We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was my favorite stop in a two-week trip around Panama. The bungalows are perched on a bluff overlooking a Pacific estuary and off shore islands. It's off the beaten path, but that makes it all the more enjoyable. The management and staff were first rate, and the restaurant food was consistently good. Highly recommended.

A suggestion for improvement: coffee maker in the room or in a common area where early risers can get coffee before breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are very grateful for your comments and glad that we met your expectations. Your recommendation of our hotel is also appreciated.

We have already actioned your suggestion...

We have always had freshly-ground local Panamanian coffee & teas available, served by our staff in the bar, from 7am for early risers (our a la carte American-style breakfast starts at 7.30am). In addition, I’m also pleased to say that from mid-January we will now have a common area on the bar for self-serve hot drinks from 5am for even early risers. Thank you for the idea!

Kind regards,

The Hotel Bocas del Mar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
116
271
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a special getaway location for our anniversary and we certainly found it! Perched on a green hill, amid the trees and flowers and overlooking a turqoise bay dotted with ships and outlying islands is a gem called Bocas Del Mar. Not only is the setting spectacular, the rooms and service are too. Tastefully decorated and appointed, each bungalow sits independently with it's own view into the well-maintained gardens. We had our own private patio to enjoy night skies and the birds and howler monkies from across the bay the next morning. The swimming pool is lovely and just the right temperature. But the highpoint of our stay was the incredible service. Jost and Diego, manager and owner of Bocas Del Mar were both on location with their charming families. Their warm and gracious hospitality and the exquisite service by the wait staff made us feel like old family friends. The food was delicious and served at the perfect temperature. This was a fine dining experience in a beautiful and relaxed setting. Everyone seemed to correctly anticipate what we might want next! We were so impressed that we added another night's stay. Diego suggested that we might enjoy a whale watching, caymen viewing, deserted island lunch adventure to round out our day. So within a half hour a private launch appeared at the boat dock and off we went for four hours of fun. Juan and his first mate read the water and found three whales for us to follow, two of them were a female and her calf. What a thrill to watch them breach the surface of the water in unison. Disembarking on a lonely island we met its sole occupant who led us to a palm tree-lined lagoon where the "floating logs" came alive when he called and shook a pail of live crabs. The caymen lumbered out of their water to accept their reward. Then off to a deserted island to enjoy the delicious lunch the staff had packed for us. It was a truly memorable day. This is our favorite hotel in all of Panama. We will be bringing friends and family on our next visit to beautiful Bocas Del Mar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
On behalf of the owners of Bocas del Mar and all the team, we thank you for your very kind review of the hotel. It was a pleasure to have you to stay during your anniversary and we are glad you had such a good time.

The hotel is on a very gentle slope towards the sea, and, as you discovered, it's easy to stroll down to our own dock to take your trip: we are now in January & out of whale-watching season (best time to catch the majesty of the humpback whales is late July to early November), and we are now in full swing with the snorkeling & sport fishing trips, so we hope to see you again soon for some more adventures in the Gulf of Chiriqui Marine National Park!. It's clear blue, tropical skies every day.

With best wishes,

The Hotel Bocas del Mar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

SPECTACULAR! I can't stop thinking about this beautiful Hotel in Boca Chica. We drove the country of Panama for 16 days stopping many places along both coasts and this is by far the bes tand most beautiful place to go. My son and husband went fishing with the Panama Big Game Club-- and myself and my daughter were taken excellent care of by Neil, the manager. He was so attentive as well as all the staff. Greeted you by name, pleasant conversations always. The room was wonderful. The front wall of the units is glass looking out onto almost 360 degrees of beautiful water and islands. The gardens and the pathways with swings were enjoyable. The pool was perfect and it has a part that was 1.5 feet perfect for my 4yo. And it was the first pool that was not freezing in panama! As well as the first place with wonderful food. The chef prepared my son's mahi mahi that he caught that day fresh... plaintain crusted with a pinneaple curry sauce= amazing! We stayed an extra night b/c I loved it so much. All the other people we met that were also staying there were so kind and we enjoyed that. We stayed many places and I kept telling my husband we were right on the ocean... but it didn't feel like we were until we arrived at Bocas del Mar. Please stay here... I have been all around the world and this is one of the favorite places I have been.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynenles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review.

We are so glad that we could link your stay at Bocas del Mar Hotel easily with your family’s sport’s fishing excursion plans, and that you could relax in the hotel pool & grounds while the others were out in the blue water.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the pool so much: it’s normally our guests’ first port of call when they arrive! We have passed your generous compliments on to the chef & we all hope to have you and your family to stay again soon.

With kind regards,

The Hotel Bocas del Mar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I had a great time at Bocas Del Mar. Found them on Trip Advisor and the reviews were very good so we gave it a shot. It's about 5+ hours from Panama city but well worth the drive. Neil (Manager) and the rest of his staff took great care of us. Food was great, the rooms were awesome and the views were spectacular. By far, one of the best stays i've had in a long time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chizzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.

All the hotel team are glad you chose Bocas del Mar for your vacation and we appreciate the time taken to write a review. It really helps us in seeing how we are doing.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Bocas Del Mar for four nights over Thanksgiving 2012. The hotel is absolutely lovely with comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, a nice pool and very decent restaurant. The setting on the water provides great views and is very relaxing. What really impressed us, though, is the quality of service from all the management, staff in the hotel and restaurant. Everyone was equally helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay even more pleasant. The hotel also arranged for a nice boating expedition in the islands in the area, where we saw whales, went snorkeling, swimming and just enjoyed being out on the water. We would certainly come again, and will recommend the hotel to our friends and family. Best place we have stayed in a long time!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you to stay over Thanksgiving and, on behalf of all Bocas del Mar, we thank you for your enthusiastic review. It was great that you were able to take advantage of our range of excursions that allowed you to discover the variety of natural beauty on the doorstep of the hotel.

We hope very much to see you & your family again.

With best wishes,

Bocas del Mar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Even better than the property itself is the amazing staff! We were greeted in the parking lot by Neil, who is so kind and accommodating. Everyone here goes out of their way to make sure that you are happy and feel at home. If you need anything, they take care of it!
It is a small property with modern bungalows, and beautiful landscaping. Breakfast is included, and it is really nice. Oh and the food, it's fantastic!!! It's 5 star dining! Even though this is a small resort , the prices are reasonable. The best place we have seen our ten day trip to panama!

Room Tip: Make sure you come in the daylight, the hotel can be a little hard to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are very honored to receive your comments. Everyone at the hotel works as hard as they can to respond to our clients’ needs. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant as well. We have passed your comments on to the servers and kitchen team.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a small bungalow style hotel run by a Belgium family and their Panamanian staff. Each room is overlooking the beautiful and well kept gardens and the bay. The rooms are spotless, very spacious (including a walk-in-closet..Ladies..), comfortable and very nicely decorated. Bathroom is very comfortable with seperate bath (overlooking the garden) and shower. Each room has a seperate sitting area outside. You can also relax by the nice pool.
They have a restaurant and bar. In the morning they serve a lovely breakfast. My boyfriend is a vegetarian and he really enjoyed the dinners too. Very good!
All the staff, including the Panamanians are very friendly and helpful and all speak very good English. We liked that they took the time to have a chat with us from time to time.
Tip: do the island boat tour.
If you are in the neighbourhood of Boca Chica, take this hotel, it's super!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.

It’s seems that you certainly enjoyed our guest rooms and the extra space afforded by the walk-in closet. The hotel was designed by the Belgian owners to reflect what they most enjoyed on vacation and we’re glad the hotel’s Panamanian hospitality with hints of Europe was to your taste. If you are in the neighborhood again, we’d be delighted to see you.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
0.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
196 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
20.7 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boca Brava
Hotel Boca Brava
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Mar

Property: Hotel Bocas del Mar
Address: | Gulf of Chiriqui, Boca Chica, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bocas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bocas Del Mar, in Boca Chica, is a boutique hotel with modern, luxury features. In a privileged oceanside location on the mainland, it is perfectly positioned for a completely relaxing vacation. We were TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award Winners in 2016 for the Top Hotel for Service in Panama. Our focus is on quality customer service and attention to detail. We have 20 large contemporary-style guest bungalows that are set in tropical gardens right alongside the glistening blue water of the Gulf of Chiriqui. Open your drapes each morning and the Pacific Ocean is there to greet you! Choose from several room types; from our spacious king or queen bed bungalows through to the exceptional Premier Suite. There's a gourmet restaurant & bar on site and we have not one but TWO stunning infinity-style pools to bathe in. There is also a small beach, except at high tide, and we have our own dock to head to more local beaches via water taxi or excursion boat - we are opposite the beautiful islands of the Gulf of Chiriqui and have a full ocean and land trip program. Plus a massage studio (advance reservation required). Just 5 minutes by car or watertaxi from Boca Chica village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Del Mar Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing