We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatastic place and fabulous staff and owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boca Tapada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Although quite a journey to get to [4x4 recommended], it is well worth the effort. Leaving our vehicle and approaching the lodge by a short riverboat crossing [no road access here!] added to the feeling of remoteness.
The staff and family owners here are absolutely lovely and this is equalled by the superb water side lodges with truly amazing wildlife viewing throughout our stay.
Jose Louise proved to be an exceptionally gifted guide and went out of his way to ensure that our wildlife viewing here was top notch.
Nice simple pool to chill in. Very attractive grounds blend into the forest well.
We took the river boat visit to Boca Tapada village and would thoroughly recommend it.
Our only regret is that our stay was too brief [3 nights]. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be the same and gave good views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 446 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights 23rd - 26th December, which was a lovely way to get away from it all (they had no Xmas decorations at all, which we liked).

Of the 7 places we stayed in our 15 night trip, this was the best for wildlife - especially birds. Its a wetland setting, bordered by primary rainforest and the San Carlos river.

The restaurant was like a hide with stunning birds arriving all the time - over a 15 min period we saw 2 species of toucan, aracari, a flock of 20 parakeets and many many more! We also lucky enough to see 2 green macaws who stopped in the tree next to our cabana and also the iconic red eyed frog. Do take good binoculars and a good camera.

It's good to get up with the dawn chorus to see the birds early and also do the night hike where you see birds asleep - including hummingbirds in their nests! We also enjoyed the boat trip to the border Nicaragua.

The staff including the manager Vicky (the daughter of the owner I think) were all lovely and very helpful. Rooms are all well separated for privacy with peaceful views.

A forest hike and free use of canoes is included but other trips are a bit pricey - but worth doing.

Food is basic Costa Rican home cooking standard - so lots of fruit and lots of rice, beans and chicken. There is a laundry service. Also a pool. Free wifi in reception but it does drop the line occasionally due to remote connection. This also means that cash is preferred at check out (our card had to be rung through) - they take US$ as well as the local currency.

Be warned - the last 40km drive is on a gravel vs. tarmac road, so a bit bumpy. But being so remote is what makes this lodge so special and the wildlife so fantastic.

Overall we are really glad our travel agent recommended adding this lodge to our itinerary - it was really great, with many wow wildlife moments.

Best for couples as there is not much for children to do - unless they are budding David Attenboroughs.

Room Tip: There is a choice of rooms with a large king bed or queen plus single - we preferred the former. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Friendly welcoming staff & great local guide. Lodges top class & the food wonderful. Very close to nature with regular flights of scarlet macaw & visits from coatis, 3 different species of toucan, & loads of other birds & animals. We loved the ecological ethos of the hotel. John & Anne

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, full of wildlife, away from towns and roads, shops and tourism. Room was large and wonderful, clean and well kept. Early morning bird walk produced some wonderful sights but there are feeders outside the restaurant so you can watch a variety of birds while eating!! We did our own night walk around the grounds and found a "frog bush", there were dozens of frogs singing away in the dark and rain, it was a superb sighting! An early morning walk produced a sighting of a Kyra and there was a resident crocodile in the lake which always seemed to be sat with its head out of the water on a man made ramp with water gushing down it from under the bridge which you had to walk across to get from the bungalows to the main lodge. Staff were wonderfully friendly and food was excellent. Stayed for 2 nights but wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canoa-aventura, Gerente at Maquenque Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Heltin! Thank you for your comments!! We really wish you a good new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I visited Maquenque EcoLodge for 3 nights at the end of December 2013. This is one of the most beautiful and relaxing places that I have ever visited. The rooms/ bungalows are very unique and private. We had a balcony where we could enjoy all of the sights and sounds and it overlooked the lagoon. All of the staff members were so very kind and helpful. We went on a delightful and educational nature walk/ guided tour. The meals were delicious and they were very nice to cater to our vegetarian diets. We highly recommend this hotel if you enjoy natural beauty, privacy, and total relaxation. It is a fantastic place to visit especially if you want to get away from everything.

Room Tip: All of the room are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a great place to visit! My daughter and i stayed four night in November2013. We wish it could have been longer. Amazing place for wildlife. The staff did everything to make us feel welcome. Great food, lovely accomodation. We will return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

At first, it seem like you are never gonna get there but once you have crossed San Carlos river and get welcome with a coconut water.... everything from there is nothing but worth the trip!

The place is nicely manicured and right next to the restaurant you find a feeder which attracts all kinds of birds, this makes breakfast and lunch hard cause you are right there and do not want to miss the shot so you have to debate between your hearty warm meal and your camera!

Walks in the trails are nice, somehow warm but still nice enough specially when you run into monkeys and birds.

The staff is friendly and helpful, you also find wifi connection in the restaurant so it is still possible to post pictures that will make your dear ones feel jealous!!!

Definetely a place worth visiting!

Room Tip: All the rooms are located ner the lagoons so everybody will be happy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ticoguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Tapada
18.5 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
649 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
140 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pedacito de Cielo
Pedacito de Cielo
#1 of 4 in San Carlos
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laguna del Lagarto Lodge
Laguna del Lagarto Lodge
#1 of 3 in Boca Tapada
162 reviews
19.2 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maquenque Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maquenque Eco-Lodge

Address: 3kms del la escuela de Boca Tapada | San Carlos, Boca Tapada 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Boca Tapada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boca Tapada
Price Range: $110 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maquenque Eco-Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maquenque Eco-lodge is a new 60 hectare reserve located just north of Boca Tapada, San Carlos and offers easy access to the newly created Maquenque National Wildlife Refuge, of 60.000 hectares in size. A local family, Canoa Aventura Tour Operator and a Swiss family are creating this jungle lodge to maintain and conserve wildlife habitat, while providing visitors with high quality accommodations and service in a unique framework ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Maquenque Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maquenque Eco-Lodge Costa Rica/Boca Tapada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing