only unforgettable with good service; that’s why we care as much as possible about this aspect. All our staff were really happy to read your comments, especially Cristhian, who sends his regards.

One more time, many thanks and hope to see you soon in Paradise!

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile



We had such an excellent stay, it was hard to leave!
From the booking process on, we were treated very well and this resort went above our expectations. We really felt like welcomed guests and were very happy with stay.
We could not image what to expect at the end of our long, bumpy drive on the not so perfect Panamanian roads. But we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful location and by what we found in this resort.
This is a newer place, with a comfortable, private feeling layout. Once all the plants and trees grow a bit more, it will be quite lush! But as it is, the gardens & grounds are already very pretty.
The cleverly designed bungalows all face the water & have lovely views. Inside the they are clean, spacious & well appointed. The windows are tinted and seem to help keep the rooms more private & cooler. The AC is great on hot afternoons but we enjoyed sleeping at night with the windows open (all screened) with the ceiling fan on. For those that like to sleep late, there are floor to ceiling black-out curtains. Our room had a television, a mini bar, a huge closet, a tub & a shower, a sitting area, a writing desk as well as an out-door patio with table & chairs. The king sized bed was amazingly comfortable as were the pillows and we slept very well.
Breakfast was included with the price of our room and was always delicious & plentiful. Coffee, tea, toast with jam, fruit juice and eggs cooked to order. In fact, this restaurant was one of the best we experienced on our entire month long stay in Panama! There was a good variety to choose from and food & staff were always excellent, especially Diana & Carlos.
There is a young Spanish couple Lara & Alberto managing & care-taking in the owners absence and they were always very attentive & super helpful. They came around at meal times to mingle and to make sure that all was going well with everyone's stay.
We did go on the sunset, bird watching, evening boat ride (which was wow beautiful) as well as the discovery snorkeling tour which was also very nice. The boat divers are very knowledgable & accommodating.
There are spa services available and I had an in room mani-pedi which wasn't my favorite, but I hear her massages are excellent and will definitely try one next time.
The pools were great, always clean & refreshing. A perfect area to relax to take sun or to sit under one of the huge umbrellas to read a good book or have a nap.
They are making a mini golf back behind the parking lot, which is kinda funny, but hey, we're game, next time we'll do that too.

We highly recommend this place and would return in a heartbeat. Thank you Hotel Bocas Del Mar staff for making our stay so perfect.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Gattina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Wow!! Such a nice review! Many thanks for all your pleasant words, and for taking the time to review all aspects of the hotel.

The restaurant is a great experience and it’s at the heart of our hotel, so we always try to bring the best products, staff and smiles to your table. We are really happy to read that it was one of the best dining experiences during your holidays in Panama.

The sunset trip is a refreshing, calm and romantic time through the mangroves. Perfect to relax, see the wild birds and enjoy a drink while the sky turns red and orange.

Our staff; everyone tries hard each day to give our guests the best service, opening our hearts and showing some of the famous Panamanian friendliness

Muchas gracias from all our team!!

Best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had the wonderful good fortune of staying at the Bocas Del Mar in April of 2014. Wow. Beautiful and unspoiled setting. Get here while it is still unspoiled and uncrowded. Getting here was, um, what we call in our family "an Adventure". We stopped at the entrance thinking that we had been taken. it looked like a failed and abandoned construction site. We turned in anyway. The 'road' into the resort is under construction, very very steep, single lane and gravel except for two strips of concrete intended and needed for traction, and to keep the gravel in place. Let me describe it this way, I would be unable to walk up or down either of the concrete paths, they are simply too steep. But OMG worth all the fear and trepidation I may have had on the drive in. We were only there for 48 hours of heaven. We had two lovely rooms. Beds were hard as hard gets. I LOVE hard beds, the DH HATES hard beds. So one of us slept great. Rooms have floor to ceiling windows that are mirrored outside so one cannot see in during the day. Kind of freaky taking a shower like this, but really no one can see in, but you do want to pull the curtains in the evening. We never wanted to leave. We did not have time to partake of the spa services, but we did take a fantastic boat ride to snorkel and and to have a picnic on 2 different beaches. 2 of our party have major sea sickness issues but the water here is really calm in the morning and there was, mercifully, no sea sickness. Staff was gracious, nice, kind, polite, and the closest we got to Panamanians. The resort is isolated. There is a tiny town of Boca Chica. I think there were two establishments there, bar/hotel, but I wasn't really paying attention. There were several large yachts moored in the bay.
The food was exquisite. Breakfast was a huge plate of fresh fruit cut up, toast, juice and coffee and that was delivered before we ordered. Dinners were outstanding, food and service. We had a "typical" Panamanian dish of beef with onions and sweet peppers. When I was told this dish is often also eaten for breakfast the next day, I could have had this for breakfast. It was soo good. My DS said the Belgian Waffle was the best dessert he has every had anywhere. This from a child who was on 6 continents before age 11.
Would I go back? Yes, in a heartbeat.
The view is pristine, breathtaking, relaxing and soul filling. We sat at the pool and read alot of books. We just did not have time to take the kayaks out for a spin in the bay. Would have been fantastic.
The weather is HOT and HUMID. But NO BUGS! this is from ME, the bug magnet.
Not handicap accessible or friendly. Steps everywhere and not expected or 'marked'. Sidewalks that are beautifully paved and have small stones artistically placed in the surface maybe great for physically able. This is Panama, it is not ADA or even thinking about it. The staff may be child friendly but the facilities are not. There is a very nice playground for children, not gated. There is a wonderful pool with a shallow depth area which falls off directly into the deep 5 foot, not gated. if you bring small children, you will be watching them like a hawk the entire time. The grounds overlook the bay and has very steep drop off to the sea. There is no beach! However there are fabulous beaches you can have all to yourself if you take a boat ride to the many islands outside the bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaM549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Many thanks for your great feedback! All our team are very happy to hear that you had a good stay.

Our little piece of paradise is still unspoiled and it offers the chance to have the most peaceful and relaxing vacation while enjoying some of the best views of the Gulf of Chiriqui. The Discovery trip in our boat is always fun and exciting and we are glad that you enjoyed visiting the islands.

The restaurant & verandah is a nice venue to enjoy the views while you are having breakfast and a beautiful place for the sunset while having an aperitif, cocktail or dinner. Chef is always willing to offer a good variety of fresh products, vegetables and tropical fruits, and we would like to thank you for taking the time to review it.

We are working hard on the main entrance at the moment. We will be offering a more accessible road to our hotel so we are currently finishing repairing it and it will be ready very soon! .

Gracias.

See you soon!!

The Hotel Bocas del Mar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
3.3 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
20.7 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
21.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Mar

Property: Hotel Bocas del Mar
Address: | Gulf of Chiriqui, Boca Chica, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bocas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bocas Del Mar, in Boca Chica, is a boutique hotel with modern, luxury features. In a privileged oceanside location on the mainland, it is perfectly positioned for a completely relaxing vacation. We were TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award Winners in 2016 for the Top Hotel for Service in Panama. Our focus is on quality customer service and attention to detail. We have 20 large contemporary-style guest bungalows that are set in tropical gardens right alongside the glistening blue water of the Gulf of Chiriqui. Open your drapes each morning and the Pacific Ocean is there to greet you! Choose from several room types; from our spacious king or queen bed bungalows through to the exceptional Premier Suite. There's a gourmet restaurant & bar on site and we have not one but TWO stunning infinity-style pools to bathe in. There is also a small beach, except at high tide, and we have our own dock to head to more local beaches via water taxi or excursion boat - we are opposite the beautiful islands of the Gulf of Chiriqui and have a full ocean and land trip program. Plus a massage studio (advance reservation required). Just 5 minutes by car or watertaxi from Boca Chica village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Del Mar Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing