We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and unique ”
Review of Mochnsjochhutte

Mochnsjochhutte
Cuisines: Swiss
Description: Gebirgshütte
Restaurant details
Description: Gebirgshütte
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

It is well worth the walk and was the highlight of our visit to jungfraujoch. At the restaurant the food and drink was great and not too expensive given the location.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Graham521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2016

We were a group of 8 staying here after climbing the Monch. Bearing in mind this Hut is mainly for mountaineers who are out on the mountain all day, we were served tinned soup, spam in mayonnaise, cheese, boiled potatoes and salad and ice cream. Not exactly mountain food after a day of extreme activity. The Host was really rude and unwelcoming (thank god for the young guy who had just finished his military service and was helping out because he was charming). They only open the washrooms after dinner so if you want to use the loo (which is outside) you cannot wash your hands. The drying room was cold and damp so that all our clothes were still damp the next morning. Bearing in mind there were 8 of us and 2 others (in a Hut that sleeps 80) we felt they could have made a bit more effort. The breakfast is similar with instant coffee and no hot food. We've stayed in many mountain huts before so we're not expecting a 5* hotel but this was unacceptable and also really expensive.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Allyson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

Very memorable experience and worth visiting but a bit scary if its cloudy as you can't see clearly where your walking. Its not advisable if you have asthma and be prepared for altitude sickness.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank ellen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2014

Most people stay within the confines of the sphinx observatory and are missing out on the plethora of views that can be found by hiking across the top of the glacier to the monschjochhutte.
Its around a 1-1.5hr uphill hike round trip depending on fitness, at altitude of around 3,500m.
Be careful coming up and going down immediately from the hut as its steep ice and quite slippery. The people in the restaurant are extremely courteous, welcoming and friendly with excellent english. They have a very decent array of food, meat/cheese sandwiches, soups, coffees, cake slices and other snacks. We ordered 2 coffees (which were lovely and came in a large bowl) a bottle of water, 2 cheese sandwiches and 2 slices of cake. Which i think came to something in the range of 30 CHF, which is no more expensive than what you get in most of switzerland. Also bear in mind that you are 3,500m up a mountain so this isn't haute cuisine. But what it definitely is a lovely hearty meal to energise you after the uphill hike while you enjoy the views.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank AS3MSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2014

The trek across the glacier in order to reach this hut is indeed an accomplishment, however, if you are going for good food - don't. It is also a terribly dangerous climb up to the hut once you finally reach it - literally a sheet of ice up a ramp in order just to get to the restaurant hut (after you already made the trek across the glacier!) Notably, we later found out that the trek across the glacier itself is often not safe during certain times of year when the crevasses are not snow covered enough (i.e., you can fall down through huge cracks in the ice) and during avalanche season (which we did not know we were in until after the fact). If you go, go for the accomplishment of making it there - not the food - and ask an experienced mountaineer if you are ok to make the hike when you visit.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mochnsjochhutte also viewed

Jungfraujoch, Canton of Valais
Jungfraujoch, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Mochnsjochhutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing