We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing remote location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing remote location”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Bocas del Mar in late January of 2014. The resort is located on a bluff above the Pacific with great views of the off shore islands. Lovely grounds with many flowering plants and bananas. Rooms are large with firm but comfortable beds which allowed us to sleep soundly. The staff was very good and the new manager and Niel were very personable. No beach but there are 2 very nice pools. There are excursions to some of the islands that can be booked for extra charge where beaches can be visited. The dining area is open air with great views and the food was quite good. Bar prices were not out of line. The resort is very remote with nothing close as far as a town to visit. Lovely drive into and out of the area.

Room Tip: Not for someone seeking nightlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredcouple_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your gracious review. We’re pleased that we could provide you with a relaxing stay on your vacation and that you enjoyed the location so much.

Greetings from everyone at Hotel Bocas del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
125
274
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Visiting Bocas del Mar for a second time in 2014 was again a great experience. The hotel rooms, showers, and outdoor grounds are in immaculate conditions and the whole staff is working hard at pleasing all customers. Neal has excellent abilities in customer service and goes beyond what is expected of him. He was definitely one of the most valuable members of the team and I based this opinion when comparing my two visits to this hotel. His consistency, courtesy, respectfulness, and willingness to satisfy our needs in 2013 and 2014 are the principal reasons that I am giving five stars to the hotel. Of course, without the rest of the staff, our visit would have not been inclusive, but there is some refinement that needs to be addressed. Some of the staff who worked in the dining room and kitchen on our 2014 visit was new and under training…always approach the customer with a smile  I know that these minor details will vanish with the appropriate and consistent guidance to ensure a successful 2014. Thank you again for the great hospitality.

Room Tip: Coiba is a great room facing the Pacific Ocean. These rooms have air conditioning and curtains that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcreA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It is always pleasing to receive feedback from our guests and especially exciting to receive further reviews when guests return to visit us again.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Bocas del Mar this year too, and we’re glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

We thank you for your encouraging comments to the newest members of our team and we hope very much that you will come and visit us on your next vacation in Panama!

With kindest regards,

The Hotel Bocas del Mar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This is hands down the best place on the Chiriqui mainland (there are some island resorts outside our price range e.g more than 600/nite). We own a boat nearby and quite often came here. Very competent management wins every time! The bungalows are really wonderful and - very unusual for Central America - everything works! It tends to draw an interesting clientele, maybe mid-fourties? (Meaning about 35 years older than Bocas del Torro LOL). The menu is a bit short, the food is delectable and - considering that there is essentially no competition - quite reasonably priced. In short: between Santiago and the Costa Rican border there is NOTHING comparable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are very grateful for your gracious & enthusiastic review, & pleased to be able to welcome you as a regular guest to the hotel. Your kindness is appreciated by all the team.

Best wishes

Everyone at Hotel Bocas del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

What a superb location (fantastic ocean view, beautiful garden, two fantastic pools...), brand new accomodations and great service. I had the pleasure to stay for four nights in this very well runned but still familiar hotel where everybody knows your name... Diego (the owner), his family and the complete staff dit their outmost best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. A pleasant extra: the food is excellent. By the way, try the pina colada!
I will be back !!
Best regards to the entire team, Piet (Belgium)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PietDekeersmaecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Piet,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you on your vacation; we hope that you found the rest & relaxation you were looking for at the end of your business trip.

We’ll have a fresh pina colada waiting for you on the bar when you return!

Kind regards,
The Hotel Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Like all the other reviewers we had a fantastic stay at Bocas del Mar. The grounds were fantastic, views to match, friendly staff, good food, and the list goes on!

For those "negative" comments in other posts... please put the location into perspective. Your are in the jungle. The town only got power 6 years ago (generator power before that), this is not a major metropolitan area where one can run down to grocery store to pick up "odds and ends."

The only thing ( a little tongue & cheek here) is that the bar staff really had issues figuring out how to make a frozen daquiri. The first one the made was PERFECT. The rest of the week I was trying to explain, but to no avail. I'm sure Neil will get this taken care of!

ENJOY!!!!

Room Tip: I think they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cingitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review.

We really enjoyed meeting you on your stay and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Panama. We’re on the case with the Daquiris for next time you visit!

Best wishes,
The Hotel Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We just returned from an 8 day trip to Panama and our 3 days at Bocas Del Mar were by far the most enjoyable of entire trip. The property and views and gardens are beautiful. We booked the Deluxe Garden Room and it was worth the extra $$ but not one person we talked to had anything bad to say about the other rooms. The service from hotel management and staff was amazing and the ratio of staff to guests much higher than one would expect. In the restaurant, Jose and Alex made our meals enjoyable, they were attentive and fun to talk to. In management, Neil, Alberto and Lara attended to our every wish, arranging and rearranging excursions. Every meal we had in the restaurant was delicious, the seafood, veggies and fruits were fresh and the menu dependent on local availability.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for R & R in a tropical environment and we will certainly return to enjoy again.
This is a very remote area of Panama, the local town is tiny but there is a small Mercado in Boca Chica. It is hot in January but the ocean breezes and the beautiful pools with shaded areas kept us cool. As for AC in our room, it was totally comfortable although it did take maybe 2 hours to cool down on arrival.
For excursions, we rented a Panga boat with local captain for one day and had a great day of partial fishing, partial snorkeling and just viewing this beautiful area of islands in the Pacific. Trip even included a viewing of Howler Monkeys in the trees on the shore of Boca Brava. The cost of this trip was just $60 per hour, very reasonable. Day two, having enjoyed the time on the water so, we did it again but rented the hotel boat and captain along with another couple we met and had just as good a day, again at a very reasonable price. The kitchen cleaned and cooked our catch for us.

Room Tip: all rooms have a beautiful view, if traveling as family or with another couple, there are rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We really appreciate your thorough and helpful review.

It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we enjoyed helping you discover our hotel and the magical area around Boca Chica. Everyone works hard to make guests feel at home on their vacation and your comments are very motivating for all the team.

Thank you again.

Everyone at Hotel Bocas del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We enjoyed very much our three night stay at this hotel in it’s very beautiful location on the sea. The staff and proprietaries were helpful and we felt like part of the family when we left.
It is a very pretty place with modern, minimalist style rooms that are big and bright and with good-air conditioning. The road there is a wynding country road ( but there are signs) but please keep going as the view as you round the corner when you arrive is not to be forgotten.

The hotel organized for us two good excursions in the hotel boat; we found the local captain to be excellent and knew where to take us to see the evening birds & the snorkelling-it is true that he does not speak much English, but we were not expecting this in this part of Panama & he made it fun for us with his funny young assistant and I will recommind this boat to everyone.

Thank you to Alec, Christian & Diane for your lovely smiles in the restaurant.

Sandra and Jeroen

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraDeMeulenaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sandra and Jeroen,

What a great review; we thank you for your comments. We’re glad you took advantage of what the area had to offer and that you found your stay with us to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
3.3 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
198 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Resort at Isla Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
40 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
21.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Mar

Property: Hotel Bocas del Mar
Address: | Gulf of Chiriqui, Boca Chica, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bocas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bocas Del Mar, in Boca Chica, is a boutique hotel with modern, luxury features. In a privileged oceanside location on the mainland, it is perfectly positioned for a completely relaxing vacation. We were TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award Winners in 2016 for the Top Hotel for Service in Panama. Our focus is on quality customer service and attention to detail. We have 20 large contemporary-style guest bungalows that are set in tropical gardens right alongside the glistening blue water of the Gulf of Chiriqui. Open your drapes each morning and the Pacific Ocean is there to greet you! Choose from several room types; from our spacious king or queen bed bungalows through to the exceptional Premier Suite. There's a gourmet restaurant & bar on site and we have not one but TWO stunning infinity-style pools to bathe in. There is also a small beach, except at high tide, and we have our own dock to head to more local beaches via water taxi or excursion boat - we are opposite the beautiful islands of the Gulf of Chiriqui and have a full ocean and land trip program. Plus a massage studio (advance reservation required). Just 5 minutes by car or watertaxi from Boca Chica village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Del Mar Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing