We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please visit this amazing place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maquenque Eco-Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boca Tapada
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Please visit this amazing place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a great place to visit! My daughter and i stayed four night in November2013. We wish it could have been longer. Amazing place for wildlife. The staff did everything to make us feel welcome. Great food, lovely accomodation. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    46
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
100
212
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Escazú, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

At first, it seem like you are never gonna get there but once you have crossed San Carlos river and get welcome with a coconut water.... everything from there is nothing but worth the trip!

The place is nicely manicured and right next to the restaurant you find a feeder which attracts all kinds of birds, this makes breakfast and lunch hard cause you are right there and do not want to miss the shot so you have to debate between your hearty warm meal and your camera!

Walks in the trails are nice, somehow warm but still nice enough specially when you run into monkeys and birds.

The staff is friendly and helpful, you also find wifi connection in the restaurant so it is still possible to post pictures that will make your dear ones feel jealous!!!

Definetely a place worth visiting!

Room Tip: All the rooms are located ner the lagoons so everybody will be happy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticoguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrúcares
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this oasis of tranquility amidst a beautiful nature and lots of wildlife in spacious cottages with lots of privacy. The young staff is doing everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible, nothing is too much. The lodge is located on one side of the river that are not accessible by car, the boat transport is quick from the parking lot. Don´t expect TV, radio or that kind of stuff and even our mobile phone didn´t has signal. But the lodge is a perfect place to have a few days far away from the modern world. If you like to see lots of nature and wildlife this is the palce to be. We have spotted between 60 and 100 different birds one day and a half, so a paradise for birdlovers. In our opinion only one but: tours are to expensive, but that´s all over Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All bungalows have a view over the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We'd travelled to the area about 20 years before. The road from Pital, one hour away, was really bad. This time half the road was much better, and the rest OK but fine if you are adventurous (because you definitely feel you are getting away from it all). But well worth it. We spent 2 nights and found the place extremely comfortable, well planned, lovely gardens surrounding an ample lagoon, and plenty of birds to watch close by (more than are normally seen in Arenal or Monteverde). Management are extremely personal, in fact the whole staff were excellent. We enjoyed a trip to Boca San Carlos, on the San Juan river with Nicaragua on the other side of the river, as well as a canoe ride through the backwater channels of the lagoon. Our previous visit 20 yrs ago was to Laguna de Lagarto, which we visited this time and found little changed. It is more rustic and not as expensive, but we were glad of our choice.

Room Tip: Rooms are individual cabins, all similar and on the edge of the lagoon. Some are closer, others furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I went there for a weekend and it was very relaxing and quite. The staff was really kind and attentive.
They offer a nice walk through the forest and if you want you can go bird watching or in a row boat in the lagoon (I didn't do it so I can't comment).
I think the place is nice if you want to relax and forget everything. It can get a little boring a night because there's not a lot of activity but that's up to you.
The food was great, they served a lot and the taste was delicious.
The bad thing is that it's located too far and the streets aren't in a good shape so if you go by car it isn't very recommendable to go in a low one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpadillab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampenhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

beautiful location, secluded hide away from the well know areas.
fabulous hotel staff, you feel like adopted by their family when you arrive.
good food, good service, friendly people, nice guided tour for all hotel guests, interesting night walk through the forest.
fantastic nature reserve.
nice rooms, a lot of privacy, you feel "alone" in this resort in the positive way
the last 40 kms of the road are a challenge, even for a 4x4, but the reward is great :-)
one might hope the road would be improved, on the other hand: more people will visit and the resort might lose part of its secluded charm ... but now that's just me being selfish :-)

Room Tip: we had a room over the bridge, i liked it more than the houses close to the reception, but they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrien_de_pillecyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

If seeing birds is on your itinerary for Costa Rica, this is a great place to do it. Getting here can be a bit rough, especially if you've got to take the pineapple plantation roads instead of coming in by boat. But once you get here, you feel like you're totally off the beaten path in a little slice of paradise. From the walk to the main house to the comfortable rooms, this location is well manicured and thoughtfully designed. There is a lot to do, from birdwatching in the main house, to night walks in search of caiman and toads, to taking a river sightseeing trip. Or you can relax in the hammock outside your room.

The family who runs the location is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They take great pride in their business and that is clear in everything they do.

The real treat for me was to cross the river and the main road, then hike across a small field. Once perched upon a hill, I was treated to a once-in-a-lifetime experience, seeing multiple pairs of mating great green McCaws. I can't do the experience justice by writing about it - except to say the trip to get to this off-the-beaten-path location is 100x worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Tapada
18.6 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 5 in Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
20.8 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#24 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Laguna del Lagarto Lodge
Laguna del Lagarto Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pedacito de Cielo
Pedacito de Cielo
#1 of 4 in San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maquenque Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maquenque Eco-Lodge

Property: Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Address: 3kms del la escuela de Boca Tapada | San Carlos, Boca Tapada 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Boca Tapada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boca Tapada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maquenque Eco-Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maquenque Eco-lodge is a new 60 hectare reserve located just north of Boca Tapada, San Carlos and offers easy access to the newly created Maquenque National Wildlife Refuge, of 60.000 hectares in size. A local family, Canoa Aventura Tour Operator and a Swiss family are creating this jungle lodge to maintain and conserve wildlife habitat, while providing visitors with high quality accommodations and service in a unique framework ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Maquenque Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maquenque Eco-Lodge Costa Rica/Boca Tapada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing